We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly the center of the city, but close”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Ranked #73 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We spent 3 nights here and found it to be a clean, quiet, comfortable room. The breakfast buffet had a nice variety of foods, including a Bavarian pretzel.There is no subway station nearby, but you can take an underground passageway, complete with shops, restaurants, and a grocery store, to the train station. Do not count on using the computers in the lobby. There were usually people on them and when we shooed away young children-who are not supposed to be on there according to signs- we found that the internet was down. There are airline crews staying here, which is always a good sign. There are always taxis out front. The Deutsches Museum is a short walk away, the Marienplatz is much farther. Take the train. It is only 1,40 Euros. Free wi-fi in the room worked well.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelation T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Kathy,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Your Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 96 of 2,846 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights on our trip to Munich and had a pleasant time. The hotel was useful as it was inside a small shopping centre which includes two supermarkets and various food outlets, with also direct access to the subway station which provides a direct link to the airport. Outside, there were plenty of restaurants and food places to choose from and it was only a 20 minute walk to the main city centre shopping area.

We stayed in a superior twin room but I'm not sure what was special about superior as you didn't get much extra compared to a standard room. The room included two single beds, a TV, a desk, table and chairs, mini fridge and hospitality tray with kettle. The mini fridge was a bit expensive but there was a small tray inside for your personal use which was useful. The hospitality tray included coffee and decaf coffee, tea and green tea, sugar and milk. Toiletries were also provided in the bathroom and included soap, shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. The TV could be changed between English and German and there was plenty of channels to choose from. We were on the 6th floor so it was fairly quiet apart from when the nearby lift was used. The beds were comfy and the room had air conditioning and windows that opened. The only issue we had was that the shower couldn't keep a regular temperature and constantly changed from boiling to freezing which was a bit of a pain but it had a powerful spray.

The hotel had a coffee shop downstairs, seating area and computers which were free to use and print from. We didn't have breakfast as it was expensive (€20 per day) and there was plenty of places nearby to eat. The hotel also kept luggage for you if you're flying out later like we were, which was a great help. We booked with Expedia and although they told us that the hotel charges a €50 room deposit per night, when we arrived this wasn't charged.

Overall a decent hotel in a good area. Well recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Touran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We arrived in Munich by air late at night. It was very easy to take the train from the airport and walk through the underground station to the hotel. Take the S8 (although you can also take the S1). When you get off the train walk away from the Rosenheimer platz signs and you will come out right under the hotel. There will be signs for the Holiday Inn. We didn't realize this and came out at the opposite end and just had to walk around above ground and we could see the hotel down the road. The check in was quick. It was late at night so the shops in the underground were closed, but the gas station next store was open, so we were able to get some drinks and snacks. There are lots of restaurants around and it is a short walk to the Marienplatz. We walked along the river, which was really nice, it was about 20 minutes to go check out the surfers. There was a grocery store underground where we got provisions for our train trips. The room was very comfortable with a mini fridge and kettle, and good bedding. The hotel pool was under construction so it was closed, which was disappointing since that was one of the reasons I had booked this hotel 7 months ahead of time. They offered us passes to a public pool but we didn't go. There were video games in the lobby, and restaurants, but we didn't use either. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget, it was comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee-Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

It's located aptly close to the city centre. Walking distance.
We didn't take the bus, so can't say anything about that. But the trainstation is connected from within the building. So you don't even have to step out if its cold.
The rooms are usual holiday inn rooms-comfortable. The bathroom had a strange smell though. We didn't bother much as we hardly stayed in.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pragya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and all was good with no complaints what so ever. The customer service staff were very cooperative with all travels or tourists needs. We chose to leave our large baggaes at the hotel to continue our European travel and they were very cooperative and accomoditave to the idea and this was very appreciative. I would only suggest that they provide a daily shuttle to the main square which was not that far ( 15 mints walk). This would be very convenient to those that need to hang about in the main square of town.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Abdulla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#51 of 390 in Munich
2,780 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
2.4 km away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#61 of 390 in Munich
2,118 reviews
2.5 km away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#44 of 390 in Munich
1,178 reviews
2.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Munich
#39 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $133 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, free Internet, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and cocktails are available in the newly renovated open lobby. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. Important Information: Our pool is closed until further notice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing