We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
159
40
5
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
40
5
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were in Marseille for a convention my husband was attending at the Parc Chanot. We usually try to find a charming B&B or small boutique hotel when we travel, but need to make sure it is cost-efficient and convenient for his business needs, and for my exploring while he is working. We found La Palmeraie to suit our requirements very well. It is pretty far from the old port center of town in an attractive residential area, about a 10 minutes walk to the beach. The bus stop is only about 5 minutes or less from the B&B. My husband took the bus to the convention center, and I would accompany him there and switch to the underground metro to get to the downtown area. This was not a problem, and took maybe on average 20 minutes (30 minutes tops) to get downtown. The only difficulty is that busses stop running to this area by 9:00pm, and there are not many restaurants in the immediate area. We would walk down to the beach area and eat at the casual restaurants there, or if you were going into town, take the metro to the Parc Charnot stop and find a taxi back for about 9 additional euros. The owner Suzy is very sweet and will try her hardest to meet your needs. Between her limited English and our limited French we understood each other (not to mention Google translate...). Breakfast was very enjoyable. The pool is opened for limited hours, but the one time we wanted to use it when my husband returned after the stated hours, Suzy said that was no problem. The room (Amethyste) itself was very clean, and we thought spacious enough by European standards. There is a small fridge in the room for wine, cheese, water, etc. The wifi worked pretty well. We would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: When you check in, you will receive one key for your room and one key for the outside gate. Ask if you need an additional key, and Suzy may be able to give you at least one to the gate so you are not waiting on the street for your spouse to return with the key!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthStar802776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband and I were looking forward to our stay at Suzy's lovely place in August. We were scheduled to take the train to Marseille from Paris when we got word of a family emergency at home in Canada. We had no chance to give Suzy advance notice, but simply emailed her about our situation. She was kind and understanding, and I greatly appreciated that. Suzy, I hope we can make that trip to Marseille in the future, and I would be honored if we could stay with you! You were lovely to deal with and I thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHCSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Suzy was very welcoming when we arrived. She did make us go straight away to the bank machine to pay her on arrival. A first in our 3 week trip in France. We stayed in the Amethyste room, which is not very comfortable for 2 people. The location is a bit of a walk from the beach and not in the best area of town. We saw a man chasing after 2 other men with a gun down the street. Quite shocking for it only being 8 o'clock at night. There is a gym directly across the street which we did use at a cost of 10 euros per visit.(you can negoitiate the price). Breakfast was very good, with fresh crepes.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room. Amethyste is small!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirby2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very nice and welcoming place to stay, walking distance to the beaches - but quite distant from city center if that is your destination. If you have a car or bikes, then location is not an issue.

Room Tip: Reserve early enough as there are 3 rooms only.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_elm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed 4 nights @ La Palmaraie. Room was excellent. Very clean and spacious.
Ms Khalifa is a great host who tries to do the maximum for her guests.

Positive= Amazing breakfast + La Palmeraie is located near the beach & great bars en restaurants.

Negative= Pool is only 'open' 4 hours/dag (10x12 & 15x17) and at those moments, you're normally away so did not use the (lovely) pool

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dries_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews