We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of La Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Palmeraie
Ranked #8 of 68 Marseille B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2015

You will enjoy this unique B&B/ self catering French boutique style accommodation! The French theme continues throughout the property - furnishings, food, location and the surrounding area. Suzy is very welcoming and kind offering breakfast at a shared table with the other guests overlooking the pool. You can get to local places easily by local transport - boat or bus and it's quite cheap. The sea with its lovely prom is 10 minutes away. We stayed in the Suite which was roomy, beautifully furnished, modern and practical. We really enjoyed the freedom of being able to come and go as we pleased.

Here are few things to bear in mind!
If you are travelling to the airport, you can get to the property by local transport but it's a bit tricky and long if you're not sure where to go. The taxi was 80 euros which was a bit steep!
The pool is cold and the jucuzzi was not working when we were there but it was the same temperature!
The pool is only able to be used between 10.30am-12 and 3-5 which was a bit annoying.
If you don't speak any French, it might be difficult to communicate with Suzy and the locals to a great extent.
There are some really beautiful vases, pictures and ornaments in the Suite so be really careful that you don't break anything!
There are limited cooking facilities - no rings, pans, cooking items, large plates, bread board, grill. There was a microwave but it couldn't be plugged in!

Don't be put off, though, it's really lovely and Suzy is very keen for you to have a great time!

Room Tip: The Suite is lovely Studio- rustic and small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank williawebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We went here on total chance. It is a Lovely oasis with good location close to the beach, the local hangouts and communications to Marseille centre. We went to Cassis from here with two busses. Took about 2,5h.
The lady who owns the place is absolutely adorable and makes a home made breakfast every morning. We were more than satisfied with this cute place, and we were so thankful to the lady who took care about us. Thank you!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank emeliesafrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have had two wonderful weeks at La Palmeraie. A real oasis in Marseille which is perfectly situated for beaches and with easy connections into the city. Suzy Khalifa looked after us perfectly and we cannot recommend this chambre d'hote highly enough. Our room was exceptionally comfortable and beautifully furnished. We hope to return one day!

Mandy McKenna

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mayfarm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

After taking in the fantastic Mucem museum we drove south on the Corniche du Pres. JFK and into Suzy's (nice) neighborhood a few, short blocks from the sea. Suzy is fantastic and the room was clean and very well stocked. We parked our car in front of her home and took her advise for dinner: check out my review of La Grotte in Callelongue. Not only were we impressed with the lovely grounds but Suzy is a fantastic host. Her breakfast of crepes with an assortment (and I mean assortment) of her homemade jams is worth the stay alone. I'm trying to convince her to organize 'jam making' retreats. I can still savor the 'raisins (grapes) roses" and her "figue" jams that melted - in -mouth. I usually don't care for B&B style lodgings but this was a pleasant and returnable exception. Well stocked home, good size bed, strong air conditioner, clean pool with plenty of lounging options, easy parking and excellent hostess!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Truly a gem hidden behind the walls of the property. Didn't expect that in the middle of the city but the photos didn't disappoint.
Suzy was a joy and her attempts at speaking English was commendable. She and our 7 year old daughter really hit it off.
I also appreciated her consideration of a one night stay as that is not her policy.
Thanks,
Darren and family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
La Luna
#7 of 68 in Marseille
72 reviews
Villa Monticelli
#4 of 68 in Marseille
165 reviews
Le Clos du Jas
#5 of 68 in Marseille
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palmeraie

Address: 99 avenue des Goumiers, 13008 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Marseille
Price Range: $147 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true oasis of peace in Marseille, a 5 minute stroll from the most beautiful beaches... Suzy Khalifa welcomes you into her family house, in the heart of a peaceful residential area, and invites you to discover the charm and refinement of a typical authentic southern home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your La Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing