We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Hearted Affair”

Restaurant La Coupe d'Or
Reserve with
Restaurant La Coupe d'Or is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 118 Restaurants in Lisieux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$40
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

A little average on all fronts. Service was dreadful considering there were more staff than customers. Food distinctly average and didn’t justify the price. It was ok but I didn’t get excited about any of the dishes and everything was incredibly bland.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank mothola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoupeDor, Gérant at Restaurant La Coupe d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Menus are posted outside and if you "didn't get excited about any of the dishes " why did you enter ??
We cook only homemade fresh produce
Thank you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

The people at this restaurant and hotel are extremely rude and are all about money. Let me start by saying my party was actually staying at this hotel and we went to the restaurant to have wine and a little something to eat before walking around. We got a bottle of wine from the waitress with dark hair and glasses (who you will later hear how rude she was) and then the strange looking guy with the glasses who seemed to be the boss or manager came over to take our food order and that is when it got super awkward. This guy took my friends order of a cheese plate and then when he asked me for my order I told him we were just sharing he immediately got agitated. He literally said "This is a restaurant. You have to each order a meal. I'm only saying this because it's illegal to drink wine without eating. If a police man walked in here he will fine me for not serving you food with wine". Like he got super angry like 0-100 when he found out we weren't ordering more food. I'm sorry but come on, is a cop really gonna walk in and be like "hey why aren't these people eating with this wine!?!" This guy was clearly and obviously upset that not all of us ordered food and tried to make up some story that he would get fined for not making us order food. We were already spending about $40 euros on this cheap bottle of wine and bottled water and are ordering some food, AND we are staying at this hotel! That story was totally made up. We were unnecessarily apologetic and tried to order more food to make up for it and said sorry we didn't know but he was so irritated he was like "Well now you know" and didn't even want to take more orders and walked away pissed off. I was laughing to myself because I was like dude we are staying at your hotel and are giving you business why are you treating us this way? This is the type of person that cares about money more than customers. This miserable guy was just being so rude that he couldn't care less about how his customers felt. You're in the HOSPITALITY business. You shouldn't make customers feel bad.

Then the next night I needed a spoon to eat some yogurt in my room and and a cork screw to open a bottle of wine, and after the terrible previous night experience I reluctantly went down to the restaurant to ask for it. What do you think happened? Yup you guessed it: rude and impolite service. I asked the waitress with eyeglasses for a corkscrew and she was like "Why, to drink in your room?" I was like well yeah of course. She made a face like it was a big deal and said she needed to ask her boss and to wait five minutes. I was like you know what if it's such a big deal forget it I'll go buy one. They clearly are upset if you don't spend your money there and buy their overpriced wine. Then I asked for a spoon and she was like "why do you need a spoon?" I was irritated at this point and was like "Why do you think? Uh to eat something" and she angrily was like "I don't have time for this!" and walked away. I was flabbergasted! The funny thing was there was a pile of clean spoons were sitting right there in a basket! So you don't have time? But you had plenty of time to sit down and take our money by running our credit card for the room two minutes prior to this right? I mean literally right before I asked for the spoon she ran my friends credit card for the rooms. How crazy is that?? We just spent hundreds of dollars and she was so impatient because I asked for a SPOON!! I mean it's so unbelievable how she acted!!! So friggin greedy and rude!!! It's a spoon for crying out loud! Seriously how hard would it have been to give me a corkscrew and a spoon and let the customer be happy? I guess she had some urgent job to do like wipe down tables or wash dishes or scrub toilets.

I hate to say that all French people are like this because I have met some extremely nice and pleasant French people, but this guy and waitress with terrible attitudes really do give them a bad name and are the type of people that make people have that stereotype. I will NEVER eat at this place again, nor stay at their roach motel again. To top it off the food wasn't even all that good and the rooms were were not very nice. Look elsewhere if you want to be treated with respect and not just a money source for this arrogant guy and "waitress". There are plenty of nice places close to this place where you won't have to be treated so poorly just because of these two miserable people! Trust me!

I'm from Orlando (the tourist capital) and work in high end hotel banquets and if you ever acted like either of these did in a hotel or restaurant there you would be fired on the spot. Ive also been to dozens of hotels and not once have I had this much trouble trying to have some wine, ask for a cork screw, or a spoon. We are talking about a SPOON people! She got mad because I asked for a SPOON so I could eat something. I'll say it again, SO EXTREMELY RUDE!!! But hey I guess Lisiuex doesnt have standards. I wanted to be like "Do you like losing business? Because that's how you lose business".

The one positive I will say is the lady named Gabriella or something was super nice. She was super patient and sweet to us when we had difficulty checking in. Oh and the cleaning lady, although she didn't speak a word of English, was SUPER friendly and so nice and pleasant and polite. These two other people should take lessons on being polite and kind to customers from them. I hope the sayings "What goes around comes around" and "Treat others how you want to be treated" applies to them in the near future because they'll get what they deserve. Thanks for the terrible rude service and mediocre food and wine you miserable people!!!

Thank donez125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoupeDor, Propriétaire at Restaurant La Coupe d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017
Google Translation

Passionate about our profession and the quality of our welcome, we are sensitive to your experience.
In the tourist season, when we are full at the restaurant, we try to make as quick as possible to serve and satisfy our customers, and if it seems awkward our clumsy to you, we apologize.
However, we confirm that we have a restaurant license (and not a License IV) that requires our customers to eat when they wish to consume alcohol.
Moreover, for obvious reasons of hygiene, it is forbidden to eat in the rooms, so we do not put cutlery in the rooms. We prefer to offer our guests the welcome tray composed of coffee, tea, infusions and cupcakes as a courtesy.


Passionnés par notre métier et la qualité de notre accueil, nous sommes sensible à votre expérience.
En pleine saison touristique, lorsque nous sommes complet au restaurant, nous essayons de faire au plus vite pour servir et satisfaire nos clients et si cela vous a semblé maladroit, nous nous en excusons. Cependant, nous vous confirmons que nous avons une licence Restaurant (et non Licence IV) qui impose à nos clients de manger lorsqu’ils souhaitent consommer de l’alcool.
De la même façon pour des raisons d’hygiène évidentes, il est interdit de manger dans les chambres, pour cette raison, nous ne mettons pas de couverts à disposition dans les chambres. Nous préférons offrir à nos hôtes le plateau d’accueil composé de café, thé, infusions et petits gâteaux et ce à titre gracieux.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

I had an absolutely fabulous four course prix fix dinner. Wonderful home made Normandy cooking, gourmet style at a great value 24E. Salmon fume, steak, salad, regional cheese plate 4E extra, and desert! What a feast, and one fit for a king. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We came across this place by chance and are glad we did. We all had the set 3 course lunch. The dishes are traditional French cuisine. In all cases the food was carefully prepared, well presented and attentively served. The lunch was excellent value at less than €20 each, including coffees. Would definitely eat here again.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank HoppyEu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Whether you are staying in the hotel or not, this is the restaurant to go to for dinner. They are not open for lunch on Monday. I stayed in the hotel for one night on Monday and decided to eat in the restaurant given that most other restaurants in the town were closed (go figure !) and the pubs don't serve dinner. I decided to go for the suggested evening menu. I chose the shrimp salad, which came with tiny shrimps bathed in what tasted like Thousand Island sauce with a hint of lemon, slices of avocado and some lettuce. Slices of baguette came with it. Then came a little shot of apple purée with crushed ice. Maybe there's a little bit of alcohol in it too. It was a nice cleaner for the palate before the next course. For the main course, I chose the roasted pork ribs, which was deliciously prepared with honey. It came with a little serving of mixed veges sauté with what tasted like tomato and sun dried tomato sauce. Loved the serving of thinly sliced potatoes, which came sandwiched in the shape of a cake with cheese and egg? It also had a buttery taste. There's a small serving of salad. Everything was beautifully presented. The dessert was a tiramisu that was soft and tasty. There's a good selection of wine, beer, apéritifs and digéstifs. I only had the Mont St. Michel beer (amber), which went really well with the meals. The gourmet meal itself was under 20 Euros and the beer was just under 5 Euros. Can't go wrong with that ! They have a French and an English menu.

For breakfast, they have 2 cold cuts, cheese, cereals, yogurt, eggs, tea and coffee. On the table, you'll find a large croissant and 2 reasonably large portions of baguette. 8.50 Euros in total.

I love everything about this restaurant. It is relatively posh but not pretentious.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cristoph2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant La Coupe d'Or also viewed

 
Lisieux, Calvados
Lisieux, Calvados
 

Been to Restaurant La Coupe d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing