We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
20
15
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
15
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorspiral staircasecloset areatypical germanspent nightsbed was comfortabletrain stationtv
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2017

This was our 2nd stay. We spent 6 nights in room 12, which has a small balcony. It was quiet (especially with the shutters rolled down), and comfortable. The bed was comfortable, it has a desk, tv, & comfortable chair. Wifi worked great. Has a little closet area and typical German bathroom. Plenty of outlets and good lighting. Very nice breakfast area, breakfast is included. They will make eggs if you wish, otherwise normal international breakfast. Front desk has drinks you can purchase, and maps of the public transportation system for Mannheim. VERY helpful if you are not a resident. It is a small family run hotel, they have one person who speaks English well, the others not so well. Even with my poor German, we managed very well. They are very nice people. The location is excellent. It is a 5 minute walk, straight ahead, from the train station. Another 5 minutes will take you to the Wasserturm and the central shopping district. There are food choices and shopping choices everywhere. It does not have an elevator and the spiral staircase is moderately steep, but I am in my mid 50s and didn't have difficulty. The only thing it did not have that we would have liked is a little fridge, but that is not abnormal in Germany. Overall an excellent stay and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: if you are facing the street, close the shutters (rullidens?), they really block out noise & light.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dollarbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

The lady on reception was the owner and a lovely lady she was too. Very helpful and willing to spend time with us. Our room was on the second floor and with no lift it was a really hard slog for us to walk up with our cases. Sadly I would say this hotel would not be for disabled people. The car park was a few streets away too but we parked outside to unload cases and that was fine for a few minutes. The room was good with a large bathroom and step into bath with shower over it. We kept our heater on all night as it was cold outside and the room needed it. Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice and set in the dining room which was special. Location was good for the town and the Christmas market just down the road. A little noisy but then we were in the middle of a large city so to be expected and not over invasive anyway.

Room Tip: Book your car park space if required.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mummybearSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

A short walk from Mannheim station.
Under wraps for restoration when we were there so not easily spotted from the street
No lift so be prepared to carry your luggage up the steep stairs.
Comfy room
Wonderful breakfast with excellent fresh food and all sorts of family treasures around the walls and on the tables. Delightful.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

It is a family run hotel striving to assist you as much as they can. Perfect cleanliness, enough space in the room, almost gourmet breakfast in pleasant interiors. Close to main station, tram stop and to the parking garage.
No lift, so not recommended to those who are not fit. And pillows are big and stiff.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank koumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

As a tired traveler I was delighted to get to this small hotel, not far from the train station (ca. 8 min. on foot). From there it is also not far to the center of the city, so ideally located. Receptionist very friendly and efficient. They welcome all guests with free apples. Small lobby, and narrow stairways (no elevator), so this is a hotel for individual travelers. My room on the second floor was pleasantly arranged, nice furniture, good bed, fairly big bathroom with a shower. Free wifi works really well and is excellent, contrary to what other reviewers might have said. You just have to sign up with Cloud (10 seconds), and on you go. I arrived at ca. 1 p.m. at the hotel, yet the room was ready and available for me. Even though left again at 5:45 a.m. the next morning, they provided me with a small yet healthy breakfast bag. This is a place I will be happy to return to, family-run. A gem among hotels.

Room Tip: Room facing away from the main street.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albrecht C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews