We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Oberkirch(Freiburg im Breisgau)
US$160
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$157
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Freiburg(Freiburg im Breisgau)
US$120
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hirschengarten Hotel(Freiburg im Breisgau)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Alex Hotel(Freiburg im Breisgau)
US$118
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Schloss Reinach(Freiburg im Breisgau)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$152
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradies(Freiburg im Breisgau)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
8
29
43
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
29
43
20
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Room for a Single is huge but quite expensive. Breakfast was a standard European spread. Had a good nights rest. Quite good for a nights stay. Free Wifi works fine in the room. Location is good. Next to Schlossberg, very near to old town and 20 minutes away from the train station.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuningsub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

I'm very sorry for this comment, but many things in this hotel don't work. Positive things: the position (not so far from the centre of Friburg), personnel at the reception, no problem with the bathroom, view from the balcony (where is positioned an old little table and three good chairs).
Not positive: NO FRIGO in the room, no hair drier in the bath room, cob web at the entrance, bad smell at the entrance, only three parking car to reserve, no air conditioning, room needs a painting......

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank vincze76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The hotel is not bad, for one stay it's ok. However, with the price over 100 eur/night (double bedroom) it is a big too expensive. It is not that central, the room was big, but not very comfortable, just wooden floor, a very few TV channels, no hair dryer available. For half the price it would be ok, but not for more than 100.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
1  Thank Katarina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I was with a group of writers and we spent 3 extremely hot weeks at the Hotel Schiller in August.

I'll start with the Pros of the hotel. It's conveniently located. Did I make Pros plural? My mistake; the location was the only positive quality of this property.

By the time we left our group was coming up with 'positives' like with the Stockholm Syndrome where one begins to identify with the "captors" (in our case the Hotel Schiller). For instance:

1. The Schiller encourages social activity. All the hotel guest became well-acquainted as we gathered daily around the one lobby chair that had Internet reception. Laptops were placed on the back, arms and under the chair, and we were contorted around the chair, so we could each try to check in with our family and employers.

2. The Schiller encourages bonding. Guests became united in disgust with the hotel manager who, despite the restaurant being empty all day except at breakfast, would not allow anyone to sit inside the restaurant to use the advertised Internet (which did not exist in the hotel rooms.)

3. The Schiller encouraged bravery. Steep, winding, stone stairs and hallways where the lights were off every evening. There were automatic lights but they would not come on until the guest was 7 or 8 steps into the stairwell. Same with the public bathroom - down a small flight of stairs (in the dark) and into a dark bathroom where the lights would usually come on by the time the door closed behind me and I couldn't find my way out.

4. The Schiller promoted local merchants. Hotel did not provide shampoo, soap, wash cloths or any type of toiletry. To get a cup of ice required repeated begging. Luckily across the street is a lovely friendly cafe where we could purchase soda, water, etc. and there was a market 5 or 6 blocks away to purchase soap, etc. If you find it necessary to have wash cloths I suggest you bring some from home as at the local markets I ended up purchasing cloth diapers for washing my face.

5. The Hotel Schiller promoted self-sufficiency. The room was 'cleaned' usually once every day or so but that merely meant bringing in new towels (sometimes) and occasionally emptying the trash cans. Dirty glasses were never exchanged for clean glasses, used dishes were not taken, the floor was not swept, and, in protest, I stripped my own bed a couple of times in order to have clean sheets put on. Luckily the bath towels were paper thin and quick to dry since they often had to be reused for several days.

The term Stockholm Syndrome is also fitting because for 3 weeks we had VERY little sleep. The hotel is on a busy highway with trucks rumbling by at all hours and it was so very hot that closing the windows was not an option.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel for a good room :) If you must stay here get a room away from the street.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

This hotel doesn't really need much to make it something special. A lick of paint and some carpets would make a huge difference. As it was, it is just somewhere to sleep, albeit in a great location near the city centre. That said, the reception staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast in the lovely restaurant is worth the extra euros.

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews