We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean hotel, friendly saff!”
Review of Appia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Appia Hotel
Ranked #86 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a really amazing stay in the Appia Hotel in Cannes! The hotel is located just steps from the main street where there is lots of shopping and there are restaurants of all price ranges in every direction. The train station is about a 5 - 10 minute walk and across from the station is a large monoprix! If you don't need all the selection there is a "monop" just 1.5 blocks from the hotel. The hotel was clean and the air conditioning worked really well! People commented on the room being small but for two people the room was just fine! There was even a little closet to hang things and put stuff on shelves.
The beach is also really close to the hotel. Some hotels say "the beach is just 5 minutes away!" but then you walk down and find that the water is there but it is a private beach or inaccessible. This hotel really is just a 5 minute walk. If you just walk straight towards the water you will come to the public beach. We found the best place to be against the fence that separates the public and private beaches. If you do happen to walk a beach chair though they are only about 6.5 euros for the day at some of the private beaches.
We had an amazing time visiting the island of Marguerite and if you go make sure you walk across the island where you will see the most clear water! It isn't the best spot for suntanning and laying out for the day but really good for swimming and if you snorkel you can see some fish!
Highly recommend this hotel as a budget option for visiting the French Riviera and also Cannes turned out to be a perfect spot to go to the beach and do sightseeing!

Room Tip: - We were able to hang out towels on a little bar outside the window even though we didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkfrog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

I’ve stayed here six times now and it’s an absolute gem. The location is slap bang on the main shopping street of Rue Antibes but, up an alleyway so you are shielded from the noise of the passing crowds and traffic. La Croisette is 5 minutes walk away as is The Palais and the bars and restaurants. The rooms are basic but clean and have excellent air conditioning – very important here in summer! The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. On top of all this the price is an absolute bargain. If you are looking for a luxury spa hotel in which to while away your holiday by the pool then this isn’t it but, if you are looking for a clean air conditioned place to sleep in a central location then this is possibly Cannes best kept secret!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t1grm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

By last minute chance I was forced to book Appia hotel The reasons were to stay the closer the better to the Palace of Festivals where I was supposed to go twice a day for a whole week. The reviews I read looked optimistic so the choice was made.
The hotel location is hard to find even by a taxi - the address and actual place differ. Hotel is placed in a small crooked lane just of 20 meters away from the address location. It could be easier if from the main street there was a navigation sign or an arrow with hotel name. If this were in lace I would have found my way back the first days much faster and easier.
The hotel itself impressed better. I was prepared to get some unpleasant surprises but to my luck there very few. First of all there is a 24-hour reception with a very helpful and polite staff. The hotel is run by a family of a father and 2 daughters working in turn. All are very kind and assist with all requests.
The hotel has an elevator. The rooms are small, but clean and air-conditioned. The bathroom is tiny, though it is equipped with a shower and toilet with a sink, no bide. All worked well, though due to some old tubes the nasty smell from the bathroom at the end of the day could be felt.
The room has only 1 socket for electronic device thus I had to plug in my phone and laptop in turn. Another problem was to use a hair dryer - the mirror and the plug in are in different corners of the room. By the way, the iron and ironing facilities and the hair dryer you need to ask from the reception. The room has an open wardrobe with plenty of hangers, a small table and two folding chairs. The window opens in one way without a possibility being fixed. There is a problem with mosquitoes in case you want to sleep with an open window. My room windows were looking to the tiny lane which first seemed to be very quiet. But it was not - early at 6.30 each day the garbage removal truck came with all the noise for 10 minutes.
My way to Palace of festivals was about 12 minutes of walk, very nice and short in the warm and sunny morning. The way back is more difficult as the you need to go up the hill though not that steep. Probably it was not easy for me as I spent the whole day on foot and in the business dress code. In case you want to enjoy the walking in the center of Cannes it is better to have the most comfort footwear you have.
Another thing to note is the impossibility to call for a taxi in case you need to get from one place in the center to another and that takes on foot 20 minutes. The taxi drivers refuse to come especially in the morning and evening! Even if you try to agree on the double price!
On the whole the hotel is OK: it has free Wi-Fi, a parking place though costly, very modest breakfast, though you can eat in a lot of cafes nearby. Taxi fair from Nice airport to Cannes hotel depends on the day time and varies from 65 EUR to 95 EUR. In the city the taxi takes 10 eur even if the meter shows 7 :)
I will recommend this hotel for a 2-3 day stay but for a longer visit I would prefer another one.

Room Tip: Choose a room not looking to a small lane behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FatimaMoscow_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I spent a few days in Cannes, but due to a change in plans, i needed to spend just one night at the Appia Hotel.

THE PRO's: Excellent, CENTRAL LOCATION on a small street (more of an alley) just a few blocks from the beach and Croisette, and steps from restaurants, cafes, and shopping. ELEVATOR. Good working A/C. FREE WIFI. VERY NICE, HELPFUL STAFF. TV.
Single room was small, but i've had smaller, and there were actually some little details that enhanced the "usabiliy" of the room, such as storage units and closets. Bathroom also small, but reasonably laid out and clean. MOST IMPORTANTLY- THE PRICE... it was around $70 which is cheap, especially for Cannes where most things are overpriced.

CONS: Well, it's a simple, no frills budget hotel. Room was pretty clean, but decor rather dated. That's about as negative as it gets.

All in all, this place offers good value for the price, as long as you're not planning to spend a lot of time in the room. I spent a comfortable night there, and then due to prior obligations, had to move to a slightly nicer budget hotel a couple of blocks away, which was probably about $40-50 more expensive. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

stayed at the hotel and got my watch stolen.. no great help from hotel staff either..
no secure place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank versace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannes
Azurene Royal Hotel
#92 of 126 in Cannes
81 reviews
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
#29 of 126 in Cannes
353 reviews
Hotel Little Palace
#83 of 126 in Cannes
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Anna Livia
#85 of 126 in Cannes
85 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel le Petit Trianon
Hotel le Petit Trianon
#133 of 203 in Nice
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appia Hotel

Address: 6 rue Marceau, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: $82 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Appia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Appia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing