We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$110
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$1,886
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$98
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$175
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$278
US$246
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$388/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$2,006
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marc Munchen(Munich)
US$157
US$122
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$1,360
US$76
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 56% below average rates

The price you found is 56% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Europaischer Hof(Munich)
US$97
US$86
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Schiller5 Hotel(Munich)
US$146
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,745)
Filter reviews
1,745 results
Traveller rating
1,376
254
69
24
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,376
254
69
24
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocco fortebeautiful hotelheated floorsconcierge staffstar hoteltrain stationrooms are largeperfect staydeluxe roomminute walkbreakfast buffethotel restaurantquiet locationold citybeer gardenvisiting munichmain station
Filter
Updating list...
1,036 - 1,041 of 1,745 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Nice place, very good location, friendly staff. Negative point is that you pay for everything and this is expensive: ie 1 hour of internet for 10 euros! 2 days parking in the hotel garage is 24 euros! Breakfast 30 euros for american buffet.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing The Charles Hotel in Munich. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and provide you with the best possible services.

From time to time we have special offers, which include some of our services. Please visit our homepage for further information.

We hope to welcome you back soon in Munich and remain

with best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The excellent points
- professional, polite, quick check in
- nicely designed and practical room (turn down service turns on the TV showing a flickering fire)
- great staff at the bar (they offered other guests to take their coats to the room), good food for a late night dinner, nice drinks. The bar itself is a mix between the lobby going into a bar area.
- nice room to enjoy breakfast (did not feel crowded although all tables were taken). beautiful selection of food. and again great service
- walking distance to the SBahn (takes you to airport and to the center of the city)
- walking distance to terrific museums

The disappointment:
1) The spa area was not to our liking; and somehow did not fit to the rest of the hotel. 3 swimmers doing their laps in the pool made it impossible to take a dip. Some of the chairs around the pool have the gym in their back (so people on crosstrainer look through the window right onto the chairs).
Unfortunately, it is not indicated which part of the sauna area is a nude zone. this led to some embarassing moments. you cannot take a shower before going into the sauna without having people look at you. No hooks to hang up the towels near the shower, so there is really no privacy. One shower was broken (could not adapt temperature). Small things left the impression that the planner of this facility has never been to the sauna (nude). It would have been clearer if they would have just marked - this is an NON-nude zone.
2) inspite of being member at LHW there was no possibility of shifting our checkout from 12 to 13.30 on a Sunday (we asked the evening before). The lady at the reception didn't even look into the system. Although the hotel may have been booked out; it seemed like she didn't even want to consider this option.
We would go back, but this time we would not plan any wellness activities.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanneCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay at The Charles Hotel with other travellers.

Of course the satisfaction of our guests is our main aim and we all do our very best to provide our guests with the best possible services as we have set ourselves demanding standards. Therefore, we are very pleased to hear that you could enjoy your stay in one of our fantastic Executive Suites after some inconveniences at the beginning, which we deeply regret.

It is great to hear that you will definitely be back! Please feel free to contact us at anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com.

With warm regards from Munich,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The staff, whether doorman (or should that be doorperson), reception, concierge, or restaurant, could not be more helpful, friendly or attentive. The room and bathroom were of outstanding quality. The artwork is fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel, it is sure to please the most discerning traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripper1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback while spending some time at The Charles Hotel in Munich, part of Rocco Forte Hotels.

Your words make us very proud and of course we forwarded it to all our employees!

Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com and we would be happy to fulfil you every wish.

With best regards,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The tiles in the bathroom are heated..so thoughtful, right? There is also both a shower and a bath.

Great location - two blocks away from the hauptbahnhof and within walking distance to the heart of altstadt. Courteous staff and helpful concierge (if clubbing is your thing, they have passes). They are very prompt with the shoe shining as well. We were too busy romping around the city, so didn't get a chance to make it to the spa, which is supposed to be quite nice.

Also, I was stupid enough to leave my flat keys at the hotel, and they were very helpful in having it couriered to Frankfurt immediately.

Oddly, they have more Arabic TV channels than even German ones. And they do room cleaning at night, I believe between 7-10 pm.

One major downside: no wifi and I believe you have to pay for the wired connection.

But aside from that, great place to stay. And seriously..you'll love the heated floors.

Room Tip: overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evanescentecstasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Traveller,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you as our guest at The Charles Hotel in Munich!

Thank you for your personal comments, which are much appreciated. We are glad that you had some time to discover the wonderful surrounding of our hotel.

The TV channels are already in progress to be changed soon to offer our guest a wide range of different languages. Wifi is available at The Charles Hotels in all areas and we also do offer some important facilities at our Business Center, which can be used by our guests.

Please feel free to contact me at anytime to make your next stay even more enjoyable and hopefully you find some time to have a look at our relaxing spa area.

With warmest regards from Munich,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Was offered really good price and decided why not to try this experience. There are only good things to say about this hotel. Excellent location close to main station, spacious rooms and bathrooms, beautiful interiors and one of the reachest breakfasts I've ever seen, very nice lobby bar. Staff are all very helpful, all processes like check-in or check-out run smoothly. Stayed in The Charles for just 2 nights, but even this was enough to understand what does Rocco Forte mean. Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexx_Naxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your personal impressions while staying at The Charles Hotel.
Your feedback makes us very proud and we would like to say thank you for staying with us.

It is wonderful to read that you liked the interior design, which reflects the idea of Rocco Forte Hotels to equip the hotels with very special materials and objects.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you soon in Munich and to indulge you with our services.

With best wishes,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews