We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, professional service”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband and I stayed 2days during our 18day trip. I picked it because it's a 5 star hotel that is within 400meters of the train station and car rentals. We were in and out Munich by train and easily walked there got our 1day car rental 8am and returned 7pm. It was very convenient.
On the flip side, which is not hotel's fault. The taxis were not willing to take us when we arrived because it's so close. I know a taxi sounds silly for the distance. But for 18days, with opera in Vienna, dinner in Paris, hiking trip... etc. We have 2 bag 21kg each and a small 9kg carry on for electronics, plus a back pack for valuables. I was handling one big piece, my husband was fine with the rest. It was raining and, although I can run Marathon but at 167cm 53kg I'm not exactly muscular. Eventually, we reached hotel in 10min. My wrists were recovered in 24hrs. So keep it in mind. It will be no issue for any normal guys. but if you are a female taking long trip have big luggage. The streets are very busy, so are the curbs. you have to up and down the curbs, drag over trams rail. Get a suit case with big wheels will help a little.

We got a standard room which was a good size. The furnishing was very new and modern. The bathroom was gleaming clean. We asked for a water boiler which came within 10min. The bell service was quick. The concierge was very helpful. We came back late one evening, decide eat in at the Italian restaurant on site. Wasn't too thrilled about Italian food in Germany. it turned out to be an excellent 3 course meal. We also got 3 sizable extra free courses, all delicious. it was as good or better than the restaurants I tried in Southern Italian at the same price range.

The hotel is 1.5km to karlsplatz. Very nice walk thru a park. The Internet is pricey @20 Euro/day. But the off season room rate I paid more than compensate this compare to other 5 star hotels. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xiao Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers and your time to do so.

We feel very sorry to hear about the caused inconveniences regarding the taxi situation for the short distance. Unfortunately we do not have any influence, but we will do our very best to organize a willing taxi driver via our Concierge Team. Please do not hesitate to contact them upon your next stay.

We are very proud of our elegant and refined Italian Restaurant DAVVERO with our experienced chef, Giovanni Russo. Of course we forwarded your comment immediately to him and his team and they appreciated it a lot!

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again in Munich and remain

with best regards,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,015 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Charles Hotel will seduce you in a way that you never want to leave! The room was spacious, overlooking the park. Well appointed with a large bookcase with actual books ( not just the Bible) and a collection of art magazines. Staff is very atentive and atractive ( do they choose them for their looks?). Very professional too. The food is splendid, the terrace an attraction on its own and even the other guests compliment a very elegant and interesting ambiance.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IpanemaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm words and for choosing The Charles Hotel, part of the Rocco Forte Hotels.

We are very proud of our interior design, as each hotel is as individual and characterful as the country and city which inspires its design and each features a unique sense of style and ambience that awaits your discovery.
I agree that all our employees are outstanding and it´s wonderful to read your great experience as our guests should feel warmth, courtesy and respect.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Please contact me directly if I can be of any assistance under mun-executive@roccocfortehotels.com.


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We booked our hotel in Munich through Expedia in conjunction with our airfare. I should have bought a lotto ticket at the same time because it was our lucky day! This hotel was fabulous. Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was enormous. They even have a pillow menu. The food at the restauant was outstanding. The location was excellent. But the best thing about the hotel was the staff. Everyone was so helpful and courteous. A special shout out to Kai, one of the concierges. It is such a pleasure to deal with people who obviously love what they do.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelsnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your great feedback and to share your words with other travelers. Your impressions at your first stay at The Charles Hotel, part of the Rocco Forte Hotels, are very important to us. I am glad that you spent a pleasant time in our hotel. We always strive to provide the best of service to our customers, it is our passion and I am really happy, that both of you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful hotel so much. We are proud of our employees and if course we shared your feedback with all of them.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

With best wishes from Munich,


Lena Spitaler
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

the service is welcomming ..supportive.. the room lovely, we celabrated new years here twice in the presidential suite (that was awsooome) and definetly worth every cent of it!!
the doubles room is great too and one still gets to smoke in a hotel :)

its very central and very very internationall ..

the only crazy thing is 20 euros for th einternet??? why??????
wifi is not really working :)

had massages and some other treatments and the spa + the stuff are lovely ... some strong hands down there :)

my friends were send upstairs without even a phone call as the staff rememmberd them :0)

i love it!

Room Tip: all so far great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unikat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you again as our guest at The Charles Hotel in Munich.

Of course we shared your warm words with the entire team! Especially our Spa team appreciates your feedback as we have many therapists from all over the world to offer our guests great spa treatments.

The individual service of each guest is very important to us and therefore it is very valuable to remember all our guests. Please have a look at our special New Year’s package on our homepage, maybe we are able to welcome you soon again at The Charles Hotel?

With best wishes,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Charles is not cheap, but it very nice indeed. Staff very pleasant, rooms were very modern and high tech. Bathrooms were incredible, heater towel racks, rainfall shower heads with unique and modern walk in design. Property has business center and conference rooms, all very well prepared. Food was very good. Good location close to main train station in center city. Internet is very expensive at 20 euro per day and even the business center offers no free internet to check into your flights. Bothersome for a hotel of this class.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totravelnice60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at The Charles Hotel and your time to do so.
It is wonderful to hear that you had a good time at our hotel and could also enjoy our Mediterranean cuisine of our chef, Giovanni Russo. As the improvement of our services is our main target, we will take some changes into consideration in the future in regards to the internet charge.
Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com
With best regards,


Lena Spitaler
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.9 km away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 391 in Munich
739 reviews
1.5 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
1.5 km away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
4.5 km away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 391 in Munich
2,331 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#26 of 391 in Munich
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $443 - $1,188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing