We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Room despite Reservation.”
Review of Hotel Am Markt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Am Markt
Ranked #191 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This hotel is in a great location in the Marianplatz square. Close to all attractions, restaurants and shopping. On the negative side, we had booked a reservation through Booking.com and had mobile app confirmation with a reservation number. When we arrived the receptionist told us we were at the "wrong" hotel. We were not. There is only one Am Markt hotel on Heiliggeiststr, in Munich. Since we did not want to argue and we needed a room, we paid for another room on the spot. The room was small but clean with a great shower. It would have been a fantastic stay had our reservation not been canceled by the hotel. It was also very noisy all night as a result of a football game and the celebrating crowds. Would also recommend staying at one of the hotels in the airport and taking the train into Marienplatz (40 minute train ride for 10.80 Euros) if you plan to only spend one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2016

This hotel is in the best location, short walk to the beautuful outside Viktualienmarkt with all of its food stands, and 2 mins walk from Marienplatz. Rooms are small, but adequate and breakfast was a little limited, but good. Front desk staff were "cool", but helpful. For the price we paid, I thought it was a great value if you want to be right in the heart of the city and near the Hofbrauhaus and many other great restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PhlllyPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

The best location you could possibly hope for in Munich! We arrived during Oktoberfest and weren't hopeful of central city accommodation but this came through and was perfect.
It's an older style hotel right next to Viktualienmarkt and 2 mins walk from Marienplatz and the glockenspiel.
Hotel reception is a little dry and not effusively welcoming, but the rooms are good, wood panel decor and a really good large bathroom. Windows open out for fresh air and to hear the bells of the Frauenkirche. The breakfast is also very good with plenty of choice.
Absolutely spoiled for choice with eating with so many places in the immediate area. We loved getting local Bavarian food at the Viktualienmarkt like breze, apfelschorle and Leberkase.
It is also very easy to get to Allianz stadium from here with the U6 line from Marienplatz.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Tho the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in, Hotel Am Markt had everything else I wanted: great location next to the Viktuelenmarkt, a v short walk to Marienplatz, and just a nice place to stay for a long layover in Munich. The bed was to be expected in a Munich hotel, exceptionally comfortable. The room was clean and the breakfast was very nice.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Lesli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

If you are wanting a hotel close to the center of Munich at a reasonable price, this hotel is your answer. We were only a block away from the Marienplatz and walking distance to the Hofbrau. It was noisy during the day and until about midnight but the church bells stopped at 10:00. I would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Wanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.2 km away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#16 of 387 in Munich
965 reviews
0.1 km away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
#105 of 387 in Munich
330 reviews
0.1 km away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 387 in Munich
760 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Markt

Address: Heiliggeiststr. 6, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $182 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Am Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Markt Hotel
Am Markt Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing