We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Avancher(Val d'Isere)(Great Value!)
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Altitude(Val d'Isere)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bellier(Val d'Isere)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Les 5 Freres(Val d'Isere)(Great Value!)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chalet Hotel du Fornet(Val d'Isere)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel la Savoyarde(Val d'Isere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Lo Toumel(Val d'Isere)
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
108
34
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
34
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationterrific valueslopes liftsfamily roomsauna and steam roomyour luggagestaff were excellentcomfortable roomsbunk bedsbars and restaurantscentre of townski hotellovely hotelshort walkski schoolski tripboot room
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

There's nothing wrong with old fashioned, particularly if it's well maintained and looks of its period, which this hotel does apart from my bedroom and landing which had a rather worn feel to them (308).
The breakfast was average, the receptionists always courteous and helpful.
The location is central and very close to ski lifts, shops and restaurants.
I left feeling that although this is a good place to stay, it's nothing to write home about either.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Our stay here was quite a mixed experience. The staff were excellent , perhaps apart from the lady who seems to own the hotel who seems a little surly. The hotel is In an ideal location and you can almost ski to the front door. The building looks shabby from outside but it is modern and light inside. We stayed in a family room and the children loved their bunk beds.. the meals we had in the restaurant were very good and the breakfast was ok. The pastries for breakfast were undercooked and the other options were a little limited.
Now the bad points and the reason this isn't a five star review . Right next to the hotel is the entrance to a "bargain booze" pub and also a hostel style hotel. This meant that at midnight to 4am you will heard people screaming / laughing / crying / fighting .... all very loudly .. literally feet from your north facing room. We were sat by the front door one night and we saw a young man have a quick wee right outside the front door ... LOVELY !

So I wouldn't go back to this hotel ... I feel sad the only negatives are due to the venues next door!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank familyinleedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrineraymond, Directeur général at Hotel Ormelune, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Madam

We thank you for your comment
As you say on the title fantastic location
We are very lucky to be very well located just in the center of the village and at a few meters from the slopes
We are in the center of the village and some time young people coming out from disco are walking early in the morning making noise .
The pastries for the breakfast are coming from Mr Chevalot bakery house ("Meilleur ouvrier de france")
We are happy to inform you that we are starting a huge renovation program the 2 Of May
-new floor added with 10 rooms and suite
-an enlarged basement area
-a totally rewamped facade
- a new ground floor design

Best regards from Val 'Isere




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located right in the centre next to the slopes, with a reasonable view of le face. It has a great breakfast in the morning between 7-10. The rooms are spacious but not flash. Good bathroom. No mini bar which is a good thing!!! Tv basic channels. Nice balcony with view. Nice gym sauna and steam room. Also great masseur. Recommend not too expensive.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Firstly the location is perfect, so close to the slopes/lifts/ski school/town.
Room was great, booked the small twin so didn't expect too much but were very pleasantly surprised. Sauna, steam room and gym immaculately clean - a huge bonus!
Fantastic choice for breakfast everyday.
Staff were great - reception staff incredibly helpful with making reservations - nothing was too much trouble.
Fantastic trip - would also highly recommend Elaine's Elite Coaching for private ski lessons (look her up on Facebook - EEC Elaines Elite Coaching)

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 46epugs38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

A beautiful hotel located in the center of Val d'Isère and near the slopes. The staff was helpful and friendly. Checking in was fast and smooth. The room has basic amenities and is big enough that can accommodate two people with their luggage.

The only problem in the room is the walls, and you can hear people talking from the other room. Also, there is a bar next to the hotel, and because we were staying on the first floor, we heard all the screaming and singing. I would recommend to stay at higher levels and not facing the street.

The hotel has a restaurant, Jacuzzi, and a small gym. They serve delicious food, and every night they have the dish of the day.
The breakfast is basic; it has cheese, eggs, milk, cornflakes or muesli, and bread with croissants.

In general, we had a pleasant stay, and we enjoyed Val d'Isère. This hotel is appropriate for couples and families.

Room Tip: Stay at higher level floor
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gaby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews