We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Ranked #9 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 March 2008

Room comfortable and view excellent. Most of staff helpful and efficient - but room service not always polite or civil. There is a waiter 'attitude' problem that should not be there in a 5 star hotel. Food unimaginative and at times pedestrian - again not a 5 star hotel.
We suggest management should visit 5 star hotels in other European cities. There was a lack of attention to detail in all the hotel departments. No milk or tea were provided even though there was a kettle in the room and builders were around us renovating other rooms along the corridor about which there was no warning.
It is a hotel punching above its weight!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Horace16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 586 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2007

We had an amazing stay in one of their suites. The suite had a comfortable living room and an adjoining bedroom with flat-screen televisions in both. An extra bed was prepared for my 5 year old daughter in the living room right next to the window so she had an awesome view of the Port. The very next morning, she was awake early and had sat there watching the sunrise. The bed is another luxury on its own and is worth special mention because the sheer comfort it provides. Extra soft and firm at the same time, you feel as if you are sleeping on clouds. The bathroom is huge and had 2 separate sinks and separate amenities for both sinks. There is a bath and a separate shower area. Whilst the room is great quality for the price paid, the view from the room which overlooks the ancient port is priceless. I will let the pictures that I post speak for itself.

The service rendered by Reception and Concierge was truly professional and every single individual made us feel truly at home. A very sweet gentlemen at Concierge was very helpful in giving us advice on places to visit, in particular the Calanques which is located near Cassis (south of Marseille, and a half hour drive away). He took an extra effort to inquire on tour times, boat times and offered to make reservations for us.

Try the breakfast at the top floor, the view is awesome and the breakfast spread good. I would have loved to spend the entire morning just taking in the view over a hot cup of cafe au lait but there are just too many interesting places in Provence to visit.

This is a superb hotel, centrally located and boasts a view that is unrivalled.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank purple_dots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

The service and reception we received during our stay was fantastic. Staff extremely friendly and went out of there way to assist. The hotel has a great location and the view from the terraced rooms is hard to beat.
Only fault was the standard of food in the main restaurant - could have been much better for the price - pity, given all the other positives.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank madeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2007

we stayed in sofitel for 4 nights recently, arriving from the uk, and the first thing you notice is that france is still not smoke free. everyone reeks of it. its in the restaurants, all over the hotel, by the pool, everywhere and we were suffocating in it. apart from that, the hotel itself is lovely. you get a picture perfect view of the med and the port with the mountains in the background, its truly gorgeous, but hardly worth the money on its own.

we found the hotel service polite but pathetic. every time we asked for a bucket of ice it took an hour and we had to remind them, in french as hardly anyone understood english. our room wasnt cleaned until around 4pm, and also after we moaned about it not being cleaned. they dont do a very good job of it, either as things werent dusted or polished or scrubbed (bathroom floor was dirty).

the included breakfast buffet was decent, although as my son put it aptly, 'scary.' they bring you a cup of coffee the size of a child's tea party. you wonder if its espresso, but it isnt. its just coffee. 2 sips of it. then, they were out of both juices and water, so i had nothing else to drink one morning as it wasnt quickly replenished even though they had tons of staff. the guests looked unhappy, the vibe was kind of sullen and snobbish, and again, smokers everywhere.

the pluses - the worlds most gorgeous jogging path is right in front of the hotel, and runs along for miles overlooking the med. its simply brilliant. bring your trainers.

the beach nearby. more normal, ordinary folk go to this public beach, and its better for it. friendlier feel, gentle waters as its sheltered by reefs. within walking distance to the hotel, plus a little child's play area right on the beach too.

if u have a car, drive to la ciutat for a day on the beach. its a lovely, unpretentious beach town, more quiet than where sofitel is and just nicer all round apart from the ice cream vendor who moaned when i took too many napkins for my son, so i gave her an extra 20 centimes to shut her up, which worked.

the thumbs down - the pool, as lovely it looked, was THEE most freezing pool ive ever not been in. no one went in apart from 2 norweigans and they looked tortured. it was impossible to go into. it froze my foot as i dipped it in. one wonders with what they charge why they couldnt be bothered to heat it? my son was disappointed, as was i, as were nearly everyone looking at it longingly.

then there's the scary french men and women who cant be bothered to wear knickers. i saw a man with shorts on without pants, and everything dangling out, and it was like he didnt care. and i saw a woman with white linen trousers and no knickers, about 55 years of age. not pleasant. then there was the bloke kept roaming the corridors of the hotel with his courtesy robe.

if you have small children, the restaurants arent open until 730. on top of that, we found french women, waiting staff in particular, to be [--] at best. one of them, the second i responded with a french 'desolee' as she spoke too fast, tut tutted and hastily walked away, and never came back to the table. we went for chinese and found it really to be vietnamese and they had frog on the menu. had a prawn curry but it wasnt really proper curry. and the old man had no idea what hot & sour soup was either.

location wise (south of france), its great. but next time im gonna spend my money on italy instead or other places as the general attitude of the french, that sort of [--] superiority thing, makes this destination undesirable by comparison (italians are far warmer as are spanish).

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bwhiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2006

We stayed 5 nights 22-27 December 2006 and occupied one of the ground floor rooms (R 27) which has a balcony overlooking the old port.
The location, at the mouth of the Old Port, is superb with magnificent views over the Vieux Port. The Sofitel and its sister Novotel share a single structure, but with separate drive ways in from the street. The hotel is 3 stops away by bus No 83 from the nearest metro station (Vieux Port) and the best way of getting to the Airport is by taxi (cost about EUR 50) rather than the airport bus to the main railway station.
Our room had a large double bed with very comfortable mattress and light but warm duvet. It had been refurbished and looked grand. But it lacked cupboard space for clothes, and the bathroom (which had shower cabinet as well as a bath) did not have hand rails for its older customers (like us). Some of the surfaces were slippery and the towel rail was much too high up.
The 4th floor restaurant, where both breakfast (EUR 22) and dinner is served has glorious views. Ask for a window table. The menu option offers the possibility of having a different wine with each course; we thought that very good.
Staff in the hotel was uniformly friendly and helpful.
The self-service business centre had 2 PCs, which cost EUR 15 an hour to use with a pre-paid card.
The outdoor swimming pool is not is use in winter, though was filled at the time of our visit.
On average, we paid EUR 225 per night, plus breakfast.
We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Saint-Victor
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marseille Vieux Port
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#10 of 131 in Marseille
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Tulip Villa Massalia
#26 of 131 in Marseille
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port

Address: 36 boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marseille
#2 Business Hotel in Marseille
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#5 Green Hotel in Marseille
#8 Family Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $261 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the Dantès Skylounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port Hotel Marseille
Marseille Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing