We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious plates, large choices, dedicated vegan and lactose-free menu, super friendly personnel”
Review of Kartoffelhaus

Kartoffelhaus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Kartoffelhaus celebrates the fabulous tuber in various ways and with great dedication. Our menu offers home-made dishes like mother cooked them, but also interprets potato dishes in a fresh and daringly new way with fresh vegetables and herbs, several sorts of cheese, delicious local fish and meat of high quality. In addition you can find vintage types of potatoes and vegetables used in yummy dishes on our menu. We also offer a vegan menu and separate menus of gluten and lactose-free dishes.
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

A large choice of delicious variations around potatoes but also pasta and other original options.

Really recommended!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Pietro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We visited the katoffelhaus with high hopes based on numerous good reviews, we have no idea why!
It was a very hot night and there was no outside seating. We were then seated as the sole occupants on the inside area.
I used to live in Germany and can speak fairly good German. I had spent the last week speaking German in restaurants and hotels with no problem. A male waiter came over and asked if we wanted the English menu. However we didn’t quite hear him, so I asked in German to repeat. Then he snapped back “do you want the English menu, you just have to say yes or no!” We were shocked and stunned into absolute silence. He left the menus and walked away repeating “just say yes or no!”. I don’t know what we did to offend him.
We were then served by a different waitress who took our order of lamb gratin and wine with no problem.
The salad was fine, if not a bit over dressed, there was a lot of vingegar. The lamb gratin was quite odd. It came decorated like a birthday cake. It tasted fine, but was no way worth the price.
This whole time I could see the rude waiter rolling his eyes at us, which really ruined the meal.
He came over to give us the bill but was very curt and clearly annoyed that we had picked up on his rudeness.
We weren’t comfortable in the restaurant and must have been in and out of there in under 40mins.
We would not recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Eduggz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

The dinner was not that heavy and it was great! I had cauliflower soup, trout and Black Forrest tiramisu. All were yummy and worth a visit to this restaurant. Also, the male waiter there was very smart and he could mingle with us wittily.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank BatesLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettina M, Inhaber at Kartoffelhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

thanks a lot :):):)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

This restaurant is easy to find, across from a parking lot. We went on a Sunday for lunch. I enjoyed the potato pancakes with cream cheese. My husband chose potato gratin. Both were good, though the prices quite high for such a simple meal.
The restaurant is suitable for families with young children. The staff was attentive.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettina M, Inhaber at Kartoffelhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

thanks a lot for your great rating :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

We dropped in for a midweek lunch. The decor is a bit haphazard, but service was excellent - friendly and efficient. We ate delicious tomato and ginger soup, followed by sweet potato rissoles with ricotta and a tasty sauce - really good! With two beers and two coffees we spent just Euro 28; real value for money!

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank TonySwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettina M, Inhaber at Kartoffelhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

thanks a lot!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kartoffelhaus also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Kartoffelhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing