We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great little hotel - highly recommend”
Review of Hotel Ormelune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ormelune
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Firstly the location is perfect, so close to the slopes/lifts/ski school/town.
Room was great, booked the small twin so didn't expect too much but were very pleasantly surprised. Sauna, steam room and gym immaculately clean - a huge bonus!
Fantastic choice for breakfast everyday.
Staff were great - reception staff incredibly helpful with making reservations - nothing was too much trouble.
Fantastic trip - would also highly recommend Elaine's Elite Coaching for private ski lessons (look her up on Facebook - EEC Elaines Elite Coaching)

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 46epugs38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017

A beautiful hotel located in the center of Val d'Isère and near the slopes. The staff was helpful and friendly. Checking in was fast and smooth. The room has basic amenities and is big enough that can accommodate two people with their luggage.

The only problem in the room is the walls, and you can hear people talking from the other room. Also, there is a bar next to the hotel, and because we were staying on the first floor, we heard all the screaming and singing. I would recommend to stay at higher levels and not facing the street.

The hotel has a restaurant, Jacuzzi, and a small gym. They serve delicious food, and every night they have the dish of the day.
The breakfast is basic; it has cheese, eggs, milk, cornflakes or muesli, and bread with croissants.

In general, we had a pleasant stay, and we enjoyed Val d'Isère. This hotel is appropriate for couples and families.

Room Tip: Stay at higher level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gaby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Booked this last minute; was very pleasantly surprised! Great value in terms of VdI hotels; extremely attentive, friendly service, great location very close to lifts, lively village. Bonus feature: They offer luggage storage with very clean, nice showers so you can check out, ski your last day, then shower, change and collect your luggage before hitting the road. Small detail but really made the end of our trip as great as the beginning. Thanks very much to all the staff there who obviously take a lot of pride in their jobs & their hotel. We will definitely recommend the Ormelune to others, and hope to return on our next trip. Great job!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC_VT_FOODIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Having only booked at the last minute and being Val regulars we were somewhat nervous about staying here despite the good reviews. Our nerves disappeared immediately upon check in which was efficient and friendly. Again, like another reviewer dont be put off my the exterior of the hotel but just be wowed by the location, with enough snow, you can ski to the door here. The rooms facing the piste are large comfortable and very clean with fabulous views, balconies and large bathrooms. Not many hotels in Val will include breakfast, and there is only one small criticism here, the coffee is poor. We dined in the hotel on two nights and the food and service was excellent. From the Hotel Manager to the bell boy all staff are ready to help. You can buy your lift pass at the front desk and they will also help with dinner reservations outside of the property. Great value for money would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I choose the Ormelune as I had been impressed on previous visits.
Having booked through a booking agency I was very pleasantly surprised to receive a lovely room with a nice bath with shower over [as special request] and not shower as booked and paid for.
I know Val d Isere very well and the location could not be more convenient for everything. This is a really important plus about this hotel compared with others.
The staff were all extremely efficient and friendly.
Breakfast starts at 0700 which is ideal if you want to be away early.
I had a really excellent stay and could find no fault with anything.
Very well done to all staff and the hotel management.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear away from street will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UnitedKingdomJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
463 reviews
1.8 km away
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
#23 of 39 in Val d'Isere
130 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel la Savoyarde
Hotel la Savoyarde
#16 of 39 in Val d'Isere
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#5 of 39 in Val d'Isere
226 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#14 of 39 in Val d'Isere
180 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Avancher
Hotel Avancher
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ormelune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ormelune

Address: rue Noel Machet | Bp 45, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Price Range: S$330 - S$913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ormelune 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself with us here at 1850 metres, in the resort of Val d’Isère, at the heart of the Espace Killy, the most exceptional ski area of the Savoie’s Northern Alpes. From its central location the Ormelune looks out to the North over the convivial village centre with its cheerful boutiques, bars and restaurants and on the southern side gazes out towards the Face de Bellevarde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ormelune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing