We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Saint-Etienne
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Really nice, clean place with decent bed linen and good sized rooms. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was really good. Great location too, for easy access to the motorway. We went for the football and it worked out well for us.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

The hotel hasn't justified our expectations. Unfortunately when we have arrived us the negative surprise expected. The manager of hotel has told that we have reserved 2 numbers when actually one, and that we need to pay for 2 numbers. Us tried to deceive! Very unpleasant sensations. Rooms old, are broken, ceilings crackled, numbers smoked (Thank God that we there only were 1 night! More never I will arrive to this hotel and to you I do not advise!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martaGondyras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I stayed here for two nights and although I had my doubts when the taxi pulled up, it turned out to be a reasonable stay.

The Good :
The room - clean, simple, reasonable size, comfortable bed, great bathroom, free internet.
The Bad :
The breakfast was basic (but not bad) the lobby, bar a corridor are tired and in need of a make-over. The location is too far away to the town centre, and 10 euros in a cab each way. The location suited me for work, but no resturant in hotel, and without a car you could have a problem finding somewhere local to eat unless your happy with "Quick" the French take on McDonalds. No curtains in the room, as external electric shutter.
The Ugly :
The loo in the room was seperate to the bathroom and was fitted into a cupboard. With your back to the cistern, your knees touched the wall.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Stayed here one night only. The single room on the third floor was of decent size, and clean. The breakfast was decent and included in the price (69 Euros per night all in).
It was nice and quiet, as the room faced the rear.
The staff were pleasant and helpful (directed me to town - five minutes walk to a bus stop, then a short ride on bus 6 to town).
I had to check out late at 7pm and had to pay for another night as the normal check out time is 11am.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank uprightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

Stayed here with a group of mate for the Scotland v. Italy Rugby World Cup match. It's further south in town, about 5-10 minutes from the action.

The hotel has a bit of breakfast buffet, but it's more continental and not highly recommended. The rooms are clean, as are the showers. But, for 70 pounds per night for 2 beds it seemed a bit high given its location. The price was probably higher because of the Rugby world cup, but it still didn't represent value for money.

All in all, it was a place to crash. 3 stars? Maybe 1 star. We'd recommend a spot closer into the centre of St. Etienne - a wonderful and fun town that was extremely welcoming to a group of mates wearing kilts.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pjatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Etienne hotels
2.4 km away
Kyriad Saint Etienne Centre
Kyriad Saint Etienne Centre
#3 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
220 reviews
2.2 km away
City Lofthotel Saint-Etienne
City Lofthotel Saint-Etienne
#6 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
160 reviews
0.6 km away
Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Campanile Saint Etienne Centre - Villars
2.7 km away
Furania Hotel
Furania Hotel
#11 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
79 reviews
4 km away
Ibis Budget Saint Etienne
Ibis Budget Saint Etienne
#5 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: rue Henri Dechaud, 42100, Saint-Etienne, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Loire > Saint-Etienne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Saint-Etienne
Price Range: $104 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the motorway, 2 mn from the bus line n ° 18, in a quiet park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing