We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/01/22
Booking.com
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/01/22
Hotels.com
US$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/01/22
PricelineUS$114
eDreamsUS$103
HurbUS$134
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveller rating
191
405
167
43
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
191
405
167
43
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privilege room the air conditioning fantastic location old town visiting avignon hotel is located palace pont city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 826 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2021 via mobile

I am sorry to give this such a poor rating because I liked much about this hotel, but there were enough problems that really shouldn’t have been for this price and this class of hotel.

Pros: 1) fabulous location near palais and old town center; 2) nice staff; 3) AC; 4) quiet, sound proof windows; 5) clean and safe; 6) nice patio to sit and have glass of wine in evening and breakfast in morning; 7) good about covid precautions.

Cons: 1) safe in room was broken and although they said they would send someone to fix it, they never did; 2) refrigerator was broken in our room and a second family room did not even have one; 3) in four days, the water in shower was warm only once, the other days it was ice cold.

I might stay here again but will probably check out other Mercury hotel first.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank javl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2020

We stayed here during the Covid crisis. Check-in was incredibly fast and efficient with the keys already prepared. We are a family of 5 needing 2 rooms and they gave us a great suite/twin room next to each other. Only disappointment was that the restaurant was shut and there was nowhere to get a drink other than a fridge in reception. However, the location is very central and it was a short walk to many famous landmarks and also to restaurants and bars. Despite being central, the hotel was very easy to get to - a 10min easy drive from the autoroute exit. Real fast was a basic buffet but more than enough to start the day.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissdales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2020 via mobile

First time in Avignon and as Accor member, I use the opportunity to book Mercure Pont d’Avignon hotel with the idea to be closer to this historical landmark. All the process, starting with the booking of the hotel, correspondence prior the arrival, all the info received with instructions and guidance, the reception, room, service... everything was just great and unexpected considering the actual COVID situation. The hotel doesn’t have his own parking but the Pales de Papes city parking it is situated right under the hotel with a direct tunnel to the hotel and drop off parking. The reception a little bit unusual (a round bar table with a laptop on it) but with a very friendly staff whom gave us all the necessary details regarding our stay and also offering us city tips and suggestions. As Accor member we got the privilege of a free upgrade to a “privilege room” where to our pleasant surprise, the house keeping still came daily to refresh the towels and add coffee and drinks in the minibar. Despite the COVID situation, the hotel still made an effort to offer for breakfast a reduced buffet, of course requesting all the guests to clean their hands at the entrance and wear a mask (and they did keep an eye that those rules are respected by everyone - well done!).
The hotel is located at 3 min walk from the Palace de Papes AND Pont d’Avignon and only few min walk to the center of the city where many restaurants are located and the City Hall. Advise for those visiting Avignon, don’t jump on the restaurants in the city centre, just have a walk on the side streets and you will be able to discover a big amount of restaurants which can offer you better choices in much better locations.
Overall, our stay in Avignon was a delight and we were happy to have choose Mercure Pont d’Avignon.
Thank you for making for us a memorable holiday!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Flintso
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2019

I really really loved the location of this hotel. There are literally steps right up to the Palais des Papes and the Rocher des Doms. Our room had a large beautiful window that opened up to the street below. I sat there many times just watching people go by. The breakfast buffet was very large and had a good selection of items. If you are lucky you will get to see the little cat in the morning playing on the roof.

I will say the staff at this hotel is not the friendliest and really do not go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They act almost like you are disrupting them.

The bed was also rather hard and uncomfortable.

Honestly if the bed and staff were a bit better this would have been an easy five star rating. I took off one for the bed being hard and one of the staff. Honestly it should be more of a 3.5 rating as it was not as bad as three. So I changed the rating to four because of the fresh squeezed orange juice and the cat!

Room tip: A view of the street
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regislive
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2019

1. Perfect location close to the Palais des Papes and the Pont d'Avignon
2. Clean and spacious room
3. Attentive and polite staff

Our family stayed at the premise in mid September 2019. We came by car and it's a good thing that there is a car park close by the hotel, at discounted rates for hotel guest.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Sigit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas P, Responsable réception at Hotel Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2019

Dear Sigit S,

Thank you for your nice review after your stay in our hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our location, the room and our staff !

We hope to welcome you again in another hotel of the brand !

Kind regards from the Mercure Pont d'Avignon team !

Hotel Mercure Pont d'Avignon
2 Rue Ferruce
Quartier Balance
84000 Avignon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews