We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown, hot and smells”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis St Etienne Nord-Terrasse
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Saint-Etienne
Reviewed 19 June 2016

I don't write too many reviews on Tripadvisor considering the amount of travel i do, but sometimes I feel compelled to either encourage or, in this case warn fellow travellers about the standard of accomodation or experiences I receive.
Before I go on, this hotel was paid for by my company and the day we checked in the rate was advertised at E157 (Euro) a night but I can only assume the company never paid anything like that as it was peak period (Euro 2016 Football).

The hotel is situated well outside of St Etienne, above a major highway, right next to a regular tramway, close to a rail way and at a busy intersection so the transport noise is loud. Luckily the rooms seem to have double glazed windows, so when closed, there was little noise, but after several attempts to get the in room air conditioning working (as the rooms gets very stuffy), I visited reception and was told it doesn't work in the entire hotel !
So with windows open, the traffic noise is just ridiculous and I couldn't sleep.

The place stinks too. Its a combination of stale cigarettes and damp. Every time we returned from being out we were greeted with the pungent odour which in the mornings was camouflaged by the room cleaning ladies with deodoriser .... I'm not sure which was worse !

The rooms were tiny. The bed was so small I had to lay side ways to fit in, I'm not that tall (6ft1) luckily I was on my own. Tiny bathroom dating back from 1980 with 1 x very thin towel and no toiletries just a bottle of squeeze hand wash attached to the wall ......remember E157 a night !!!! No bar fridge, no water bottle, no cups ....nothing.

We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant on the first night, my meal came out 20 minutes before my colleague and i'd finished mine by the time he was served..... no apology.....not even recognition that it was so late ! Very average lasagne for the price.

We discovered on the Sunday night that the hotel restaurant was closed and there were very few options for food within a walk apart from a cool little takeaway Pizza place across the road. We had to negotiate with the front reception to bring a pizza in to the hotel outside eating area (which was empty) and on condition we bought drinks we were aloud to eat our pizza this once ! .....wow thanks for stretching the rules !

We were supposed to be returning to this hotel about 4 - 5 different times for stays of up to 4 nights during the stay in France as we were working on Euro 2016 but 3 nights was all we could take and informed our office to cancel the remainder of the bookings and we have moved to a much nicer hotel.

I don't have a problem with Ibis and I have stayed in many before, but I have never seen such a run down place that smells so bad. If anyone from Ibis should read this, this hotel is doing your brand some serious damage !

The reception staff were generally friendly to us but its hard to be happy when the accomodation is so poor !

Room Tip: Just try and avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennyt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2016

Very nice staff, both friendly and helpful. Very clean throughout hotel.

Super breakfast, variety, quality and plentiful. Coffee and fruit given also for our journey.

Dinner on the other hand was thrown onto the plates (no presentation whatsoever). Poor quality, had salad with runny goats cheese on bread, either rock hard or rubbery. Chips were cold and certainly not freshly cooked. Certainly not Master Chef standards or anywhere near. Hotel let down badly with evening meal.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Retiredandfit1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

We took forever and got lost more than once in Saint Etienne. Finally found it and we were happy to get a good parking spot on site and an open restaurant. Food was OK, we were exhausted and didn't walk around in what looked like a sketchy area. But the room itself, although very small, was clean and the bathroom was modern. We were only there one night and it was very inexpensive and good value for the money. Now we know where it is, so we could stay there again enroute to the south of France.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters, I would think all rooms are similar in size and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BettyBoopWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2015

As I travel by public transport my usual practice is to stay somewhere that is close to a city's main railway station. However my stay in St Etienne coincided with a national junior athletics campionship so I had to stay at this hotl on the northern edge of town. However, La Terrasse is a majr local transport interchange with regular trams, buses and some local trains quite close to the hotel giving good and reasonably priced access to the city centre. Having travelled all day, i ate in the hotel restaurant on my first evening which was satisfactory as was the breakfast. For the rest the hotel features were as expected of an Ibis hotel including clean functional rooms with a good bed. The air conditioning was effective (important as the daytime temperature was over 30 durin my stay. I would also specifically mention that the sound insulation was very good despite my room overlooking a motorway, main roads and a tram line. I found the staff both friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank railtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Etienne hotels
0.8 km away
Campanile Saint Etienne Centre - Villars
2.2 km away
Ibis Budget Saint Etienne
Ibis Budget Saint Etienne
#5 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
281 reviews
6.1 km away
Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Ibis St Etienne Gare TGV
Ibis St Etienne Gare TGV
#15 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
252 reviews
3.6 km away
Kyriad Saint Etienne Centre
Kyriad Saint Etienne Centre
#3 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
227 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#18 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis St Etienne Nord-Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis St Etienne Nord-Terrasse

Address: 35 Place Massenet, 42000, Saint-Etienne, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Loire > Saint-Etienne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Saint-Etienne
Price Range: $89 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis St Etienne Nord-Terrasse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis ST Etienne Nord-Terrasse hotel is on the northern fringe of Saint Etienne, 20 km from the airport, close to Mont Pilat, the gorges of the Loire, St Galmier and lake Grangent. 500 m from the Modern Art Museum, the hotel offers for booking 85 rooms with Wifi connection, including 2 for disabled guests. You can book 5 meeting rooms (250 persons). A restaurant, a bar, snacks 24/24 and closed pay parking are at your disposal. A golf course is just 3 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis St Etienne Nord-Terrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing