We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$175
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marc Munchen(Munich)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$261
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$256
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$279
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$304/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$179
US$156
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$172
US$167
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arthotel Munich(Munich)
US$162
US$152
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,718)
Filter reviews
1,718 results
Traveller rating
1,354
251
68
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,354
251
68
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocco fortebeautiful hotelheated floorsconcierge deskstar hotelspa areatrain stationrooms are largeperfect staydeluxe roomminute walkbreakfast buffethotel restaurantquiet locationold citybeer gardenvisiting munich
Filter
Updating list...
1,048 - 1,053 of 1,718 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Charles Hotel will seduce you in a way that you never want to leave! The room was spacious, overlooking the park. Well appointed with a large bookcase with actual books ( not just the Bible) and a collection of art magazines. Staff is very atentive and atractive ( do they choose them for their looks?). Very professional too. The food is splendid, the terrace an attraction on its own and even the other guests compliment a very elegant and interesting ambiance.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the park
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IpanemaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm words and for choosing The Charles Hotel, part of the Rocco Forte Hotels.

We are very proud of our interior design, as each hotel is as individual and characterful as the country and city which inspires its design and each features a unique sense of style and ambience that awaits your discovery.
I agree that all our employees are outstanding and it´s wonderful to read your great experience as our guests should feel warmth, courtesy and respect.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Please contact me directly if I can be of any assistance under mun-executive@roccocfortehotels.com.


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We booked our hotel in Munich through Expedia in conjunction with our airfare. I should have bought a lotto ticket at the same time because it was our lucky day! This hotel was fabulous. Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was enormous. They even have a pillow menu. The food at the restauant was outstanding. The location was excellent. But the best thing about the hotel was the staff. Everyone was so helpful and courteous. A special shout out to Kai, one of the concierges. It is such a pleasure to deal with people who obviously love what they do.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelsnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your great feedback and to share your words with other travelers. Your impressions at your first stay at The Charles Hotel, part of the Rocco Forte Hotels, are very important to us. I am glad that you spent a pleasant time in our hotel. We always strive to provide the best of service to our customers, it is our passion and I am really happy, that both of you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful hotel so much. We are proud of our employees and if course we shared your feedback with all of them.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

With best wishes from Munich,


Lena Spitaler
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

the service is welcomming ..supportive.. the room lovely, we celabrated new years here twice in the presidential suite (that was awsooome) and definetly worth every cent of it!!
the doubles room is great too and one still gets to smoke in a hotel :)

its very central and very very internationall ..

the only crazy thing is 20 euros for th einternet??? why??????
wifi is not really working :)

had massages and some other treatments and the spa + the stuff are lovely ... some strong hands down there :)

my friends were send upstairs without even a phone call as the staff rememmberd them :0)

i love it!

Room Tip: all so far great
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unikat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you again as our guest at The Charles Hotel in Munich.

Of course we shared your warm words with the entire team! Especially our Spa team appreciates your feedback as we have many therapists from all over the world to offer our guests great spa treatments.

The individual service of each guest is very important to us and therefore it is very valuable to remember all our guests. Please have a look at our special New Year’s package on our homepage, maybe we are able to welcome you soon again at The Charles Hotel?

With best wishes,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Charles is not cheap, but it very nice indeed. Staff very pleasant, rooms were very modern and high tech. Bathrooms were incredible, heater towel racks, rainfall shower heads with unique and modern walk in design. Property has business center and conference rooms, all very well prepared. Food was very good. Good location close to main train station in center city. Internet is very expensive at 20 euro per day and even the business center offers no free internet to check into your flights. Bothersome for a hotel of this class.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totravelnice60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at The Charles Hotel and your time to do so.
It is wonderful to hear that you had a good time at our hotel and could also enjoy our Mediterranean cuisine of our chef, Giovanni Russo. As the improvement of our services is our main target, we will take some changes into consideration in the future in regards to the internet charge.
Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com
With best regards,


Lena Spitaler
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Very, very nice hotel indeed! We had a room on the 7 th floor overlooking the gardens, with a view on the roofs of old Munich: perfect! The room, deluxe king, was big And well appointed, comfortable bed and a choice of pillows. Nice bathroom with a separate shower And plenty of fluffy towels. The staff was very charming and helpful. The location is excellent: 5 mn from the station (40mn to the airport) and 10 mn walk from The main muséums And shopping area. The swimming pool is the largest in Munich (I am told).
All in all an excellent stay. My only reservation is the charge for The wifi: 10€ an hour or 20€ per day: an hotel of that standing, recently built should NOT charge for wifi: it looks cheap And actually it is cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radiolondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for your time to share your feedback with other travelers.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Charles Hotel and of course we are proud of our bright colored rooms with a size of at least 40m², which make our guests feel comfortable. Our employees appreciate your feedback and please do not hesitate to contact us anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com, if there is anything to make your stay even more enjoyable.

With best wishes,


Lena Spitaler
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews