We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Les Cygnes
Nearby Hotels
US$537
US$472
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Littoral(Evian-les-Bains)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac(Evian-les-Bains)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Evian-les-Bains(Evian-les-Bains)
US$252
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de France(Evian-les-Bains)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Continental(Evian-les-Bains)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savoy Hotel Evian(Evian-les-Bains)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Alize Hotel(Evian-les-Bains)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveller rating
306
233
84
54
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
233
84
54
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknick knacksloved this hotelquirky hotelroom was clean and comfortablerooms are smalllake genevalakesideloungerssummer
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 751 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Just returned from a week here and I fail to understand some of the bad reviews. Yes the decor is overdone and twee, like an alpine chalet on steroids - would I choose it at home, god no, but we found it charmingly eccentric. The rooms are modest in size to say the least, we had two connecting family rooms so not too bad but we are talking two feet space around the bed so if you had two big suitcases you'd struggle to stow them. The staff we found really helpful and pleasant, the breakfast room just gorgeous (as was the food) and the restaurant stunningly good food. The biggest issue here was the noise from the road and the kitchen. Of course the hotel cannot help this but with no air con you do need windows open and it is very noisy. It sounds from other reviews that you must get a lakeside view (which, going from the view in the restaurant, I am sure would be wonderful). the whole hotel was spotless and the beds very comfortable. Very attractive little garden where we enjoyed an aperitif most evenings. The pool is not great for relaxing around as high sided but our 6 year old loved it. You have to remember this is a 3 star hotel - if you want 5 star luxury stay somewhere else for 4 times the price.

In terms of constructive feedback for the hotel to improve the guest experience - by all means keep your wonderfully quirky decor but just review the rooms for practicaility. Instead of an un-needed second chair, a small chest of drawers would be more useful. Maybe consider putting air con in on the road facing rooms. And my biggest suggestion is to review your communications, I emailed twice with questions before arriving and did not receive a reply. The comment about the staff chatting in the area outside kitchen is also valid, it was right under our window and did disturb us, perhaps ask them to use another area away from the rooms. But all in all a very pleasant stay and excellent value. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a lake side room
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nelle96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Good location, great food, however,,,,little to no parking, small rooms that are filled with clutter.. no place to put a suitcase. There is no lift so navigating three flights of stairs and landings that are just full of furniture that is of no use to man or beast, is quite a workout. Make sure you get a room facing the lake. I stayed in a room with what was described as a garden view. I got a great view of the roof of the next building. I was over the kitchen which is located centrally in the hotel. So as there is no AC in the rooms and I needed to have the windows open , I could not go to sleep until the kitchen had finished for the night. This was around 11:30 pm after which I was privy to the staff having an after work chat until 12:30 am despite my repeated calls to reception about the noise. As the Hotel is on the main road the traffic noise kept me awake until the kitchen started up again for breakfast !! Make sure your get a room overlooking the lake , if you can't, don't stay here.. if you are an insomniac who likes dragging his bags quite a way to the hotel, navigating an obstacle course up many flights of narrow stairs only to find a tiny room, that is full of clutter with no room to swing a cat, and like listening to the people in the next room through paper thin walls,,,,,, then this is the place of you

Room Tip: A room facing the Lake !!!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebbuet, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Cygnes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016
Google Translation

Cher client,
Si votre séjour vous a enchanté alors nous en sommes heureux, et cela nous pousse à sans cesse non seulement à nous améliorer, mais aussi à nous motiver de nouveau pour toujours apporter des innovations et des perfectionnements à notre maison qui est d' ailleurs toute ma joie de vivre. Vivre un moment même très court, de bonheur aux Cygnes, signifiera que nous avons réussi à faire partager celui que nous avons à vous recevoir sans jamais avoir la prétention d’être la perfection.
Pour ceux qui sont mécontents je pense qu’il est préférable de me le dire directement avec gentillesse et honnêteté et non dissimulé lâchement derrière l’anonymat d'un mail et d’un site qui jamais ne vérifie si vous avez séjourné chez moi ou non ! Il flatte d' ailleurs les plus vils instincts...
La plus part du temps ce ne sont que des avis de frustrés, souvent subjectifs, sans intelligence ni recul, et trop fréquemment fallacieux qui n’apportent rien de constructif.
Je préfère voir ceux-là passer leur chemin et laisser la place aux autres pour partager ensemble un moment hors du temps, dans mon établissement plus que centenaire, où tout est fait , je l' espère, pour le meilleur des séjours.
Sébastien Buet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

The room we could book was 54 on the third floor, no lifts, and small. We had to leave one suitcase in the car otherwise we would not have fit in the room. The room was overstuffed with furniture, two cushions on each of the two chairs, and four on the bed. Even the bathroom had a cupboard that blocked the door opening fully. Not to mention every available surface has an ornament. You could not open the closet to use it for the chairs and everywhere you looked there was some kind of decoration, ribbons and trinkets adorned everything. The staircase was of concern as there were tables 1/2 blocking the path. We understand that dinner was good and certainly it was fully subscribed. We didn't stay for breakfast we felt 15€ each for a continental breakfast a bit over the top. There are about 8 parking places opposite the hotel, then another dirt car park about 100 metres up the hill. Location is excellent if you got a lake view, we got a garden. Double glazing minimises road noise. The staff were very helpful and polite, as well as multilingual. Probably not a family hotel if they are young, there are just too many breakables in easy reach.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebbuet, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Cygnes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2016
Google Translation

Pauvres faux jeton! Si vous aviez quelque chose à nous reprocher ou si vous souhaitiez changer de chambre pour une autre il n' y aurait eu aucun problème.
Vous préférez déblatérer anonymement derrière votre écran d' ordinateur.
Quelle société ! Si vous n' aimez pas le style 120 de ma maison et de ses chambres ( toutes rénovées )passez votre chemin, notre site est portant clair.
S.Buet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

I have stayed at the hotel with my wife many times now and in all seasons - into double figures now and I have also brought my parents here too when they were younger.

Another fantastic visit at the end of April - everything is just as it should be - staff, food, service and the hotel is unique in its position and decor - the dining room is astonishing and the lakeside restaurant is now operational for the summer. There cannot be a more perfect place to dine in Evian!

Please visit Les Cygnes - it is a unique experience and the only thing that ever upsets me is when it is time to leave.

thanks to you all again - Simon

Room Tip: I woke up with the window open, literally looking over Lac Leman - astonishing - any closer I would have been in it!
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dicksimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebbuet, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Cygnes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

You are so kind !
Thank you and see you soon.
Best regards.
Sébastien.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Completely by accident, we found this place and had a fabulous dinner. Food was tasty, service was fantastic. We had a fabulous time in this very typical place. We finally decided to come back again and had the same leved of welcome. A place to go.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Philc_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebbuet, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Cygnes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you very much , we hope seing you again !
best regards.
S.Buet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews