We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close”
Review of Hotel Les Cygnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Les Cygnes
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Our friends booked this hotel and forwarded the details to me, I looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor and was less than impressed BUT to be fair when we arrived the only flaw we found was the extensive use of air fresheners, too many, too strong.
Yes it's rammed full of objects/antiques/teddy bears and furniture but that's their look so how can it be wrong ? Not to my taste but spotlessly clean. Rooms are snug but with a great view and the bathroom was well appointed. Our friends ate here and we're very impressed. Hotel bikes to use, a gym, very limited parking but all in all absolutely nowhere nearly as bad as I was expecting. Less air freshener action and it'd be a quaint,quirky ,really different hotel with a five star rating

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 78juicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebbuet, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Cygnes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016
Google Translation

Cher client,
Si votre séjour vous a enchanté alors nous en sommes heureux, et cela nous pousse à sans cesse non seulement à nous améliorer, mais aussi à nous motiver de nouveau pour toujours apporter des innovations et des perfectionnements à notre maison qui est d' ailleurs toute ma joie de vivre. Vivre un moment même très court, de bonheur aux Cygnes, signifiera que nous avons réussi à faire partager celui que nous avons à vous recevoir sans jamais avoir la prétention d’être la perfection.
Pour ceux qui sont mécontents je pense qu’il est préférable de me le dire directement avec gentillesse et honnêteté et non dissimulé lâchement derrière l’anonymat d'un mail et d’un site qui jamais ne vérifie si vous avez séjourné chez moi ou non ! Il flatte d' ailleurs les plus vils instincts...
La plus part du temps ce ne sont que des avis de frustrés, souvent subjectifs, sans intelligence ni recul, et trop fréquemment fallacieux qui n’apportent rien de constructif.
Je préfère voir ceux-là passer leur chemin et laisser la place aux autres pour partager ensemble un moment hors du temps, dans mon établissement plus que centenaire, où tout est fait , je l' espère, pour le meilleur des séjours.
Sébastien Buet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2016

Just returned from a week here and I fail to understand some of the bad reviews. Yes the decor is overdone and twee, like an alpine chalet on steroids - would I choose it at home, god no, but we found it charmingly eccentric. The rooms are modest in size to say the least, we had two connecting family rooms so not too bad but we are talking two feet space around the bed so if you had two big suitcases you'd struggle to stow them. The staff we found really helpful and pleasant, the breakfast room just gorgeous (as was the food) and the restaurant stunningly good food. The biggest issue here was the noise from the road and the kitchen. Of course the hotel cannot help this but with no air con you do need windows open and it is very noisy. It sounds from other reviews that you must get a lakeside view (which, going from the view in the restaurant, I am sure would be wonderful). the whole hotel was spotless and the beds very comfortable. Very attractive little garden where we enjoyed an aperitif most evenings. The pool is not great for relaxing around as high sided but our 6 year old loved it. You have to remember this is a 3 star hotel - if you want 5 star luxury stay somewhere else for 4 times the price.

In terms of constructive feedback for the hotel to improve the guest experience - by all means keep your wonderfully quirky decor but just review the rooms for practicaility. Instead of an un-needed second chair, a small chest of drawers would be more useful. Maybe consider putting air con in on the road facing rooms. And my biggest suggestion is to review your communications, I emailed twice with questions before arriving and did not receive a reply. The comment about the staff chatting in the area outside kitchen is also valid, it was right under our window and did disturb us, perhaps ask them to use another area away from the rooms. But all in all a very pleasant stay and excellent value. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a lake side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nelle96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Good location, great food, however,,,,little to no parking, small rooms that are filled with clutter.. no place to put a suitcase. There is no lift so navigating three flights of stairs and landings that are just full of furniture that is of no use to man or beast, is quite a workout. Make sure you get a room facing the lake. I stayed in a room with what was described as a garden view. I got a great view of the roof of the next building. I was over the kitchen which is located centrally in the hotel. So as there is no AC in the rooms and I needed to have the windows open , I could not go to sleep until the kitchen had finished for the night. This was around 11:30 pm after which I was privy to the staff having an after work chat until 12:30 am despite my repeated calls to reception about the noise. As the Hotel is on the main road the traffic noise kept me awake until the kitchen started up again for breakfast !! Make sure your get a room overlooking the lake , if you can't, don't stay here.. if you are an insomniac who likes dragging his bags quite a way to the hotel, navigating an obstacle course up many flights of narrow stairs only to find a tiny room, that is full of clutter with no room to swing a cat, and like listening to the people in the next room through paper thin walls,,,,,, then this is the place of you

Room Tip: A room facing the Lake !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebbuet, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Cygnes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016
Google Translation

Cher client,
Si votre séjour vous a enchanté alors nous en sommes heureux, et cela nous pousse à sans cesse non seulement à nous améliorer, mais aussi à nous motiver de nouveau pour toujours apporter des innovations et des perfectionnements à notre maison qui est d' ailleurs toute ma joie de vivre. Vivre un moment même très court, de bonheur aux Cygnes, signifiera que nous avons réussi à faire partager celui que nous avons à vous recevoir sans jamais avoir la prétention d’être la perfection.
Pour ceux qui sont mécontents je pense qu’il est préférable de me le dire directement avec gentillesse et honnêteté et non dissimulé lâchement derrière l’anonymat d'un mail et d’un site qui jamais ne vérifie si vous avez séjourné chez moi ou non ! Il flatte d' ailleurs les plus vils instincts...
La plus part du temps ce ne sont que des avis de frustrés, souvent subjectifs, sans intelligence ni recul, et trop fréquemment fallacieux qui n’apportent rien de constructif.
Je préfère voir ceux-là passer leur chemin et laisser la place aux autres pour partager ensemble un moment hors du temps, dans mon établissement plus que centenaire, où tout est fait , je l' espère, pour le meilleur des séjours.
Sébastien Buet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

The room we could book was 54 on the third floor, no lifts, and small. We had to leave one suitcase in the car otherwise we would not have fit in the room. The room was overstuffed with furniture, two cushions on each of the two chairs, and four on the bed. Even the bathroom had a cupboard that blocked the door opening fully. Not to mention every available surface has an ornament. You could not open the closet to use it for the chairs and everywhere you looked there was some kind of decoration, ribbons and trinkets adorned everything. The staircase was of concern as there were tables 1/2 blocking the path. We understand that dinner was good and certainly it was fully subscribed. We didn't stay for breakfast we felt 15€ each for a continental breakfast a bit over the top. There are about 8 parking places opposite the hotel, then another dirt car park about 100 metres up the hill. Location is excellent if you got a lake view, we got a garden. Double glazing minimises road noise. The staff were very helpful and polite, as well as multilingual. Probably not a family hotel if they are young, there are just too many breakables in easy reach.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebbuet, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Cygnes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2016
Google Translation

Pauvres faux jeton! Si vous aviez quelque chose à nous reprocher ou si vous souhaitiez changer de chambre pour une autre il n' y aurait eu aucun problème.
Vous préférez déblatérer anonymement derrière votre écran d' ordinateur.
Quelle société ! Si vous n' aimez pas le style 120 de ma maison et de ses chambres ( toutes rénovées )passez votre chemin, notre site est portant clair.
S.Buet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

I have stayed at the hotel with my wife many times now and in all seasons - into double figures now and I have also brought my parents here too when they were younger.

Another fantastic visit at the end of April - everything is just as it should be - staff, food, service and the hotel is unique in its position and decor - the dining room is astonishing and the lakeside restaurant is now operational for the summer. There cannot be a more perfect place to dine in Evian!

Please visit Les Cygnes - it is a unique experience and the only thing that ever upsets me is when it is time to leave.

thanks to you all again - Simon

Room Tip: I woke up with the window open, literally looking over Lac Leman - astonishing - any closer I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dicksimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebbuet, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Cygnes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

You are so kind !
Thank you and see you soon.
Best regards.
Sébastien.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evian-les-Bains hotels
1.0 km away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
1,742 reviews
2.8 km away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
535 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel de la Verniaz et ses Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
#2 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
816 reviews
1.3 km away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#8 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
91 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel le Panorama
Hotel le Panorama
#13 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Cygnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Cygnes

Address: 8 avenue de Grande Rive, 74500, Evian-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Evian-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Evian-les-Bains
Price Range: $134 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Cygnes 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the Hotel Les Cygnes has preserved the authentic charm of the "Roaring Twenties". Ideally situated on the Leman lakeside and with its Logis de France " trois cheminees" rating, the hotel guarantees you a complete change of scene and a unique view of Switzerland and the Juras. Discover the history of the Hotel les Cygnes in Evian... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Les Cygnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing