We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Mas de Valrugues(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau de Roussan(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$217
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Soleil & SPA(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de l'Image(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
US$242
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canto Cigalo(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Chambres de Naevag(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chambre d'Hotes Les Varietes(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Hotel De La Caume(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de Tourrel(Saint-Remy-de-Provence)
US$445
US$403
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
1
12
9
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
12
9
18
16
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Simple room with all the tourist needs: air conditioning, shower, etc. The center of the city. Very nice view to the olive trees. Big patio for all visitors. Clean rooms. Pleasant hotel without anything extra. Good value for money. Only one inconvenience-too noisy in the early morning cause of cleaning machine on the road, but if you close the windows-no problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tatcaxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

You'd have to be a very picky first world traveler indeed not to appreciate the value of this charming if a bit funky hotel. A very good shower, clean sink and toilet, comfortable bed in a room bigger than most hotel rooms in Paris, a possibility of a step-out and sit down balcony over the small garden in front of the hotel, friendly staff AND not 80 feet from the circular road that rings the center of St. Remy. All of the town's shops and restaurants are within a short walk (try Un Ete Dans Provence for fantastic pastas, desserts and convivial service at great prices -- three minutes from the hotel). With easy parking right in front, clearly marked on the roundabout, the Cheval Blanc is easy to find... And for seventy dollars a night for a room?! In the high season?! Of course, if you are a spoiled socialite who buys new clothes rather than wash her old ones, then go to the Oustau de Baumanière over the hill in Les Baux -- fantastic accomodations and food, but you'll need a small bank in the trunk as a room and dinner will set you back about five hundred dollars minimum. (No breakfast in that price, either.) When you want to step out and browse in St. Remy you'll need to drive there first. And then park there. And THEN explore the town. And I'll have already spent my four hundred and thirty dollars savings on my room in the Cheval in Saint Remy on original art, pottery, wine, cookies and an omelette by the time you buy your first noisette.

Room Tip: Room 110-113 have balconies, that I know of. Maybe more do, as well.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevindrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Avoid this "hotel" like the plague, as others have said, its only saving grace is its position in picturesque Saint Remy but to be honest there are SO many alternatives that you would never have to step over the threshold of the Hotel du Cheval Blanc. My daughter and I were only able to secure a quadruple room through Booking.com although I take this with a pinch of salt too because when we arrived, other double rooms were available. The minute we opened the door of room 122, we were repelled by the stench of the drains in the shower cubicle, it was really not nice and it couldn't be used. We moved for the next night to a much nicer room 125 on the other, newer side of the hotel but when we used this shower, the drain was obviously blocked there too and water flowed into the bedroom area and flooded part of the carpet. When it dried later I realised that it had flooded before on previous occasions as the carpet was water stained throughout. Did mention to Reggie the manager but he feigned complete surprise!
The hotel also charged us for four breakfasts each of the two mornings we were there. When I complained they said that they had been told by Booking.com that there were four of us. Strange when we only booked for two people. Reggie said that they would refund us for the two extra breakfasts over the two days but surprise, surprise when we left, the "manager" wasn't there even though we were told the day before that she would be. Reggie promised to email us on the following Monday and you've guessed it, not a dicky bird!! So apart from the horrible conditions, smell and overcharging, I was charged for four extra breakfasts! The beauty of selling a quadruple room to two people.
What's more, locals use the parking in front to leave their cars when they go shopping so families at the hotel were having to park down the road and walk back. No monitoring of the parking situation either.
Trouble is none of the staff give a care and obviously it is not a nice place to work. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We read the other reviews and thought, OK, it will be fine because we didn't want to spend too much on accommodation. It was a hard-earned lesson obviously false economy. The outside of the hotel looks promising so we felt OK with our decision when we arrived. That was until we opened the door to our room. The smell of sewerage hit us straight away. When we spoke to the person on duty, we were told that the hotel was full for the night but we would be moved the next day. As long as we kept the room window open and the bathroom door closed, we were fine. But the weather was very cold! The linen had definitely seen better days and was as close to threadbare as you can get - so much so that as soon as I used a towell to dry my back, it ripped. The bed was comfortable enough though only double size. Parking is on a first in-first served basis and so you could end up way down the street as we did. The next day there was a different staff member working and at first he seemed disinclined to give us another room because it would mean making up another room ... Of course we won that argument. However, the physical state of this bathroom was disgusting. Obviously some work had been done on the pipes to the toilet which they tried to cover up literally and physically by a piece of folded cardboard. An air vent on another wall was taped up and there were tiles missing from the floor of the shower. The walls have no soundproofing and the first night we were subjected to someone who talked nonstop into the early hours. On the second night we had to listen to a woman giving advice to her daughter in law - also went on forever and was extremely loud. The place should be shut down. As someone else suggested, stay well away. It's just not worth the saving even though the location is its best feature.

Room Tip: Don't go!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hudsimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Nothing wrong with the place and i would love to get hold of the place and do it up. The position very near the centre of St Remy is a winner and if it is only a holding pen while you chase the beauty of the countryside its a good stop.
Bed was average.....no problems with the cleanliness as it is just tired so how do you polish that.
The noise was noticeable but not a problem.....what do you expect for the bucks and position.
Have to comment on the savage lack of class in who ever chose the carpet as its Sanitation Works brown.....and i mean a cross between chocolate and you know what.
a shocker in bad taste.
However we were there to eat....no inhouse breakfast or anything like that was attempted......and we were there to cruise the countryside so it was a good holding pen.
WiFi very ordinary but its all over France.....unless you sit inside the router or ontop of the owners hub.
Area fantastic for driving....the town has good cafes and one can sit about with ease before lighting up the machinery.
bonus was the parking in front in a busy town but you may have to chase away a few locals that have the temerity to pinch a park.

Room Tip: try to get the end rooms in each floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mausgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews