We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first time in Appia, but not first time in Cannes...”
Review of Appia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Appia Hotel
Ranked #86 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed 29 June 2015

For years, I attend the Cannes Lions Advertising Festival every mid-June.

Since accommodation in the town is so expensive, I have become somewhat of an expert on 1-star accommodation near the Palais du Festivals or La Croisette.

This year, I booked myself into Appia, having tried many other similarly priced hotels in Cannes before. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel can also pas off as a two-star place.

I stayed in a normal single room, and the bed was very comfortable and wifi steady. My room was promptly cleaned every day with ample towels in place.

Apart from the friendly staff who opened the doors even when I returned late, I found their non-smoking hotel-wide policy really refreshing in Cannes' nicotine-laced atmosphere. They also helped me with restaurant advice and other stuff like getting a cab for me to the airport.

Here are my personal reasons why I will return to Appia next year.

It is near the train station (5 minutes walk) which can take you to Monaco, St Tropez, or Grasse for a good day-trip. Appia is also near the market and my favourite kebab shop that stays open till 1am, very important since most restaurants close by 11pm.

Bases on my previous experiences in hotels nearer the Croisette, the party din could spoil one's sleep. I found the Appia close to the Palais (10 mins walk) and yet far enough from the maddening crowd and loud parties, that can go on late into the night.

Now that I discovered all this, next year I'll probably upgrade my room because it is worth it. Oh before I forget, there's a good North Indian restaurant and two Chinese food shops that both do takeaways only a stone throw's away.

I also discovered a laundry shop just minutes from the hotel, so next year I will not ask the hotel to send my washing out. I will go there myself and save quite a bit.

Au Revoir!

Room Tip: Choose the main part of the hotel with the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hammer601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2015

overall, experience was good. room was really small, but clean. if i wanted to brush my teeth i couldnt stand in the bathroom. it was conveniently located and a short walk from the station. breakfast was a problem. limited choice

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Location is sometimes everything and you don't need during Your business trip nothing more than have a good sleep in quiet environment. This is not a luxury hotel and i have seen more comfortable rooms :), but a good value in busy season.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oldfieldmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

I stayed for the fourth time in the hotel Appia. I stayed there for 6 nights last week for MIPDOC and MIPCOM. Small family owned hotel, very friendly staff, always ready to help. Rooms are small, but very clean. The free WiFi works perfect. The hotel is quiet, although close to all necessary facilities. Close to the market (Place Gambetta), supermarket, pharmacy, various shops, restaurants and cafes. Only 5 minutes from the main railway station, less than 10 minutes from Palais the Festivals, and garage is in the neighbourhood.
A good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

The breakfast is nice and there is friendly staff, but otherwise somewhat discouraging. The bathroom was somewhat unpleasant. The rooms are cramped, oddly shaped and feel shoddy and worn out. The WiFi is sketchy at best.
For what I understood, this is unfortunately how an average hotel in Cannes looks, so given the price this one is probably a good value for money.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannes
Azurene Royal Hotel
#93 of 126 in Cannes
81 reviews
Hotel Anna Livia
#81 of 126 in Cannes
86 reviews
Hotel Little Palace
#84 of 126 in Cannes
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel SImone
#13 of 126 in Cannes
154 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel le Petit Trianon
Hotel le Petit Trianon
#132 of 203 in Nice
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appia Hotel

Address: 6 rue Marceau, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range: $84 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Appia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Appia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing