We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
279
101
20
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
279
101
20
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschalet hotelpacked lunchnursery slopesinghams staffcakesgreat holidaymont blanccomplimentary wineyoung staffother guestswelcome meetingparagliders landinglittle tired in placesthe hotel managerbuses and trainscourse dinnerholiday experience
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Brilliant food, staff very friendly and helpful, nothing to much trouble. Room 1 was very clean with a double bed. The soup and cakes for afternoon tea was very welcome. Went on a couple of trips both very good.

Stayed: May 2018
2  Thank linda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

This is a value for money budget hotel in a comparatively expensive resort.
The hotel is staffed young Brits and they bring commitment and energy to ensuring guests are treated with courtesy and handle any issues promptly.
The hotel is sited in Chamonix and is a short stroll into the town centre.

The board is buffet breakfast with options of cooked fry up, cereal, fruit etc. Packed lunch (make yourself sandwiches, or choose croissants danish etc) and a bottle of water if you wish. Evening meals are selected at breakfast and usually consist of three main choices including a veggie option. The food quality is acceptable and the choice is usually varied with fish featuring prominently during my week here.
The views from the hotel are superb as they are throughout the town. The town environment is very picturesque. The absence of crowds during our early season visit added to our enjoyment.
There are plenty of eating establishments from gourmet to fast food cafes. There is an abundance of pizzeria and hamburger restaurants, necessary to cater to the needs of the overwhelming tourist numbers during peak weeks.
The hotel is very dated, but is as well kept as it could be, given its age and condition. Rooms are much larger than modern hotels. But be aware, that a make do and mend policy seems to be in place, rather like a sock that has been darned too often. So do not expect any luxury in any aspect except location, location location.

Am I sorry I went? No it is a great way to visit the region and offers good value for money. The staff elevate it to a 4/5 as they really are a credit to the travel company.

I will not detail all of the activities available in the area except they are enough to satisfy the most demanding walkers or alpine adventurers.

My only tip would be to avoid peak weeks if you are able to. The town accommodates ten times its usual population at peak periods.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravellerNo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

This hotel is exactly as stated in other reviews. It's in a great location on the edge of the town which is easily walked in 5 minutes. Great views from the dining room and outdoor seating area of Mont Blanc and the Bosson Glacier as well as the mountains which flank both sides of the valley. The friendly staff really can't do enough for their guests with are what can only be described as a fun hard working team. Breakfast is relaxed with hot and cold offerings. Lunch is in the form of a packed lunch which guests make themselves during breakfast. Afternoon tea is served daily and usually includes soup, cake and biscuits. Evening meal options are made during breakfast and there is always plenty of choice. Wine is served (red, white or rose) with the evening meal and by the bottle.

Stayed: May 2018
2  Thank 437debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

A great week away staying at the Sapiniere. It’s a cool chalet edging onto the nursery slopes. Although it’s very close the button lift to the main gondolier can be very busy at peak times.

The chalet food was great especially the 4pm soup, tea, biscuits and cake; my only issue being I couldn’t manage all three.

Big thanks to Rosie for looking after the group so well. I look forward to next visit.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Well were do I start..it might be helpful if Inghams could supply a rep that was available when needed. It would also be nice not to be ripped off over ski passes or to not be picked up on your coach transfer back to the airport. Do not go with Inghams unless you are happy to be in a Faulty Towers type hotel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank HST23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inghams_1934, Guest services at La Sapiniere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback, HST23. I am sorry to see you were disappointed by our service provided. We absolutely take all feedback onboard and your comments have been shared with management to address before next winter. I do hope that despite these issues you were able to enjoy your holiday. Best wishes, Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews