We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Hotel with outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Ranked #6 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I note earlier reviewers question the service at MO Munich this was certainly not what we experienced. We spent 5 days at the MO Munich and the service was faultless, professional and on par with the MO Singapore (where we have stayed regularly). Every member of staff was exceedingly gracious and during our stay I celebrated my birthday. Well, the Hotel delivered roses to our room and when we had returned from dinner that night a birthday cake had been delivered.
These were lovely gestures on the part of the Hotel. Other things that made the stay pleasant was the complementary mini bar, the high quality Bang and Olsun tv and sound system and the attention to detail in the cleanliness of the room.
The Hotel is just a short walk from Marienplatz which has shopping and an underground station that will whisk you around the city very quickly.
Should we return to Munich we shall definitely stay at the MO.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallymay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 425 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

I am trying to understand why the Mandarin Oriental Munich receives such high ratings, but I don't get it. Compared with other MO properties in Asia, it certainly lacks atmosphere and service. Compared with other Munich luxury hotels, I rate it behind the Vier Jahreszeiten (again better atmosphere and service), the Bayrischer Hof (better pool and spa) and the Königshof (better atmosphere and food). In addition, I find the location of the MO Munich debatable: a very narrow area, not easy to find by car. Maybe this narrowness, inside and outside, translates to a certain cozyness for some people, but to me it is very uninspiring. The service is mixed: valet was very friendly, the ladies at the bar as well, but not so the two waiters. The price is very high, compared to other top hotels in town. The positive parts are the nice cigar lounge and the roof-top pool terrace (only in summer).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOMUCMunich, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Munich, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear TrophyCollector:



Thank you for having recently stayed at Mandarin Oriental, Munich and for sharing your personal observations with the online travel community. I am sorry to read that you found the hotel to be lacking atmosphere and service. Each Mandarin Oriental hotel around the world is different in style, size and location, yet we all strive to delight and satisfy our customers. Please accept my apologies if on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. The hotel is rated by most of our guests extremely favourable due to our consistent service which we seemed to not have provided to you on this occasion. The property is indeed tucked away in a quiet side street from famous Maximilianstrasse. This quiet and superb central location is appreciated by many of our guests and any navigation system will lead to our hotel. We thank you for your positive comments on our cigar lounge and summer pool terrace which operates from May though September. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservation so I may personally look after your booking.



Sincerely,



Lars Wagner (lwagner@mohg.com)

General Manager

Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Such a lovely hotel in all aspects; Location just a short walk to all major attractions and shopping, Decoration and atmosphere so rich and relaxing, Rooms spotless and to the highest standard (loved the hot bathroom floor) bed so comfy, Breakfast superb with all varieties, Concierge so helpful and willing to go an extra mile for you, Cigar lounge excellent place for smokers, amenities high end, I recommend big time :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our experience at this hotel was flawless! We had double rooms that were very comfortable and had large luxurious bathrooms. In particular the concierge staff seemed to know what we wanted before we asked in an almost uncanny way. The service definitely sets this hotel apart.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTravelMom49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I've had a fair amount of travel so far across few countries in Europe, Australia, new zealand and middle east. But it is the first time I felt I wanted to come online and write something about a hotel I stayed in.
The customer service I experienced starting from the doormen to the front disk ( not forgetting Julia) and everyone else was really different from all other hotel I've been to.
The care they showed was consistent and clearly coming from their inside.
I also felt my room was customized for me.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaseen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.5 km away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,571 reviews
0.2 km away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
2,033 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 385 in Munich
1,066 reviews
0.1 km away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
845 reviews
1.8 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Munich

Address: Neuturmstr. 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Munich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#10 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $912 - $1,474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly tucked away in a side street, yet centrally located near the famed Maximilianstrasse, Mandarin Oriental, Munich is an elegant gem of Neo-Renaissance charm, providing the highest levels of personalised service in the city and award-winning restaurant and bars. The newly refurbished 48 spacious rooms and 25 suites offer the finest in contemporary luxury and, along with the stunning roof-top pool, feature views that stretch across the picturesque surroundings of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Munich Hotel Munich
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Munich
Mandarin Munich
Munich Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing