We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, But That's About It...”
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Koenigshof
Ranked #19 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 May 2017

The location was perfect. Everything was within walking distance, which makes this hotel very convenient. For us, it was a huge disappointment because we had booked a two room suite and specifically requested a non-smoking room. Clearly it was not a non-smoking room because our room stunk badly of smoke. It was in the curtains and fabric of the chairs. When we asked to be moved to a non-smoking room, they told us that it was not possible because there were no rooms available. The hotel was completely booked. I cannot speak to anything else about the hotel other than fruhstuck, which was actually very nice. They room that it is served in did not smell of smoke, so that was a plus. Overall, we were very disappointed in this hotel.

Room Tip: Confirm before you go that they really have non-smoking areas and rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle H, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Dear Leslie R,

Thank you for reviewing your stay of summer 2016 with us. It is nice to see you had a good time in Munich and enjoyed our lavish breakfast buffet.

On the other hand I am sorry you were bothered by the smell of smoke in your room. As there’s still the demand for it, we kept a handful amount of smoking rooms to accommodate all of our guests. It is very regretful though that this was exactly what made the turndown for you.

Please be assured that knowing now of the importance to you, we will do our best to suit your needs and wishes better on your next stay. We hope to have the opportunity of improving our first impression with you and welcome you again this summer.

With best regards,


Isabelle Hein (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Königshof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017

My husband and I, were in Munich for only two nights, visiting historical Munich, and Hofbrauhaus.
Defenitly recomend this hotel; Excellent location , Good value,
Great service. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank Mariafernanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle H, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Mariafernanda P,

Thank you very much for this great recommendation! We are delighted to see you had a fantastic time with us in Munich and truly hope to have the pleasure of saying welcome back to you soon.

In the meanwhile we remain with best regards,

Isabelle Hein (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Königshof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We stayed for one night and have been luckily upgrade to a suite, which was spacious and clean, but we believe it is time for a renovation. As we had a nice view over the Stachus, this meant that the noise from the traffic is there. Maybe it is just me as I have a light sleep.
But the service of the hotel is very good and they make you feel welcome from the beginning.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Max2MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle H, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Max2MS

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you took the time to share your experience with us online on our Hotel Königshofs site as well as on our Gourmet Restaurant Königshofs listing separately.

It has been a delight to read your kind words on our service and how you’ve felt welcome at all times.
The view on the Stachus is really quite a treat, but for those not used to sleeping with city noise it can be better to have a room towards the rear side, the Blunchlistraße.

Soft renovations and touch ups are being done constantly throughout the house to maintain a proper state for our hotel until we shut at the end of 2018 to tear down and rebuild an entirely new Hotel Königshof on the same spot.

We would love to welcome you again in the near future and remain in the meanwhile with best regards,


Isabelle Hein (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Königshof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

My husband recently stayed at the Hotel Koenigshof for four days at the start of of a 4-week trip in Europe. The hotel could not be more conveniently located; it is a 5-minute walk from the central train station, adjacent to the Karlsplatz S-bahn, and just a short stroll from the Marienplatz. The room was both large and comfortable and beautifully appointed. Service at the front desk, in the bar, restaurants, and rooms is top notch. We had an excellent stay at the Hotel Koenigshof and highly recommend it to others. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
1  Thank ferry_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle H, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear ferry_gal

Thank you very much for your awesome review on our Hotel Königshof. We all are happy to see you had a good start into your trip through Europe.

I will gladly pass on your compliments on our service to my colleagues from the front desk, the bar and of course the restaurant. They all will love to learn their efforts are appreciated.

We hope you will follow up on your own recommendation and look forward to welcoming you soon again,


Isabelle Hein (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Königshof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

This hotel is gorgeous, it is an old school luxurious hotel, with the best breakfast buffet EVER. Rooms are comfortable, and very centric. The service is friendly, lovely. We enjoyed our stay here very much so.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle H, Manager at Hotel Koenigshof, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Tamara G,

Thank you so much for this lovely review on our Hotel Königshof. We’re quite delighted to find you with such pleasant memories of our stay and especially of our breakfast. I do agree, the choice on the buffet is rather lavish and delicious.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both soon again and send you our kindest regards in the meanwhile,


Isabelle Hein (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Königshof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 km away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 388 in Munich
1,597 reviews
0.6 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.3 km away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 388 in Munich
2,053 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 388 in Munich
712 reviews
0.6 km away
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
#47 of 388 in Munich
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Address: Karlsplatz 25, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#6 Green Hotel in Munich
#13 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#28 Family Hotel in Munich
#34 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $355 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Koenigshof 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Konigshof celebrates luxury in a wonderfully natural way. A family-owned and managed hotel in Munich city centre, the Konigshof combines exquisite furnishings and features with courteous, personal service that is rare to find in such perfection. This luxury hotel belongs to the exclusive Leading Hotels of the World consortium, and it is well known as a preferred venue in Munich for travellers and gourmets, connoisseurs and entrepreneurs from all around the globe. The word Konigshof translates directly as "Royal Court", and this luxury hotel is a tribute to its name.With 87 rooms and suites, all furnished in superb comfort and style, the Hotel Konigshof is quite small for a luxury hotel, but that is one of the many things that makes it so special. In addition to the elegant lobby with piano, our hotel also boasts an exceptional bar, a delightful wellness oasis and a gourmet restaurant that is one of the city's culinary highlights. It has a Michelin Star and 18 Gault Millau points and is a member of the "L'Art de Vivre - Gourmet Residences" association. The building also houses the Geisel's wine shop - one of the top addresses for connoisseurs of fine wines from Munich and the region. The Hotel Konigshof receives its guests at an incomparable location, directly opposite the fountain plaza at Karlsplatz/Stachus, beside the historical Palace of Justice, and near the stock exchange and the landmarked Kunstlerhaus building at Lenbachplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koenigshof Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing