We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
125
45
13
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
45
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar small vineyard st paul lovely hotel pool area is lovely tranquil setting little things heated pool great place to stay great shower loved this hotel hire car breakfast was excellent would love to go back stayed one night good size two nights
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Located close to St Paul de Vence this hotel is very quiet and nice. The hosts are very welcoming and the service is great. We ate dinner and lunch at the restaurant many times. Never a disappointment. The pool area is very nice with many sunbeds. Very good breakfast.
Would recommend to stay here! Only minor point is that it is located on top of the hill, but still no views of St Paul de Vence.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

This is the place to go if you want a quiet holiday. We loved our stay there, but there are a few drawbacks if you don't have a car, mainly, there is no restaurant other than for breakfast. It is a long walk into St. Paul to either buy food or visit a restaurant. It is possible to have pizzas delivered to Les Messugues, but we didn't want to do that more than once.
Staff are excellent and couldn't be more helpful. Room was a good size and was spotless. It is very, very quiet. Sleep quality was excellent.
Breakfast was excellent, buffet style with a huge choice.
The pool area is lovely, good enough to entice me into the water, a great way to cool down on a hot summers day.
Although St. Paul was a long walk - up hill and down dale, it was well worth it, it is one of the most beautiful old towns I have ever visited. We couldn't get enough of it, the views on the walk across are superb. The little café just outside of the walls was a welcome stopping place to sit and have a drink and watch the locals playing boule.
The bar in the hotel uses an honesty system where you write down what you have in a book and it gets added to your bill.
If you are coming back to the hotel after 10pm, make sure you take your key as the outside gate will be locked - we found out the hard way! We were let in after we rang the bell.
I would love to go back and stay there again. A great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FussyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Hotel is a bit off the beaten track but lovely if you want a relaxing break. Charming traditional old French property. Breakfast was good, honesty bar was great, lots of choice, wines, spirits, tea, coffee and water. Room was good, great shower and comfy bed, plus a large balcony, table, chairs and electric sun shade over looking the gardens. Would have been nice if they did lunch and evening meals. Had a hire car which made getting into St Paul de Vence in the evening easier, also only a 20 minute drive from the airport. Lots of parking on the perimeter of the walled village and free parking the hotel. As others have mentioned is down hill on the way there but a bit of a steep uphill trek on the way back, a good 20 to 30 minute walk. Staff really friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daydream810008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Set in the countryside near St Paul, the Messugues is comfortable and very tranquil. Staff are friendly, rooms are fairly good (with nice shower/bathroom), and most have balconies with a view over the surrounding vineyard or countryside. There's a heated pool, a trust bar and a TV room/lounge. Wifi is good (and free). Breakfast is pretty good too. The only down-side is that, being up in the hills, it's a bit of a trek to St Paul and the local restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cascaispickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I loved this hotel. You definitely need a car if you are staying here, but it is only a couple of minutes' drive from St. Paul.

I had a little ground floor room, just off reception. It wasn't huge but had a nice little terrace overlooking a vineyard and because of it's proximity to the reception and common areas, the wifi was excellent!

I loved the fact that there was an honesty bar. The lounge area was inviting, although I never actually used it. It wad late October, so I was too much of a wimp to use the pool, but it is a lovely little area. The breakfast was excellent, with much more choice than most other hotels in the area.

The service was my favourite aspect of this wonderful property. The welcome seemed genuinely warm and I imagined that no request would be too much trouble. All in all, Les Messugues provides excellent value for money in one of the most sought after areas of France. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trunkix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews