We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$52
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le National(Saint-Etienne)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
B&B Hotel Saint-Etienne Monthieu(Saint-Etienne)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
US$50
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Continental(Saint-Etienne)(Great Value!)
US$65
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
8
24
12
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
24
12
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The hotel hasn't justified our expectations. Unfortunately when we have arrived us the negative surprise expected. The manager of hotel has told that we have reserved 2 numbers when actually one, and that we need to pay for 2 numbers. Us tried to deceive! Very unpleasant sensations. Rooms old, are broken, ceilings crackled, numbers smoked (Thank God that we there only were 1 night! More never I will arrive to this hotel and to you I do not advise!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martaGondyras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I stayed here for two nights and although I had my doubts when the taxi pulled up, it turned out to be a reasonable stay.

The Good :
The room - clean, simple, reasonable size, comfortable bed, great bathroom, free internet.
The Bad :
The breakfast was basic (but not bad) the lobby, bar a corridor are tired and in need of a make-over. The location is too far away to the town centre, and 10 euros in a cab each way. The location suited me for work, but no resturant in hotel, and without a car you could have a problem finding somewhere local to eat unless your happy with "Quick" the French take on McDonalds. No curtains in the room, as external electric shutter.
The Ugly :
The loo in the room was seperate to the bathroom and was fitted into a cupboard. With your back to the cistern, your knees touched the wall.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Stayed here one night only. The single room on the third floor was of decent size, and clean. The breakfast was decent and included in the price (69 Euros per night all in).
It was nice and quiet, as the room faced the rear.
The staff were pleasant and helpful (directed me to town - five minutes walk to a bus stop, then a short ride on bus 6 to town).
I had to check out late at 7pm and had to pay for another night as the normal check out time is 11am.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank uprightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

Stayed here with a group of mate for the Scotland v. Italy Rugby World Cup match. It's further south in town, about 5-10 minutes from the action.

The hotel has a bit of breakfast buffet, but it's more continental and not highly recommended. The rooms are clean, as are the showers. But, for 70 pounds per night for 2 beds it seemed a bit high given its location. The price was probably higher because of the Rugby world cup, but it still didn't represent value for money.

All in all, it was a place to crash. 3 stars? Maybe 1 star. We'd recommend a spot closer into the centre of St. Etienne - a wonderful and fun town that was extremely welcoming to a group of mates wearing kilts.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pjatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge Stéphane M, Propriétaire at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews