We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostess!!!”
Review of La Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Palmeraie
Ranked #8 of 68 Marseille B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband and I were looking forward to our stay at Suzy's lovely place in August. We were scheduled to take the train to Marseille from Paris when we got word of a family emergency at home in Canada. We had no chance to give Suzy advance notice, but simply emailed her about our situation. She was kind and understanding, and I greatly appreciated that. Suzy, I hope we can make that trip to Marseille in the future, and I would be honored if we could stay with you! You were lovely to deal with and I thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHCSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

Suzy was very welcoming when we arrived. She did make us go straight away to the bank machine to pay her on arrival. A first in our 3 week trip in France. We stayed in the Amethyste room, which is not very comfortable for 2 people. The location is a bit of a walk from the beach and not in the best area of town. We saw a man chasing after 2 other men with a gun down the street. Quite shocking for it only being 8 o'clock at night. There is a gym directly across the street which we did use at a cost of 10 euros per visit.(you can negoitiate the price). Breakfast was very good, with fresh crepes.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room. Amethyste is small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirby2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very nice and welcoming place to stay, walking distance to the beaches - but quite distant from city center if that is your destination. If you have a car or bikes, then location is not an issue.

Room Tip: Reserve early enough as there are 3 rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_elm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed 4 nights @ La Palmaraie. Room was excellent. Very clean and spacious.
Ms Khalifa is a great host who tries to do the maximum for her guests.

Positive= Amazing breakfast + La Palmeraie is located near the beach & great bars en restaurants.

Negative= Pool is only 'open' 4 hours/dag (10x12 & 15x17) and at those moments, you're normally away so did not use the (lovely) pool

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dries_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Stepping into La Palmeraie was like stepping into a little oasis, tucked away from the rest of the world. We were greeted by Suzy who was so warm and welcoming and we felt at home straight away. We kicked off our shoes and cooled off by the gorgeous pool. Our room "Amethyste" was superb. It was very roomy, so clean and had character. This is the perfect place to stay in Marseille. You can have the high energy of Marseille, the gorgeous calanques at your doorstep, lots of great restaurants and the lovely escape of "La Palmeraie" for when you want to unwind. It was so nice waking up there in the morning to a lovely breakfast and the sun shining. We didn't want to leave! Suzy is a lovey host and we will definitely be back to visit "La Palmeraie" again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingBains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
La Luna
#7 of 68 in Marseille
72 reviews
Villa Monticelli
#4 of 68 in Marseille
165 reviews
Le Clos du Jas
#5 of 68 in Marseille
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palmeraie

Address: 99 avenue des Goumiers, 13008 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Marseille
Price Range: $146 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true oasis of peace in Marseille, a 5 minute stroll from the most beautiful beaches... Suzy Khalifa welcomes you into her family house, in the heart of a peaceful residential area, and invites you to discover the charm and refinement of a typical authentic southern home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your La Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing