We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Surprise”
Review of La Mirande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Mirande Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We knew nothing about this place, which our travel agent booked for us. It is very beautiful and well situated in central Avignon. The home of former cardinals when the Papacy was in Avignon, it is an old and elegant mansion, with beautiful rooms, gardens and a very special restaurant! Difficult to find (to enter, you must find the electronic post, call the hotel, and ask them to lower the posts that block the entrance to the street)! Once you are there it's like being in heaven. Avignon itself is built of a golden stone and is very beautiful. Definitely worth two day stop; while there, visit the wonderful Lambert Collection and have lunch there.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

We spent only two days in Avignon but found Hotel La Mirande to be a superbly welcoming and comfortable place to stay. We participated in the Chef's Table preparation and dinner with Chef Sevina (not sure I spelled her name correctly). The chef was so animated and entertaining, and we learned a lot while we laughed with her. The food was spectacular, as was the wine and we felt that the cost was very reasonable for the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

I had a strange experience here. Price on the internet was $243 on Orbitz. We were close to Avignon and drove straight to the hotel figuring we'll get the same price. Upon arrival the front desk said the price is 400 Euro. I showed her the Internet price on the phone and she said she can reduce to 299 Euro which is the same 'due to the exchange rate'. I explained that it's actually Higher so then she ׳found׳ a ׳non refundable׳ rate of 250. Most quality hotels simply guarantee lowest price for booking directly to avoid haggling and dis respecting their customers.
The hotel itself is a 4 star hotel in a very good location.
It has a weird TV built into the mirror resulting in a tiny screen that is hard to operate with a remote control.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank uri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This hotel is a lovely place to say if you are visiting Avignon. Getting into the hotel is difficult by car, so ideally do what we did, and take the train. But once you are there you are in a fantastic position to explore this beautiful city, literally next door to the Pope's Palace.

All the public rooms and bedrooms look authentic and period, but the bedrooms have every mod con and it has all been recently refurbished.

On the days we stayed the gourmet restaurant was closed, but we took advantage of the chef's table dinner in the old kitchens in the cellar, and it was a truly amazing evening.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brad_Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

This ancestral house deserves a detour, and maybe the trip.
Perfectly situated behind the Palais des Papes, the hotel offers many conveniences, and mostly many a beautiful discovery, wandering in a through the broad covered central court and the different lounges, dining , sitting and back rooms... Perfect shade when coming from the sunny and hottest outside!
Arriving in your bedroom is discovering a little suite in the 1910s in perfect condition: good bed, ancient furniture, nice engravings, fine tapestry, but also a bathroom of one century ago: copper and porcelain, varnished woods, marbles, perfectly clean and in use. Maybe quaint, but so deliciously, and with such modern advantages!
All in accordingly: breakfast, brunch, meals, drinks " à l'heure de l'apéritif"...
Don't forget to glance at the special collection of teddy bears and varied stuffed toys
animals to sale.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeanlaurentmanue2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 68 in Avignon
797 reviews
5.5 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
0.2 km away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
821 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.1 km away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mirande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mirande Hotel

Address: 4 Place de l Amirande, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#9 Family Hotel in Avignon
Price Range: $312 - $774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Mirande Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in La Mirande is an invitation to travel through the exquisite world of decorative art. Located right in the historical city center of Avignon at the foot of the Popes' Palace, it accommodates a sophisticated décor, evoking an 18th century atmosphere and the sedate style of life belonging to times of old. The charm is extended to the 26 rooms with their painted panelling, drapes, parquet floors and traditional flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Mirande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mirande Avignon
Hotel La Mirande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing