We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
340
78
22
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
78
22
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef's table cooking class pope's palace wine cellar cooking school basement kitchen the palais des papes public rooms pure luxury historic building wonderful hotel overlooking the garden old world charm favorite hotel food and wine our honeymoon deluxe room
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We spent only two days in Avignon but found Hotel La Mirande to be a superbly welcoming and comfortable place to stay. We participated in the Chef's Table preparation and dinner with Chef Sevina (not sure I spelled her name correctly). The chef was so animated and entertaining, and we learned a lot while we laughed with her. The food was spectacular, as was the wine and we felt that the cost was very reasonable for the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

I had a strange experience here. Price on the internet was $243 on Orbitz. We were close to Avignon and drove straight to the hotel figuring we'll get the same price. Upon arrival the front desk said the price is 400 Euro. I showed her the Internet price on the phone and she said she can reduce to 299 Euro which is the same 'due to the exchange rate'. I explained that it's actually Higher so then she ׳found׳ a ׳non refundable׳ rate of 250. Most quality hotels simply guarantee lowest price for booking directly to avoid haggling and dis respecting their customers.
The hotel itself is a 4 star hotel in a very good location.
It has a weird TV built into the mirror resulting in a tiny screen that is hard to operate with a remote control.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank uri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This hotel is a lovely place to say if you are visiting Avignon. Getting into the hotel is difficult by car, so ideally do what we did, and take the train. But once you are there you are in a fantastic position to explore this beautiful city, literally next door to the Pope's Palace.

All the public rooms and bedrooms look authentic and period, but the bedrooms have every mod con and it has all been recently refurbished.

On the days we stayed the gourmet restaurant was closed, but we took advantage of the chef's table dinner in the old kitchens in the cellar, and it was a truly amazing evening.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brad_Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

This ancestral house deserves a detour, and maybe the trip.
Perfectly situated behind the Palais des Papes, the hotel offers many conveniences, and mostly many a beautiful discovery, wandering in a through the broad covered central court and the different lounges, dining , sitting and back rooms... Perfect shade when coming from the sunny and hottest outside!
Arriving in your bedroom is discovering a little suite in the 1910s in perfect condition: good bed, ancient furniture, nice engravings, fine tapestry, but also a bathroom of one century ago: copper and porcelain, varnished woods, marbles, perfectly clean and in use. Maybe quaint, but so deliciously, and with such modern advantages!
All in accordingly: breakfast, brunch, meals, drinks " à l'heure de l'apéritif"...
Don't forget to glance at the special collection of teddy bears and varied stuffed toys
animals to sale.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeanlaurentmanue2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed four days at La Mirande. The hotel is very centrally located; directly accross from the Palais de Papes, we had a beautiful grand deluxe room with a view of the Palais. The staff was very warm and attentive. On a Tuesday night we ate at the chef's table downstairs with 12 of our new friends. Severine cooked a wonderful meal, is incredibly warm and charming, and led us in a round of singing French songs! Very highly recommended!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews