We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel in the heart of Munich”
Review of Hotel Am Markt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Am Markt
Ranked #191 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 9 April 2015

This stay in Munich was a two day break on a ski trip, with one of our family flying back to the States. The location was perfect, just off the Viktualienmarkt and right in the heart of Munich's busiest tourist locations. Just a few steps to the historic churches, the Rathaus, restaurants and shops. The quiet alley the hotel was on had some particularly attractive restaurants. Our room was small, but spotless. The desk staff spoke excellent English and was very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnscasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2015

We found the staff to be very friendly and had a good grasp of English. The room was what we expected to be and was quite quiet. It was an older building and was nice. The breakfast was enough and great :-)

Room Tip: Room we had was right at the back so it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015 via mobile

The location of this hotel has you right in the heart of the historical centre of Munich. The Viktualienmarkt was right outside and the Marienplatz just 1 minute around the corner. The room was tiny and well aged. As soon as you enter your room there is only enough room for 1 person to walk around the bed. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been renovated since the 70s. It is a very good value room for its location. The staff were also very quiet and could also be more welcoming, would of eased our first impression of the room that we were about to walk into had they just opened up a bit.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

I stayed at the Platzl but stopped in to see if this lesser priced option would do another time. If you like the atmosphere of a cozy, quirky, old fashioned pension, that's the Am Market. It looks like a popular, clean, well run place where you can get some character and charm on a budget. Since it was totally full on a weekday in early March, I wasn't able to peek at any rooms. The lobby is just big enough to check in, no place for guests to sit, so you would use the attached restaurant. The location in Viktualmarket is can't be beat.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
2  Thank KingstonPike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Our third stay at this conveniently located hotel. Upgrades have improved this hotel. A new small elevator has been added. Our room was of adequate size but not fancy. The bathroom upgrades were a plus. The hotel is in the Viktualien market place and a short walk to Marien Platz, near public transportation. A separate run restaurant is now part of the same building. It offers breakfast for 12 euros. It is adequate. However, the dinners offered are very good. A good choice if you want to visit the historic city center and museums. Enjoy the beer gardens and restaurants in the Viktualien Markt.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Uberle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.2 km away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#16 of 387 in Munich
965 reviews
0.1 km away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
#105 of 387 in Munich
330 reviews
0.1 km away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 387 in Munich
760 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Markt

Address: Heiliggeiststr. 6, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $182 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Am Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Markt Hotel
Am Markt Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing