We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoultely Wonderful”
Review of La Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Palmeraie
Ranked #8 of 68 Marseille B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This, by far, was the most wonderful B&B experience. We travel a bit and have had our share of uncomfortable accomodations, not at this place!
We drove down from Germany and when we hit really bad traffic we called Suzy and told her we would be late, not a problem. Breakfast was fantastic and we will go back as soon as we get a few days off work! Suzy is a wonderful gracious hostess.

Room Tip: My husband is 6'7" and we were in the studio. He had to watch his head in the shower and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gutgenug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were in Marseille for a convention my husband was attending at the Parc Chanot. We usually try to find a charming B&B or small boutique hotel when we travel, but need to make sure it is cost-efficient and convenient for his business needs, and for my exploring while he is working. We found La Palmeraie to suit our requirements very well. It is pretty far from the old port center of town in an attractive residential area, about a 10 minutes walk to the beach. The bus stop is only about 5 minutes or less from the B&B. My husband took the bus to the convention center, and I would accompany him there and switch to the underground metro to get to the downtown area. This was not a problem, and took maybe on average 20 minutes (30 minutes tops) to get downtown. The only difficulty is that busses stop running to this area by 9:00pm, and there are not many restaurants in the immediate area. We would walk down to the beach area and eat at the casual restaurants there, or if you were going into town, take the metro to the Parc Charnot stop and find a taxi back for about 9 additional euros. The owner Suzy is very sweet and will try her hardest to meet your needs. Between her limited English and our limited French we understood each other (not to mention Google translate...). Breakfast was very enjoyable. The pool is opened for limited hours, but the one time we wanted to use it when my husband returned after the stated hours, Suzy said that was no problem. The room (Amethyste) itself was very clean, and we thought spacious enough by European standards. There is a small fridge in the room for wine, cheese, water, etc. The wifi worked pretty well. We would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: When you check in, you will receive one key for your room and one key for the outside gate. Ask if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel'nmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My husband and I were looking forward to our stay at Suzy's lovely place in August. We were scheduled to take the train to Marseille from Paris when we got word of a family emergency at home in Canada. We had no chance to give Suzy advance notice, but simply emailed her about our situation. She was kind and understanding, and I greatly appreciated that. Suzy, I hope we can make that trip to Marseille in the future, and I would be honored if we could stay with you! You were lovely to deal with and I thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHCSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Suzy was very welcoming when we arrived. She did make us go straight away to the bank machine to pay her on arrival. A first in our 3 week trip in France. We stayed in the Amethyste room, which is not very comfortable for 2 people. The location is a bit of a walk from the beach and not in the best area of town. We saw a man chasing after 2 other men with a gun down the street. Quite shocking for it only being 8 o'clock at night. There is a gym directly across the street which we did use at a cost of 10 euros per visit.(you can negoitiate the price). Breakfast was very good, with fresh crepes.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room. Amethyste is small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirby2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very nice and welcoming place to stay, walking distance to the beaches - but quite distant from city center if that is your destination. If you have a car or bikes, then location is not an issue.

Room Tip: Reserve early enough as there are 3 rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_elm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
La Luna
#7 of 68 in Marseille
72 reviews
Villa Monticelli
#4 of 68 in Marseille
165 reviews
Le Clos du Jas
#5 of 68 in Marseille
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palmeraie

Address: 99 avenue des Goumiers, 13008 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Marseille
Price Range: $146 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true oasis of peace in Marseille, a 5 minute stroll from the most beautiful beaches... Suzy Khalifa welcomes you into her family house, in the heart of a peaceful residential area, and invites you to discover the charm and refinement of a typical authentic southern home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your La Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing