We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
115
122
24
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
122
24
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low beams great location old town town square floor overlooking christmas market vanilla slice top floor windows open at night holy spirit the staff was friendly and helpful hotel restaurant good size large bathroom heidelberg castle public garage bed and pillows
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed overnight w family member and enjoyed the central location in the Old Town section and the olden time charm of the hotel. Nice fresh room; paid for the view overlooking the town square by being woken up at dawn by noisy street sweeping machines. My breakfast experience was marred by the prickly wait staff and it seemed like every check in and checkout (except ours) trigged some altercation with staff irritated and upset with the guests. Charming facility but will seek more hospitable management on future Heidelberg visit.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hallonorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

The good points: location is perfect, right on the square, and very close to the Heidelberg castle and bridge. The suite was wonderful for our family of 5, as there was a small couch for our youngest and a pull out that slept our other 2 children, as well as the double bed for my husband and I. The hotel restaurant downstairs was quite good, and breakfast in the morning was plentiful and delicious.

The bad points: (1) it is fairly confusing at check-in, as there is no front desk. You check in at the restaurant, and they asked our family to wait in a small, narrow hallway while my husband checked in, which wasn't the most welcoming feeling. Also, the person checking us in was clearly not happy that we had a 5th person in the room, although I had corresponded with the hotel prior to check-in that we would have a 5th person in our family, and we offered to pay extra for him. That added to the unwelcome feeling at the start. But when we got into the room it was ample space for 5, so I don't really understand the problem. (2) The bathroom had a foul odor, smelling of sewage, which didn't really go away. As long as we kept the bathroom door closed, it was tolerable in the room, and I also opened the window, and that made it somewhat better as well. But it is something that should be checked out for sure. (3) the suite is not well suited to those who can't manage stairs.

Our family is pretty easy going so the less positive points were not insurmountable issues to us, and we still did enjoy our stay. However, they are points to consider if you are looking to book the suite at the Hotel Goldener Falke.... particularly if you have sensitive smell, or are unable to manage stairs.

Room tip: The suite has plenty of space for 5 (2 adults/3 kids) and has an excellent view of the square on one side and the castle on the other.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Very quaint hotel with a variety of rooms. Only the 4th floor has air conditioning.
Our room with on the 4th floor and had to walk up from 3rd floor. Room was very cozy and clean with old wooden beams. The location is primo and very close to the castle.
The food was outstanding and the apple strudel was best we ever had.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hopinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We stayed one night at the Golden Falcon on 23 June and got to see the Germany victory over Sweden in the Workd Cup. The crowd in the Alt Stadt was very lively that night!

The rooms have a great view of the square and were a great value. Breakfast was wonderful. One of the best locations near the church and very convenient for the short walk up the stairs to the castle. Also lots of choices for dinner around the hotel.

Drop off your bags at the hotel and drive around the corner to park in P12. The hotel will validate your parking saving about 5 euros.

Definetly recommend!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Baddogmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. Hotel right in the square with a good restaurant. We were in room 42 overlooking the square with a very large bathroom. Bed and pillows were the most comfortable we had had on our 15 day tour of Europe. Would recommend hotel to all.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank rjpgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews