We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Show me the Monet”

Claude Monet's House and Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$107.88*
and up
Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Giverny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These beautiful gardens inspired Impressionist Claude Monet's most famous work.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
456 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Show me the Monet”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I went on this half-day excursion to Giverny from a local travel agency Paris. I didn’t plan anything ahead of time and booked the trip a few days before. It all worked out well. The house and gardens were definitely worth the trip. You don’t need to spend more than a few hours here. You can truly appreciate the beauty of what Monet saw and later didn’t see in his final years. The pond with the lilies and Japanese Bridge makes you feel like Monet did a poor job of showing the beauty of the place. His house and garden as also well kept as they were in his lifetime and you are given a tour of his house. A great excursion to take from Paris.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank RovingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,037
    1,121
    261
    60
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brave the Crowds to see the Waterlilies”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

If you are a fan of Monet and are near teh town of Giverny, then do not pass up the opportunity to see the Gardens that were his inspiration. I loved walking around the pond, snapping photos, playing with the light, and imagining what it would be to spend many years painting from different perspectives. That said....it is very, very crowded and there is not much to be seen in the house. It is not a place for leisurely strolling (at least not in August) and there is not a quiet spot to just sit. You are jockying for a place to see and pushed along the entire time. I'm glad I visited but understand that this is not a day in the park!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank kd626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

If you miss this incredible place, then you have never been to France. Simply over the top in beauty, peace, style, you name it. The gardens are beyond belief. The house comes from a storybook. Tranquility surrounds you. You must go. Just go there.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank golden2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Loved this venue sospecial... raining most of the day which only highlighted the beautiful gardens!”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Don't line up to go into the house ...go to the gift shop first when it isn't crowded as there are so many very very special!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Giverny day trip!”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I was travelling solo and decided not to drive to Giverny by myself. There's probably a better, less expensive way of getting there, but I was very pleased booking through a website I found. I crossed my fingers et voila! It went well. I booked through Paris Vision. A minivan picks you up at your hotel or apartment (as in my case). The drive is about 2hrs. It's a nice ride with lots to see along the way. Upon arrival they let view the grounds and later the Impressionists Museum at your leisure. Budget your time well, there's lots to see before meeting to return.

The grounds and house are very well kept. The lily pond and bridges are probably just as Monet maintained them I suspect. There are so many different varieties of garden plants and flowers. I heard many comment on the special varieties. Too bad you can't take photos in the house, oh well. It's a big surprise when you walk into Monet's studio. There are many of his famous paintings (he painted so many of the popular ones) placed on the easels and on the walls (all the way up to the ceiling!).

The house is quaint and very suitable for entertaining. All the ground floor rooms have french doors leading to the terrace which encompasses the front. You can just imagine all the parties he must have had with all his fellow artists! It's a beautiful country house decorated in the traditional French Country style. Argh! Too bad you can't take pictures!!!

Don't miss the large gift shop and other smaller shops in the village.

The Impressionism Museum is fantastic too. Lots and lots to see there.
I wish I had more time to explore the village. That's my only regret... not having more time there, but having someone drive me door-to-door is a treat too.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank chuffed-california
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claude Monet's House and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Claude Monet's House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing