We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Booking.com
US$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/01/22
Hotels.comUS$112
TravelocityUS$112
Official SiteUS$114
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,254)
Filter reviews
1,254 results
Traveller rating
333
424
257
165
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
333
424
257
165
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool old building beautiful building the main street train station rooms are large cloisters courtyard walls annex france furnishings tgv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,254 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2021 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location! The hotel and grounds are beautiful. Convenient private parking next to hotel
We had lost one of our passports and the hotel staff helped us retrieve it!! Just inside old town walls so no difficulty in driving to hotel and short walk to all attractions. Room was really spacious and comfortable with a great view!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix Escudié, Autre at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2021

Dear Connie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our hotel following your stay. We are delighted to read that your stay has met your expectations.

Our hotel is located in the historic center of Avignon, which facilitates access to the prettiest parts of the city as you mention. We are happy that your room under this typical architecture and the private parking pleased you.

The reception team thanks you. She always takes care of our customers.

We hope to welcome you again for a future stay in Avignon at the Cloître Saint Louis ****!

Best regards,

Alix
Front Office Manager
04 90 27 54 60
chefdereception@cloitre-saint-louis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2021

Very big icy-cold room with no working heating system! I was told by reception that I could come to the front desk and pick up a small space heater if my heater wasn't working!!! This is no way for even a 2-star hotel to act. Maintenance in the hotel seems to have fallen to the wayside even though the hallway seemed pleasant. But even the garden area which has a moss-covered fountain in the middle was full - absolutely full - of fallen leaves. Looks like it wasn't cleaned out since last Spring! The furnishings in our room were very dated and a bit on the shabby side. The location of the hotel is ideal, just off the main street (Jean Jaures / Republique) and the breakfast was good. The property has many possibilities for improvement as the building itself is beautiful and the grounds could be made more inviting but until the management does something to enhance the guests' experience I would say to avoid it.

Room tip: Go somewhere else until there are marked improvements!!
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix Escudié, Autre at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2021

Dear William,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience at Cloitre Saint Louis****. We are very disappointed to read that your stay did not live up to your expectations. The entire Cloitre Saint Louis **** team always puts their hearts into making the stay of our customers a great memory.

We did have a problem with the heating of your room. We are sincerely sorry about this incident beyond our control. Our technical team intervened to fix the failure.The garden area that you describe does not belong to the hotel. We have no power over it.

We do indeed benefit from an excellent location in Avignon, you only have a few steps to the most beautiful streets of the city. Thank you for mentioning it.

We are delighted to read that the breakfast, which is a large buffet, has delighted you.

We hope you still have great memories of Avignon.

Best regards,

Alix
Front Office Manager
04 90 27 54 60
chefdereception@cloitre-saint-louis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2021

The potential of this property is tremendous but sadly the hotel is shabby. It would take money and imagination to turn this dreary place into a magnificent showpiece BUT it could be done.

COVID may have had negative influences however not to the appearance ad service of the hotel. Proper furniture, tapestries, draperies and carpeting would transform it.

To only have one person at Reception is absurd in a property which claims 4*. No bellmen.

Our room was ice cold and the heating system did not turn on. I called Reception to have someone come to fix the heating. Since I am am Francophone language was not the problem. The problem was that I was told that there was nobody to assist but I could come to obtain a portable heater. Is that how one treats a guest
who had the most expensive room in the hotel? A Deluxe!

Breakfast was fair but not great. Powdered eggs, chesses that were not covered and had dried out. No baguette!!! This is France - Bread is a staple!! The fresh squeezed OJ was excellent.

The bed was comfortable. Bathroom in the suite was ridiculously small, the hand held shower sprayed in all directions.

Room tip: Stay somewhere else
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KIWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix E, Autre at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2021

Dear KIWP,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay at Cloître Caint Louis. We are really disappointed to read that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We always do our best for for the well-being of our customers.

Indeed, we had an issue with the heating system this day. We have offered you a backup heater as compensation. This is an incident beyond our control and we are terribly sorry for it.

We are sorry that the Cloitre Saint Louis and its charm did not please you.

We hope you keep good memories of Provence.

Best regards,

Alix
Front Office Manager
04 90 27 54 60
chefdereception@cloitre-saint-louis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2021 via mobile

Great location, located between the train station and the center of Avignon. The hotel is a beautiful former cloister with a lovely courtyard. The room itself was nice, with a GIANT luggage annex, not sure why they thought we would need that much storage space! It also had a small semiprivate patio. Breakfast was superb, and the front desk staff were very helpful.

It’s in easy walking distance of so many restaurants, stores, and many of the main sites in Avignon.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SARA942
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix E, Autre at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2021

Dear Sara942,

We would like to thank you for your nice feedback of your stay in our hotel. It is always with great pleasure that we read that our customers had a very good stay.

Indeed, the Cloître Saint Louis enjoys a very good location in the historic center of Avignon and only 5 minutes from the train station. You are located directly by foot from the best tourist sites to visit and many restaurants.

The entire Cloitre team thanks you for your warm words. We always do our best for customer satisfaction. We hope the city of Avignon has dazzled you. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Alix
Front Office Manager
04 90 27 54 60
chefdereception@cloitre-saint-louis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2021

We enjoyed everything about our stay here. The hotel is beautiful, the location is very convenient, and the staff is very helpful. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms. One comment - if you have trouble with stairs, please be sure the reservation makes a note of that. A few of the rooms have stairs inside the room.

Date of stay: September 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cindywcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix E, Autre at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2021

Dear Cindywcpa,

We warmly thank you for sharing your experience which was very positive to all of our readers. It is always a success for the whole team to read feedback like yours.

One of our strengths as you mentioned is the setting and the architecture of our establishment. Our Deluxe rooms in our historic part have a unique charm. The staff are also always attentive to our customers to make your stay as idyllic as possible.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cloître Saint Louis ****.

Best regards,

Alix
Front Office Manager
04 90 27 54 60
chefdereception@cloitre-saint-louis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews