We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend prices?!?!”
Review of An Nam

An Nam
Ranked #778 of 4,176 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We went here craving something that wasn't heavy European food. We pointed to what we wanted on the menu which was just 2 beef Pho. The item we pointed to was €8.20 we got the Pho, it was good. Not the best I've had but good for Europe. When we got the bill for €25 she explained that there was a weekend price and a weekday price. Obviously she failed to mention this when we ordered or we would haven't spent that much on Pho! This is usually a really cheap meal in Australia so we left feeling very ripped off.
The tablecloth was stained and the staff were yelling across the restaurant to each other and constantly changing the music.
Maybe go here during the week.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Yoshidalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bao Chau L, Owner at An Nam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Yoshidalex,

We really appreciate your review!! I am sorry to read about your experience, there must have been miscommunication. We have fixed prices, at all times.

But we do have a lunch menu which is only available from Mon to Fri from noon to the afternoon. And we have a dinner menu. Those two menus have some dishes in common, but the dishes vary in size.
The items on our lunch menu are slightly smaller compared to the same items on the dinner menu. In your case, you ordered our big Pho for 12.50, which is available on the dinner menu and is always the same prize. We also offer Pho as an appetizer, and on the lunch menu it is served in medium size.

I hoped that helped to clarify the confusion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017

I went to An Nam on a recommendation from a friend. It is in a good location, less than 10 min from U-bahn stop) with lots of outdoor eating.

The food had just the right amount of spice/heat. I had a vegetarian noodle dish which was fresh and tasty. The serving size was good for the price.

They had homemade drinks that were great on a warm afternoon (lots of ice).

The servers were helpful and were good with German & English.

The only disappointing part was that the lunch specials are only for Monday - Friday, so going on a weekend meant ordering from the main menu.

Would definitely go again.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yellowhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is seeking some delicious Viet food. I went to this place twice once for dinner and once for lunch. Friendly service and staff. The interior of the restaurant was nicely decorated. The staff makes you feel like you know them and are returning to their house for a meal and visit. The pho and pork egg rolls and dessert were amazing! If you love banana desserts this is the place. Also for all you dog owners, this is a dog friendly restaurant. Cheers!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank tnprescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

The food was tasty & the servers were smiling & very friendly. Nice sized portions which were filling. Possible to sit outside in the summer & enjoy the warm weather with some tasty food.

The table placement is very tight. Not too much space in between.

Make sure you reserve a table, or else you will have to stay in line or be turned down.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dhushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Nice setting and good genuine Vietnamese food. We appreciate the fact that the tables are set with real tablecloth.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank JJL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed An Nam also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to An Nam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing