We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
945 results
Traveller rating
648
201
55
26
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
648
201
55
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful courtyard within walking distance five star hotel old city pope's palace main attractions provence euros shutters terrace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 945 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2021 via mobile

A beautiful historic hotel in the centre of Avignon with a great location close to the town’s main attractions. We’ve enjoyed a wonderful stay for two nights during a little trip to Provence. The beds and linen were super comfortable! The view from the terrace in the suite was incredible. L’Occitane toiletries were offered. Didn’t have a chance to try the restaurant for lunch or dinner but breakfast was great. A special compliment to the cappuccino.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2021

We paid a whopping 800 euros for a stay of two nights in a 'superior' room. On both nights we were woken frequently by loud music and screaming clientelle from the bars in front of the hotel (although our room shutters and windows were closed). Having finally made it to sleep on the first night, we were awoken again by the hotel fire alarm at 2.00am in the morning. Standing in the front lobby in a state of sleepy shock, staff told us that the alarm had been triggered by a guest smoking in their room. The hotel does indeed provide each room with a box of matches, but it seems unlikely that cigarette smoke would have set off the system for at least 10 minutes. Bar staff and the concierge did their best to do a good job. Management did not care enough to reply to my no-contact complaint e-mail, sent to reservations during our stay, detailing our experience and asking for some compensation. Reception had assured us we would receive a prompt reply, but we didn't. The hotel showed no hint of being 5 star and does not warrant the prices charged. One of the hotel's restaurants was closed, and the concierge service was not being offered during our stay. The garden area was also not very clean.

Room tip: Don't accept a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the street.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank X5153KXmela
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2020

This has to be one of the most disappointing hotel stays of our lives. Before choosing this hotel, I had read lots of reviews, people seemed happy, the reviews that mentioned a bad smell had been from a couple years ago, so I assumed that the problem must have been fixed. It was not! The smell of the place (old and moldy actually made it difficult to sleep) We had started the evening with the windows open to air out the place but then we were forced to close them because of the noise from loud music just under our window. We had stayed at 2 previous chateau hotels along the cote d'azure before arriving in Avignon, it's not because a place is old and historic that the rooms have to smell. The "smoke free" room even came with ash tray and hotel matches. The bedding was also unpleasant. The headboard was covered in a white cloth material that had tinges of yellow discolouration. If you have allergies avoid this place.
The bathroom was huge, but lacked style, and the water pressure in the shower was terrible.
The hotel is exceptionally well located, in the old town, within walking distance of the Pope's Palace and shops.
Parking is tricky in that area of the town, fortunately the hotel has valet service at 25 euros a night.
They had a beautiful courtyard cafe but unfortunately, the restaurant and food service was closed so the only food to be had at the hotel was drinks and deserts. Very poor value for money.
Needless to say we won't be returning to or recommending this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2020
5  Thank Corrie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2019

4 hotels in 10 days in the south of France. Decided to go 5 star once. Frankly not worth the money. We got a Prestige room for what amounted to $600 a night. Nice room, good sized, really good bathroom (for Europe) but it also had a worn and aged feel to it. Maybe even smelled a bit musty. Our friends got a lessor room and were very disappointed. VERY small.

Didn't bother with the restaurant (except for breakfast and that was overpriced and very so so) as there were so many other places an easy walk from the hotel. It look very pricey.

The bar was also very very overpriced and their liquor pour was on the small side.

Pro tip: If you exit the courtyard via the side entrance, there is a great locals bar across the street. Much less expensive and you're still in range of the hotel wifi (which was good)

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Beatman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2019

This was our splurge hotel for the trip and it did not disappoint! Fantastic location, the service was the best we had in all of Europe—front desk people blew us away!—overall incredible experience and would stay here again in a heartbeat! Stunning atrium at entrance but it rained...so will have to return to enjoy it!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tracy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews