We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$116
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Montaigne Hotel & Spa(Cannes)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Suites Cannes Centre(Cannes)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel de Provence(Cannes)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$252
US$204
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$353/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$234
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$383
US$372
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$670
US$484
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$613
US$544
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$670/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$1,015
US$900
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
18
35
11
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
35
11
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle room was smallcomfy bedreception areasmall hotelcroissantseuros
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I’ve stayed here six times now and it’s an absolute gem. The location is slap bang on the main shopping street of Rue Antibes but, up an alleyway so you are shielded from the noise of the passing crowds and traffic. La Croisette is 5 minutes walk away as is The Palais and the bars and restaurants. The rooms are basic but clean and have excellent air conditioning – very important here in summer! The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. On top of all this the price is an absolute bargain. If you are looking for a luxury spa hotel in which to while away your holiday by the pool then this isn’t it but, if you are looking for a clean air conditioned place to sleep in a central location then this is possibly Cannes best kept secret!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t1grm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

By last minute chance I was forced to book Appia hotel The reasons were to stay the closer the better to the Palace of Festivals where I was supposed to go twice a day for a whole week. The reviews I read looked optimistic so the choice was made.
The hotel location is hard to find even by a taxi - the address and actual place differ. Hotel is placed in a small crooked lane just of 20 meters away from the address location. It could be easier if from the main street there was a navigation sign or an arrow with hotel name. If this were in lace I would have found my way back the first days much faster and easier.
The hotel itself impressed better. I was prepared to get some unpleasant surprises but to my luck there very few. First of all there is a 24-hour reception with a very helpful and polite staff. The hotel is run by a family of a father and 2 daughters working in turn. All are very kind and assist with all requests.
The hotel has an elevator. The rooms are small, but clean and air-conditioned. The bathroom is tiny, though it is equipped with a shower and toilet with a sink, no bide. All worked well, though due to some old tubes the nasty smell from the bathroom at the end of the day could be felt.
The room has only 1 socket for electronic device thus I had to plug in my phone and laptop in turn. Another problem was to use a hair dryer - the mirror and the plug in are in different corners of the room. By the way, the iron and ironing facilities and the hair dryer you need to ask from the reception. The room has an open wardrobe with plenty of hangers, a small table and two folding chairs. The window opens in one way without a possibility being fixed. There is a problem with mosquitoes in case you want to sleep with an open window. My room windows were looking to the tiny lane which first seemed to be very quiet. But it was not - early at 6.30 each day the garbage removal truck came with all the noise for 10 minutes.
My way to Palace of festivals was about 12 minutes of walk, very nice and short in the warm and sunny morning. The way back is more difficult as the you need to go up the hill though not that steep. Probably it was not easy for me as I spent the whole day on foot and in the business dress code. In case you want to enjoy the walking in the center of Cannes it is better to have the most comfort footwear you have.
Another thing to note is the impossibility to call for a taxi in case you need to get from one place in the center to another and that takes on foot 20 minutes. The taxi drivers refuse to come especially in the morning and evening! Even if you try to agree on the double price!
On the whole the hotel is OK: it has free Wi-Fi, a parking place though costly, very modest breakfast, though you can eat in a lot of cafes nearby. Taxi fair from Nice airport to Cannes hotel depends on the day time and varies from 65 EUR to 95 EUR. In the city the taxi takes 10 eur even if the meter shows 7 :)
I will recommend this hotel for a 2-3 day stay but for a longer visit I would prefer another one.

Room Tip: Choose a room not looking to a small lane behind.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FatimaMoscow_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I spent a few days in Cannes, but due to a change in plans, i needed to spend just one night at the Appia Hotel.

THE PRO's: Excellent, CENTRAL LOCATION on a small street (more of an alley) just a few blocks from the beach and Croisette, and steps from restaurants, cafes, and shopping. ELEVATOR. Good working A/C. FREE WIFI. VERY NICE, HELPFUL STAFF. TV.
Single room was small, but i've had smaller, and there were actually some little details that enhanced the "usabiliy" of the room, such as storage units and closets. Bathroom also small, but reasonably laid out and clean. MOST IMPORTANTLY- THE PRICE... it was around $70 which is cheap, especially for Cannes where most things are overpriced.

CONS: Well, it's a simple, no frills budget hotel. Room was pretty clean, but decor rather dated. That's about as negative as it gets.

All in all, this place offers good value for the price, as long as you're not planning to spend a lot of time in the room. I spent a comfortable night there, and then due to prior obligations, had to move to a slightly nicer budget hotel a couple of blocks away, which was probably about $40-50 more expensive. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

stayed at the hotel and got my watch stolen.. no great help from hotel staff either..
no secure place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank versace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Considerably more spacious than other rooms i have had in europe, clean, their breakfast was very good considering that for 7 euro you cant drinf fresh juice outside.

The staff was very friendly and multilingual. It is a family place which they had managed to run very good.
Good place for a solo traveler in case you are not lookig for a common dorm and just a bit of peace.
And wifi was included in the fee!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiliLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews