We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-market luxury”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This was our second visit to a Rocco Forte property (the first being the Balmoral in Edinburgh a few years ago). In our limited experience, it’s hard to pin down just what is missing from these properties: they seem to have all of the requisite touches like good locations, fine furnishings and good service, but they don’t add up. It’s as if there is something holding them back from offering a fully-luxurious experience. We think it’s their stated ethos of “simple luxury.” To us, it’s more like mid-market luxury: it just doesn’t quite make it.

Our first impression may have had something to do with this feeling: we were surprised to see a table, TV monitor and tacky signage wedged into the front lobby between the door and concierge desk when we entered the hotel for the first time. Apparently, a global direct sales consumer products company had booked a large number of rooms for a multi-day meeting in the hotel.

We were given a room on the second floor on the front of the building. The room was warm and comfortable with pleasant furnishings and modern conveniences, but it seemed good rather than great. Again, simple luxury was perhaps too simple for us.

The bathroom was fine, but it suffered in comparison to the better one we had just left at the Kempinski River Park Hotel in Bratislava. It had more than enough room and all the modern conveniences, but it was not as memorable as others we’ve had recently (even the paint in the room - a bland beige - seemed plain).

Fortunately, service at The Charles Hotel was good: the front desk staff were polite and helpful. Sabrina in the Spa was lovely: warm, friendly and professional. And our dinner waitress for the night we ate at Daverro was terrific: she took the time to talk with us, talked with the chef about making a gluten free, vegetarian risotto for one of us, and provided the kind of service that makes you want to return to a restaurant. Too bad that the breakfast service wasn’t of similar quality: we had to ask repeatedly for coffee, we waited an inordinate amount of time for a bowl of yogurt with fruit (ordered from the menu), and we had to correct a mistake on the bill.

The Charles Hotel is a very good choice in Munich, but it’s not exceptional. But maybe that’s us: perhaps “simple luxury” isn’t our thing. Our stay was fine, but we probably wouldn’t return to this hotel on our next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor on the front of the building with a view over the treetops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MJPBAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your lengthy feedback concerning your first stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich. We do appreciate your honest words and it was a pleasure to welcome you and your companion at our hotel.

On the one hand it is great to read that you had a pleasant stay at our property. Especially, your compliments regarding our courteous staff make us very proud and Sabrina was delighted to hear about your warm words. Of course, we forwarded your nice feedback immediately to all of our employees. On the other hand the breakfast service was not as good as you may expect of a Rocco Forte Hotel. We would like to apologise for these unpleasant situations during breakfast. Please be insured that this does not correspond to our Rocco Forte standards at all and that your feedback invigorates us in the effort to lead the employees even more strongly in the future even if they are trained regularly.

Furthermore, we regret that you were not fully satisfied with our facilities in general. As you already mentioned, the philosophy of the Rocco Forte Hotels is “The art of simple luxury”. We put emphasis on valuable, unique materials, decoration, furniture and amenities but not in a palatial way. Unfortunately, we do not meet your taste in this point.

Nevertheless, we do hope to welcome you back at The Charles Hotel in order to convince you not only of our services but also of the hotel in general.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com and we would be happy to fulfil you every wish.

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 940 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

Nice hotel, stingy on upgrades, check in crew could be more senior. Big nice and clean rooms. The bar is okay but nothing very stylish. Friendly staff all over. Very central located. Can't miss the breakfast which is extended to 2 pm on weekends, from sparkling wine to the "Weisswurst with Brezen" they have every everything!

Room Tip: Take a room to the park, high floors would be nicer as you may get a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pigalle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for your feedback on the Online Portal Tripadvisor and your time to do so.

Whether you are travelling for business or for pleasure, we are honoured that you have chosen The Charles Hotel for your stay in Munich.

We are very glad that not only our hotel rooms and the location met your requirements but also our courteous service. Of course we forwarded your feedback immediately to our employees and they appreciate it a lot. Furthermore, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our comprehensive late riser breakfast. The Charles Hotel is committed to provide the best service possible and therefore, it is our pleasure to offer our guests various features and specials.

Please feel free to contact us at anytime to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Again, thank you for staying at The Charles Hotel and we are looking forward to hosting you soon again.

With best wishes,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Service was attentive and courteous. The hotel was elegant and charming. Munich is one of our favorate cities and no doubt our experence at The Charles certainly has a large part to do with our feelings. A class hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank TCJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your excellent feedback and trust in Rocco Forte Hotels. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your companion in Munich.

It makes us very proud that not only our hotel met your requirements but also our courteous service. Of course we forwarded your feedback immediately to our employees and they appreciate it a lot. Munich definitely is one of the most beautiful cities in Germany and we are proud that The Charles Hotel reflects its exclusive location with the interior, individual design. Therefore, it is great to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you and your company back at The Charles Hotels in the near future and remain

with best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Top hotel, superb room, good service. Breakfast has everything you want. Helpful staff. Really, there is nothing I could say a bad word about. It's the way it should be.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shumelka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your impressions with other travellers regarding your recent stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich.

It is fantastic to read that everything was to your entire satisfaction during your stay at our property.

Perfectly situated in the centre of Munich, The Charles Hotel of Rocco Forte Hotels, promises to be one of the finest hotels in this historic and cosmopolitan Bavarian city. We provide the same attention to detail, exceptional levels of comfort and personal service for which the Rocco Forte Hotels has become so well known.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact me for your future reservations with us - mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com.

Best regards,




Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We would be hard pressed to say what was best: the fabulous room, the incredibly professional, friendly, and attentive staff, or the superb restaurant. We loved everything about this hotel, from the moment the bellman opened our car door to the moment we were bid goodbye.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get the upgrade to a superior room with a balcony overlooking the Botanical Garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Your feedback regarding your stay at The Charles Hotel in January is much appreciated and we would also like to thank you for your time to do so.

Stay at any Rocco Forte hotel and you are assured of the highest quality accommodation, facilities and services. From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure they will provide the warm, attentive service you should expect from one of the world’s leading luxury hotel brands. Especially, your compliments regarding our courteous and friendly staff are much appreciated as we set ourselves demanding standards.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you soon in Munich and to indulge you with our services.

With best wishes,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
2.9 km away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 390 in Munich
735 reviews
1.5 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
4.5 km away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 390 in Munich
2,315 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#29 of 390 in Munich
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $491 - $1,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing