We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Ranked #73 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. The hotel is fairly modern. It is within walking distance from an area called Marienplatz (highly recommended). Marienplatz is an area where there are a lot of restaurants with outdoor seating and shopping. Ate at the hotel's restaurant, Grat 3, for breakfast a couple of times. They have a breakfast buffet with a decent selection. The only negatives that I have about this hotel is there is NO gym and they charge you for internet access (about 20 euros for 24 hours). There is a gym within walking distance (just ask the front desk) and the daily rate is about 10 euros. If you decide to go to the gym, bring the hotel's towel, since there is no towel service there. Also, the gym has no A/C, so bring a bottle of water with you too. There is a train stop at the hotel (Rosenheimer Platz). There is also a grocery store in the plaza which is convenient for buying water and snacks.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindyCityTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2010

Dear WindyCityTravelGuy,

Thank you very much for taking time to make some comments about your stay at the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre.
The comments of our guests are very valuable for us and give us the opportunity to constantly adjust our services to the needs and expectations of our clients.
We are very happy that you had a great time at Munich and at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre.

Julia Hug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,608 - 1,612 of 2,848 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

Chose this hotel for a recent 3 night stay in Munich, and it was a very good choice. The room was clean and modern, as expected, so normal Holiday Inn standards. No view from my room, just looking out to the yard at the back of the hotel. I did not use the restaurant or the bar at the hotel, but the bar looked ok and there were lots of places to sit. The reception area is very big and modern too. Great to walk directly into the hotel via the underground shopping mall at Rosenheimer Platz S-Bahn station, and this was also very useful because of the rain during my stay, so just jump on the S-Bahn, and you are only two stops and five minutes from Marienplatz, so no need to take out the umbrella! Walking from Marienplatz back to the Holiday Inn is only 15 mins. Recommended.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

My husband & I spend only for 1 night at this hotel... and over all it was good. Let me point out the some points of our stay:

- distance from the Rail Central Station (Hbf) is not walkable with luggage
- however, it's very easy to get to the hotel by subway... station: Rosenheimer Platz.... once u get out of the platform you'll find signs & arrows directing you to the hotel, which in the same building of the subway station
- shower & water temperature is excellent
- internet prices are not reasonable
- size of the room is good
- size of the bed is good & could be better (bigger)
- blankets were really small
- although we ask for non-smoking room, I could smell some smoke in the room
- some noise can be heard
- the neighborhood was really alive... you can find lots of food options @ the center below at the floors below the hotel like Japanese, Burgers & Turkish (halal)... Moreover, you can find a couple of supermarkets
- as priority club member, we were offered a complimentary drink including Soft Drinks :)
- the TV does not have English Enertaining channels :(

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Battota_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Near to the City and should prefer it. Bit costly but still enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I stay in this hotel every year at least once, I recommand it to anybody going to Munich, it's about 15mn walking distance from Marienplatze, the city center. Prices are very attractive, rooms are quite and the personnel very helpful and there's an S-Bahn station just under the hotel. Just one thing, if you have a car and plan to use it after book in, try to find a parking spot outside, otherwise they will charge you an additional 12 euros to the 17 euros that you normally pay.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
Thank ZghicheS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#50 of 390 in Munich
2,780 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
2.4 km away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#63 of 390 in Munich
2,118 reviews
2.5 km away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#42 of 390 in Munich
1,180 reviews
2.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Munich
#40 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $133 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, free Internet, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and cocktails are available in the newly renovated open lobby. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. Important Information: Our pool is closed until further notice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing