We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit to this great town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Schiller Freiburg
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Had stayed here twice before so we knew the hotel but this time discovered the garage for our motorcycles which was a nice bonus!
Great location and a spacious room for four men with motorbike gear!
Friendly staff and good breakfast, one of our group is returning with his wife and we all hope to stay there again this year.
Danke

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Yettoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2016

Room for a Single is huge but quite expensive. Breakfast was a standard European spread. Had a good nights rest. Quite good for a nights stay. Free Wifi works fine in the room. Location is good. Next to Schlossberg, very near to old town and 20 minutes away from the train station.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuningsub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

I'm very sorry for this comment, but many things in this hotel don't work. Positive things: the position (not so far from the centre of Friburg), personnel at the reception, no problem with the bathroom, view from the balcony (where is positioned an old little table and three good chairs).
Not positive: NO FRIGO in the room, no hair drier in the bath room, cob web at the entrance, bad smell at the entrance, only three parking car to reserve, no air conditioning, room needs a painting......

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank vincze76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The hotel is not bad, for one stay it's ok. However, with the price over 100 eur/night (double bedroom) it is a big too expensive. It is not that central, the room was big, but not very comfortable, just wooden floor, a very few TV channels, no hair dryer available. For half the price it would be ok, but not for more than 100.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
1  Thank Katarina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I was with a group of writers and we spent 3 extremely hot weeks at the Hotel Schiller in August.

I'll start with the Pros of the hotel. It's conveniently located. Did I make Pros plural? My mistake; the location was the only positive quality of this property.

By the time we left our group was coming up with 'positives' like with the Stockholm Syndrome where one begins to identify with the "captors" (in our case the Hotel Schiller). For instance:

1. The Schiller encourages social activity. All the hotel guest became well-acquainted as we gathered daily around the one lobby chair that had Internet reception. Laptops were placed on the back, arms and under the chair, and we were contorted around the chair, so we could each try to check in with our family and employers.

2. The Schiller encourages bonding. Guests became united in disgust with the hotel manager who, despite the restaurant being empty all day except at breakfast, would not allow anyone to sit inside the restaurant to use the advertised Internet (which did not exist in the hotel rooms.)

3. The Schiller encouraged bravery. Steep, winding, stone stairs and hallways where the lights were off every evening. There were automatic lights but they would not come on until the guest was 7 or 8 steps into the stairwell. Same with the public bathroom - down a small flight of stairs (in the dark) and into a dark bathroom where the lights would usually come on by the time the door closed behind me and I couldn't find my way out.

4. The Schiller promoted local merchants. Hotel did not provide shampoo, soap, wash cloths or any type of toiletry. To get a cup of ice required repeated begging. Luckily across the street is a lovely friendly cafe where we could purchase soda, water, etc. and there was a market 5 or 6 blocks away to purchase soap, etc. If you find it necessary to have wash cloths I suggest you bring some from home as at the local markets I ended up purchasing cloth diapers for washing my face.

5. The Hotel Schiller promoted self-sufficiency. The room was 'cleaned' usually once every day or so but that merely meant bringing in new towels (sometimes) and occasionally emptying the trash cans. Dirty glasses were never exchanged for clean glasses, used dishes were not taken, the floor was not swept, and, in protest, I stripped my own bed a couple of times in order to have clean sheets put on. Luckily the bath towels were paper thin and quick to dry since they often had to be reused for several days.

The term Stockholm Syndrome is also fitting because for 3 weeks we had VERY little sleep. The hotel is on a busy highway with trucks rumbling by at all hours and it was so very hot that closing the windows was not an option.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel for a good room :) If you must stay here get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
4.5 km away
Hotel Classic
Hotel Classic
#29 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
86 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel Loewen
Hotel Loewen
#48 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
75 reviews
1 km away
Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts
Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hote...
#37 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#5 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
968 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Zum Roten Baeren
Hotel Zum Roten Baeren
#42 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
115 reviews
0.9 km away
City Hotel Freiburg
City Hotel Freiburg
#12 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schiller Freiburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schiller Freiburg

Address: Hildastrasse 4, 79102 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 56 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: $121 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schiller Freiburg 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Schiller Freiburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Schiller Freiburg Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing