We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
18
41
13
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
41
13
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here en route from UK to southern Spain. We picked it based on Tripadvisor reports. Easy to find via GPS. Location is poor. In suburbs opposite sports arena and whole area looked run down. Hotel looks very tired from outside, but has plenty of open car parking spaces to rear. It felt a bit like an old fashioned hostel inside, but the owners and staff were very friendly. Room was OK overlooking main road, with lots of traffic at night. General decor was tired and needed serious upgrade. To get into town for sight seeing and dinner, you really need to take your car. It is not walkable, both because of distance and safety of area. We parked underneath cathedral in secure parking. Plenty to see in old town and lots of good restaurants. Wifi at hotel was problematic. We got best signal downstairs in lounge and gave up trying to get it in bedroom. Breakfast was in small adequate dining room. Very limited choice and not impressed. Altogether we would not recommend returning to this place, but it is perfectly adequate for one night stay

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BrianML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We chose this hotel as a stop over when driving to the south of France. It is about a 20 minute walk from the centre of Poitiers, but is easy to find with plenty of parking. There's a bus stop outside and it cost 1.30 euros (need exact fare) to catch a bus to the centre, but after a long drive it was nice to walk. We spent a few hours exploring the old town centre and also had a meal in the town (note restaurants don't start evening service until 7pm). The hotel is more like a UK guest house. The owners were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to try and speak English to us. We had a family room which was large and freshly decorated. A slight down side at first was the traffic noise from the main road, but this did not prove to be a problem later on and we all slept well. Breakfast was help yourself continental style and you could eat as much as you wanted. Outside there was a sports stadium and ice rink, but not much else as it's a slightly out of town location. However for a stopover it was exactly what we wanted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Echo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The room had typical french charm and was spotlessly clean with everything we needed for our stay including a good free wifi connection. The room also had tea/coffee making facilities which is nice, as is not common place in France.

We had already eaten down the road just before we arrived as it was getting late, but wished we had waited until we arrived at the hotel as they provided room service, with what looked like very hearty meals at an excellent price.

The owners Daniel and Christine speak English and were very friendly and super helpful, nothing was to much for them. We couldn't recommend this place enough, it is great value, super clean, has character, and excellent hosts.....we will defeinatly be back

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniel b, Gérant at Barthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

glad our family hotel is pleased you, thank you for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great for a one night stop - service very friendly and helpful - good recommendation for a local restaurant and bar call the K just a short walk away. Dogs are very welcome and good parking and wifi Richard

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The hotel was very clean and tidy. The staff was very friendly. They did speak some English which was helpful. We would definitely stay here again if we're in the town for the same reasons. It's a bit of a walk to town and there isn't really much near the hotel if you're in town on foot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews