We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in life hotel experience so far”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is new and built for purpose. As a family of 5, we had two inter-connecting junior suite rooms at 6th floor.

Service was outstanding, room cleaning 2-3 times a day and they do it very quick and professional - they come in by crews of 4-5 people at once.

Service was good, professional and friendly. Kids were receiving all kinds of positive attention - from toys and drawing-books to special kids' bathrobes, slippers and toothpaste/toothbrush - exactly 3 sets, which means they paid attention to what I wrote to them in my reservation request (I mentioned 3 kids). First page of hotel's drawing book for kids had a picture of kids having a pillow fight - which immediately inspired my younger kids to do just the same. Pillows for fighting (sofa-type pillows) were abundant (about 2 dozens for both rooms total).

Nice breakfast and dinner, very tasty deserts. Warm chokolate cake was acknowledged by entire family as best ever desert we ate outside home. The restaurant downstairs is italian-style, and I think they could still include bavarian style menue. Lunch was cheap but not really plentiful, neither size-wise, nor selection-wise - six selections for main course and they did not change it for three days we were there.

Hotel is located 0,5 from main rail station and ~1 km from the main old square (Marienplatz). Which, on one hand, is an advantage - not close and not very far. However, for families with small kids like us, it poses a dilemma - it's not really easy to walk but it is also too short a distance to justify a taxi. So, what we did when going to city historic center - we took a taxi there and returned back on foot.

There's a very nice view from hotel, at least from our rooms. An old botanical garden is right in front, and it has a large playing ground for kids.

Overall, I should say it was the best hotel experience for us as family and I also say that it was one of the best for me personally.

I still have to agree with other commenters - the base room rate (though not low by itself) does not truly reflect your expenses - because you have to pay extra for almost everything, including things that normally are included in rate - in our case it was breakfast (I think it was 30 euro per person per preakfast, can't remember exactly what it was for the kids) and internet (paid 60 euro for three days).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view onto botanical garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FlyingKindergarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your lengthy feedback concerning your stay at
The Charles Hotel in Munich. We do appreciate your honest and warm words and it was a pleasure to welcome you and your family at our hotel.

Our team is very proud that you consider The Charles Hotel to be the “best in life experience so far“. We have set ourselves demanding standards and our main aim is to fulfil every wish of our guests and provide them with the best possible services. Of course we forwarded your nice feedback to our employees. Furthermore, we are very happy that you visited our Restaurant DAVVERO not only for breakfast but also for lunch and dinner and that we could delight your taste buds with our chocolate cake.

In regards to the free Internet access, we are working on some future alterations as the Internet usage is under discussion within the Rocco Forte Hotels and a companywide decision. By now the use of Internet is included in the suite experiences.

Again, thank you for staying at the Charles Hotel and we are looking forward to hosting you and your entire family soon again.

With best wishes,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 983 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Nice place, very good location, friendly staff. Negative point is that you pay for everything and this is expensive: ie 1 hour of internet for 10 euros! 2 days parking in the hotel garage is 24 euros! Breakfast 30 euros for american buffet.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing The Charles Hotel in Munich. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and provide you with the best possible services.

From time to time we have special offers, which include some of our services. Please visit our homepage for further information.

We hope to welcome you back soon in Munich and remain

with best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The excellent points
- professional, polite, quick check in
- nicely designed and practical room (turn down service turns on the TV showing a flickering fire)
- great staff at the bar (they offered other guests to take their coats to the room), good food for a late night dinner, nice drinks. The bar itself is a mix between the lobby going into a bar area.
- nice room to enjoy breakfast (did not feel crowded although all tables were taken). beautiful selection of food. and again great service
- walking distance to the SBahn (takes you to airport and to the center of the city)
- walking distance to terrific museums

The disappointment:
1) The spa area was not to our liking; and somehow did not fit to the rest of the hotel. 3 swimmers doing their laps in the pool made it impossible to take a dip. Some of the chairs around the pool have the gym in their back (so people on crosstrainer look through the window right onto the chairs).
Unfortunately, it is not indicated which part of the sauna area is a nude zone. this led to some embarassing moments. you cannot take a shower before going into the sauna without having people look at you. No hooks to hang up the towels near the shower, so there is really no privacy. One shower was broken (could not adapt temperature). Small things left the impression that the planner of this facility has never been to the sauna (nude). It would have been clearer if they would have just marked - this is an NON-nude zone.
2) inspite of being member at LHW there was no possibility of shifting our checkout from 12 to 13.30 on a Sunday (we asked the evening before). The lady at the reception didn't even look into the system. Although the hotel may have been booked out; it seemed like she didn't even want to consider this option.
We would go back, but this time we would not plan any wellness activities.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanneCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay at The Charles Hotel with other travellers.

Of course the satisfaction of our guests is our main aim and we all do our very best to provide our guests with the best possible services as we have set ourselves demanding standards. Therefore, we are very pleased to hear that you could enjoy your stay in one of our fantastic Executive Suites after some inconveniences at the beginning, which we deeply regret.

It is great to hear that you will definitely be back! Please feel free to contact us at anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com.

With warm regards from Munich,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The staff, whether doorman (or should that be doorperson), reception, concierge, or restaurant, could not be more helpful, friendly or attentive. The room and bathroom were of outstanding quality. The artwork is fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel, it is sure to please the most discerning traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripper1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback while spending some time at The Charles Hotel in Munich, part of Rocco Forte Hotels.

Your words make us very proud and of course we forwarded it to all our employees!

Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com and we would be happy to fulfil you every wish.

With best regards,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The tiles in the bathroom are heated..so thoughtful, right? There is also both a shower and a bath.

Great location - two blocks away from the hauptbahnhof and within walking distance to the heart of altstadt. Courteous staff and helpful concierge (if clubbing is your thing, they have passes). They are very prompt with the shoe shining as well. We were too busy romping around the city, so didn't get a chance to make it to the spa, which is supposed to be quite nice.

Also, I was stupid enough to leave my flat keys at the hotel, and they were very helpful in having it couriered to Frankfurt immediately.

Oddly, they have more Arabic TV channels than even German ones. And they do room cleaning at night, I believe between 7-10 pm.

One major downside: no wifi and I believe you have to pay for the wired connection.

But aside from that, great place to stay. And seriously..you'll love the heated floors.

Room Tip: overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evanescentecstasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Traveller,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you as our guest at The Charles Hotel in Munich!

Thank you for your personal comments, which are much appreciated. We are glad that you had some time to discover the wonderful surrounding of our hotel.

The TV channels are already in progress to be changed soon to offer our guest a wide range of different languages. Wifi is available at The Charles Hotels in all areas and we also do offer some important facilities at our Business Center, which can be used by our guests.

Please feel free to contact me at anytime to make your next stay even more enjoyable and hopefully you find some time to have a look at our relaxing spa area.

With warmest regards from Munich,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.9 km away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 390 in Munich
739 reviews
1.5 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
1.5 km away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 390 in Munich
2,333 reviews
0.6 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.4 km away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#26 of 390 in Munich
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: S$451 - S$1,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing