We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
79
190
81
33
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
190
81
33
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationminutes walk from the marienplatzoutdoor marketrooms are smallcentral locationexploring munichchristmas marketwould stay here againbeer gardenthird floorloved this hotelshort staystayed here for nightsenglish gardensubway stationviktualienmarktluggage
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2015

We found the staff to be very friendly and had a good grasp of English. The room was what we expected to be and was quite quiet. It was an older building and was nice. The breakfast was enough and great :-)

Room Tip: Room we had was right at the back so it was quiet
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015 via mobile

The location of this hotel has you right in the heart of the historical centre of Munich. The Viktualienmarkt was right outside and the Marienplatz just 1 minute around the corner. The room was tiny and well aged. As soon as you enter your room there is only enough room for 1 person to walk around the bed. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been renovated since the 70s. It is a very good value room for its location. The staff were also very quiet and could also be more welcoming, would of eased our first impression of the room that we were about to walk into had they just opened up a bit.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

I stayed at the Platzl but stopped in to see if this lesser priced option would do another time. If you like the atmosphere of a cozy, quirky, old fashioned pension, that's the Am Market. It looks like a popular, clean, well run place where you can get some character and charm on a budget. Since it was totally full on a weekday in early March, I wasn't able to peek at any rooms. The lobby is just big enough to check in, no place for guests to sit, so you would use the attached restaurant. The location in Viktualmarket is can't be beat.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
2  Thank KingstonPike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Our third stay at this conveniently located hotel. Upgrades have improved this hotel. A new small elevator has been added. Our room was of adequate size but not fancy. The bathroom upgrades were a plus. The hotel is in the Viktualien market place and a short walk to Marien Platz, near public transportation. A separate run restaurant is now part of the same building. It offers breakfast for 12 euros. It is adequate. However, the dinners offered are very good. A good choice if you want to visit the historic city center and museums. Enjoy the beer gardens and restaurants in the Viktualien Markt.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Uberle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Perfect location right around the corner from Marien Platz with the Viktualien Markt right outside! The rooms are small and outdated but clean and well worth the price for the location. The front desk was very helpful and allowed us to keep all of our luggage behind the front desk the day we checked to until our train nearly 12 hours after checkout.

In this price range I wouldn't stay anywhere else while visiting Munich!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DrJay85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews