We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$166
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$210
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$163
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$114
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
C2 Hotel(Marseille)
US$189
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$187
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$253
US$208
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
nhow Marseille(Marseille)
US$260
US$244
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alex Hotel(Marseille)
US$95
US$92
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,551)
Filter reviews
2,551 results
Traveller rating
1,501
660
251
81
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,501
660
251
81
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloor restauranttop floorvieux portrooftop barluxury roomswimming poolexcellent hotelbreakfast buffetwonderful viewold harbourlong weekendmodern hotelconciergedantestroisfranceeuros
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 2,551 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We had a drink on the 7 th floor. The service was already poor having to ask twice to be served a glass of champagne. We afterwards decided to eat at the Brasserie. Better not to eat there. The service was appalling the food tasted frozen. Each time we wishes to order something we were told they did not have it. Sea bass sorry there is none , profiteroles sorry there is none. The bernaise sauce tasted old as if from a bottle. Hard to believe it was fresh. Incapable to serve the deserts at the same time. A place to avoid.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank robert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Marseille for your stay.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the bad experience you had at the Brasserie Le Carré. We instill the sense of courtesy, kindness and availability to our staff on a day-to-day basis. We are truly sorry that our waiters have not demonstrated the professionalism that usually characterizes them.
Concerning the food, I can assure you that our products or fresh and the béarnaise sauce is home made.

We look forward to welcome you back in order to prove you the quality of our services.

Best regards,
Camille V, Guest Experience Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

It is a such beautiful hotel with nice people.
The view from our room as well as from the restaurant was very beautiful. You could see the harbour and the city. I would say that it must be one the best ones in Marseille.
Happy! A very good location with a splendid view. Nice restaurant and a very friendly staff. What do you want more?

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nguyệt Á
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear guest,

What can we say except thank you for this enthusiastic comments shared on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and you enjoyed the warm and attentive service of our staff as well as the magnificient view over the old harbor of Marseille.

We look forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon in your « Marseillaise » home.

Best regards,
Camille V, Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We had a very good experience my partner lost her expensive sunglasses in the hotel the staff found them and she got them back. Happy!
A very good location with a splendid view. Nice restaurant and a very friendly staff. What do you want more?

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank pvo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear guest,

We wanted to thank you for your comment and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and you enjoyed the attentive service of our staff.
All the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port team warmly thank you for your very good grades and the kindness of your writings! This encourage us to continue our efforts in our quest for '' excellence ''. Your satisfaction is our best reward!

Best regards,
Camille V, Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Our family stayed in the hotel for five nights. We had a room with a nice balcony. The view from our room as well as from the restaurant was very beautiful. You could see the harbour and the city. I would say that it must be one the best ones in Marseille.

Our room was ok, but you could expect more in a luxury hotel. It was ok, but nothing special. There is a restaurant/bar right next to the hotel. It was a bit disturbing that the music coming from the restaurant was very loud every night except one. If I had known this, I might have chosen a different hotel.

The cleaning ladies did their job but almost everytime we found some trash in our room after they had left. Otherwise the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank NooraV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionSofitel, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your confidence and for choosing the Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port for your family stay in Marseille.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our magnificient view over the old harbor.
We have taken in considerations your remarks regarding the cleaning of the room, and the noise pollution. Your feedback regarding this point has been shared to our Housekeeping Management and the other department.

We hope that you will renew your confidence and your next stay will meet to benefit your expectations and wishes.

Best regards,
Camille V, Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Marseille was where we would spend the last three days of our vacation in France, so we decided to go all out. We asked how much it would cost to upgrade to a room with a private "terrace" (patio) facing the water (the old harbor) and were told it would add more than a hundred euros a night. We said no, thanks, but then the desk clerk said that if we got one of those rooms, we would get free breakfasts. That doesn't sound like much until you discover that each breakfast costs 27€. (It's a fabulous breakfast. You might not need lunch.) So we did it, and we're glad we did. The room was spacious, we enjoyed the terrace whenever the rain let up, and the bathroom had a bathtub and a separate shower. The place wasn't perfect: the carpet was a little frayed, and when you were taking a shower, the water sometimes got excessively hot for a few seconds before going back to normal. Nevertheless, the facilities were very comfortable. We also got splendid service from the concierges, who gave advice on sight-seeing, made reservations at restaurants, called taxis, etc. I wanted to tip one concierge, but she said you only do that at fancy hotels. I said that this hotel seemed pretty darned fancy to me, so I tipped her anyway.

Room Tip: The rooms with private terraces are on the lower floors, but I suppose that the rooms higher up have a better view.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IrvingBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews