We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Basic Little Gem.”
Review of Hotel Am Markt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Am Markt
Ranked #189 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We spent 3 very enjoyable nights here for my husband's 50th birthday at the beginning of April, and would definitely stay here again.

We got the S8 train from the airport to Marienplatz which took @ 35-40 minutes. We walked easily from Marienplatz to the hotel in @ 5 minutes - it is not worth getting a taxi to the hotel as the train is so convenient, and the hotel is in a pedestrianised area anyway.

Check-in was easy. Other reviewers have mentioned that the staff were not very friendly, but I found them very pleasant and welcoming to us. Maybe just a little quiet and shy. Our room was on the 3rd floor, but we did not use the lift as it was tiny - but great for 1 person and a suitcase! The room was as I expected from the photos - very minimalist with lots of stripped wood panelling, which can give the impression of being stark and quite hard. So if luxurious surroundings and soft furnishings are very important to you, this hotel would not suit you. However, all was of good quality and extremely clean. The bathroom was modern and again, really clean, and the bed was comfy. What more could a traveller want?

The location of the hotel is fantastic! It is right in the middle of everything! On the doorstep is the Viktualienmarkt, where we had breakfast every day and wandered amongst the stalls. All the breweries are nearby, which is a very important point for beer lovers! The subway at Marienplatz is 5 minutes away, so access to attractions further afield is very easy. We walked as far as the Englischergarten, and enjoyed a cold beer and currywurst at the cafe/bar in the centre.

We checked out in the morning, and the staff gladly stored our luggage behind the reception, until later. We did not eat at the hotel, but I believe the restaurant gets good reviews.

All in all, the Hotel Am Markt is a little gem in a fabulous location, and I would tell my family and friends to stay there!

Room Tip: The lift was tiny, which is great if you are a slim person. If not, you may be better emailing the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andmc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2015

Great small hotel right in the middle of Munich and five minute walk to the metro station.
The staff are very friendly, hotel and rooms are clean & great value for what you get.
The rooms are practical and serve as a comfy spot to sleep over while you tour around Germany. If you intend on spending more time in your room then I'd recommend a different hotel because the rooms are on the smaller side.

Room Tip: The mattresses vary in each room from soft to hard so let the reception know your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OrianaErbenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

This stay in Munich was a two day break on a ski trip, with one of our family flying back to the States. The location was perfect, just off the Viktualienmarkt and right in the heart of Munich's busiest tourist locations. Just a few steps to the historic churches, the Rathaus, restaurants and shops. The quiet alley the hotel was on had some particularly attractive restaurants. Our room was small, but spotless. The desk staff spoke excellent English and was very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnscasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

We found the staff to be very friendly and had a good grasp of English. The room was what we expected to be and was quite quiet. It was an older building and was nice. The breakfast was enough and great :-)

Room Tip: Room we had was right at the back so it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015 via mobile

The location of this hotel has you right in the heart of the historical centre of Munich. The Viktualienmarkt was right outside and the Marienplatz just 1 minute around the corner. The room was tiny and well aged. As soon as you enter your room there is only enough room for 1 person to walk around the bed. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been renovated since the 70s. It is a very good value room for its location. The staff were also very quiet and could also be more welcoming, would of eased our first impression of the room that we were about to walk into had they just opened up a bit.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#17 of 390 in Munich
1,006 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.1 km away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
#103 of 390 in Munich
337 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.3 km away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 390 in Munich
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Markt

Address: Heiliggeiststr. 6, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $160 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Am Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Markt Hotel
Am Markt Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing