We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin, but nothing more.”
Review of Dock Ouest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dock Ouest
Ranked #7 of 58 Lyon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

My brother and I were forced in to finding accommodation at 5am when our Airbnb decided to cancel on us, upon our arrival to Lyon!

Looking on all the websites, this hotel was the only one with a room available for 2 nights.

As we were in central Lyon, it cost us €39 in a taxi to get to, showing us just how far from the centre of town this hotel was....

Upon arriving, the gentleman at the front desk was not that great at English and my French is non existent, so it took over an hour, yes AN HOUR, to check the two of us in to our room.

Furthermore, we were charged €280 for 2 nights for one room. As check out is 12pm and we did not enter our room until 8am I did feel that charging a whole night at €140 was a little cheeky, but we were jet lagged so wanted to rest and paid it all.

The rooms were sufficient and did the job we needed. However, the hotel could do with some changes. Example: the balcony for the suites is one loooong balcony, servicing all rooms. Definitely a security issue?

No basic fundementals such as iron etc... which is a blow. And the hot water seemed to run out for an hour, which did not help as we were in a rush to leave the next morning.

Location wise, not great. Although when we surfaced in the morning, we found our way to a subway station 20 mins walk away which took 15 minutes to Lyon Part Dieu Station and cost €2. Cheaper option to taxi!!

All in all, a smart looking hotel (from the inside) with nice interiors and beds, lacking location, and the little added extras that make a stay all the more pleasing.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OuestExpress, Manager at Dock Ouest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Hi James K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Dock Ouest. Your comments are very important to us and will help us improve ourselves. I hope we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you again and to provide you with complete satisfaction.

Sincerely

The DockOuest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

This hotel is actually in Vaise, and is not really a central Lyon hotel, so you need a cab or the metro to get into town. Vieux Lyon is a five minute car journey from your car hotel and is really worth visiting at the weekend for the flower and food market.

The hotel itself is small and well run with very clean, modern rooms, which have really comfortable beds and pillows. This hotel is aimed at overnight business travel, but actually is perfect for a weekend trip to Lyon, if you don't mind the distance from the centre. The staff are really helpful and polite. I would recommend this hotel for weekend family visits, and for business also.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OuestExpress, Gérant at Dock Ouest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Hi Ian J,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with Dock Ouest! I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely

The DockOuest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We booked this hotel to attend the 2015 light show in December, we paid an event weekend price for the 2 rooms, which was around 3 times the usual price, we were unaware that the light show had been cancelled and received no communication from the hotel to advise, Dock Ouest made no reduction in the price we paid even though the event did not take place, we were offered a free breakfast! - Very expensive breakfast, I have communicated with the hotel over the last month in an attempt to obtain a reduction for the light show weekend in 2016 based on us paying well over the odds for a 2015 , when the event did not take place , without success. Furthermore we have stayed in apart hotels before, the rooms at dock Ouest are small, there is no where to sit and eat and you are asked to pay an additional 20 euros per night for the use of cups, plates etc a tiny hot plate and microwave.

Room Tip: We asked for a room that did not connect with another room which we did not get but fortunately our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for the easter weekend. The hotel is not in the centre of the city but the metro in Vaise is only about 10 mins. walk although if you are coming back late in the evening, it can be pretty quiet. There is also (31 or 13) bus which stops at the quayside , a few metres from Boccusse's brasserie. The hotel is just behind the restaurant. Again it is dark and deserted late evening. Otherwise, the room we had was very spacious, clean and quite comfortable.There is a kitchenette but they charge extra to use the hob and microwave. Unless , you want to do a lot of cooking (there is already free kettle with tea/coffee), you don't need it.The old town is 3metro stops from Vaise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The design of the hotel is mostly delightful. It has a modern Eco friendly feel, sleek with clean lines. It is located on a small quaint street in a business enclave with a lovely small park across the street. For all the hot water, and small deck and large sink and lights that come on as you step off the elevator it is missing something real. There is no grounded and real hospitality. There is no one willing to step forth and say, I care about your experience in my hotel, yes, MY hotel. Oddly engineered lights on the bedside tables are nearly too dim to read by and the lamps cannot be moved. There are no washcloths available. No paper towels or cloths specifically for the stove/sink area. The utensils were set in such a way, as were the dishes, that they virtually tumbled out of the overhead closet, nearly toppling onto our heads. The lovely design erred when it put a towel heater inches from the toilet. Imagine sitting down sideways so that your legs don't press against it. How weird. We came in today from a long day about town, to find the floor unswept, the bathroom sink dirty, a wet towel we left in the shower for the staff to collect (per instructions), a tiny amount of towel paper left, and the kitchen area dishes untouched. I don't know what to make of this. For a place that advertises great service and long stay options, I am surprised. The bed is comfortable and I like the location. When I went to the front desk in the evening, the woman staffer was ashamed that the basic services were lacking in HER hotel. Perhaps she should be the manager! Oh and did I say the vents were dusty and the wall above it blackened. A sad state of affairs. Perhaps Bocuse should learn to manage the paces he owns instead of continuing to expand.

Room Tip: top floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigbubba123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Golden Tulip Lyon Eurexpo
#1 of 10 in Saint-Priest
775 reviews
Hotel Lyon-ouest
#20 of 194 in Lyon
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
LE GOURGUILLON
LE GOURGUILLON
#3 of 58 in Lyon
333 reviews
MiHotel
#13 of 58 in Lyon
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock Ouest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock Ouest

Address: 39 rue des Docks, 69009, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Lyon
Price Range: $100 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dock Ouest 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between les Monts d'or and Lyon's centre, the Dock Ouest Hotel is a perfect place to stay. Whether you're travelling for business or pleasure, you can relax in this refined and modern hotel. With quality rooms and suites, personal service and all the comforts of a modern establishment, Dock Ouest provides a sense of well-being right on Lyon's doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dock Ouest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing