We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”

La Taverne d'Alsace
Ranked #13 of 106 Restaurants in Val d'Isere
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Atmospheric large space in centre of town serving Alsacien specialties. Good portions, reasonably priced, attentive service. Part of the Val tradition to eat here at least once

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2018

This restaurant was first recommended to me by a Frenchman who has owned a place in Val D'Isere for over 40 years. I hadn't really noticed it before as it has a rather unobtrusive entrance on the rue principale underneath the Hotel Kandahar. The restaurant is in the basement so is very much an evening place. As soon as you walk down the wide staircase, the buzz and bubble of happy conversation over good food rise to meet you. The restaurant is large but feels cosy with wood panels, atmospheric lighting and a large bar in the centre of the room, dividing the space into more intimate areas. It feels like a place of intrigue, drama and high jinks, full of secrets and good times past.
During my extended stay in Val this year, I visited La Taverne three times for dinner (once for my birthday). It was always busy, buzzy and brilliant. The food is delicious and hearty. There is an Alsatian influence in choucroute and sausages but if, like me, you prefer to avoid this, the rest of the menu is extensive and delicious. The best veal escalope with creamy mushroom sauce in town. The marinated salmon starter is fresh and tasty. Snails are always good - and smothered in lovely garlic butter. Steak tartare is excellent. Service is friendly and efficient and the lovely owner Isabelle is very happy to chat about the food. She is ably assisted by the dashing maitre d', who charmingly holds the whole place together in a laid-back, Gallic fashion. There are no fancy tricks to the food or the decor - just a wonderfully warm, well-executed and satisfying restaurant. Merci Jean-Pierre!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clodagh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

We had a booking In another restaurent - but we didn’t appreciate the atmosphere there and were lucky to get a narrow table at the bar in la taverne d’alsace. Despite this humble setting we had the best experience. Super food - waiters and barman doing a great job and a really good atmosphere. The layouty of the restaurant is very good with separate corners and levels that make you feel part of a group yet still offers some privacy . Best place for us for many years (25) in Val-d’Isère . We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank hawdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately we had to leave La Taverne mid way through ordering. We had two vegans in our party, they refused to provide any food for them. We politely asked our waitress to ask the chef If any vegan food could be provided and she refused. We then spoke to the manager who was equally as rude. They hinted at vegan food not being available to most items being ore prepared.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank JimJones92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Service and quality absolutely excellent. Godo food choice and pnety of wine to choose from... Tres Bien!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Lanterns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverne d'Alsace also viewed

Val d'Isere, Savoie
Val d'Isere, Savoie
 

Been to La Taverne d'Alsace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing