We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always worth a visit”
Review of Seehaus

Seehaus
Ranked #12 of 68 Dessert in Munich
Price range: US$24 - US$47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The restaurant Seehaus in the English Garden lies at a picture-perfect location directly on the banks of the Kleinhesseloher Lake. It has been in the portfolio of Kuffler's since 1985. Every guest will be delighted to find his own favourite corner in the diversified atmosphere of the rooms presented at the Restaurant Seehaus. The spacious versatile pavilion caters for all guests' requirements. Enjoy breakfast on the border of the lake, and in the afternoon home-made cakes and tarts wait to be served. And in the evening the Pavilion dresses up for cocktails and dinners, for weddings and birthday parties. The bright restaurant offers its guests a pleasant privacy with its niches and round arches. Bright wood and large-scale photos from cattle returning back down to the villages from the mountain pastures brighten up the Bayerisches Stuberl featuring a typical, stylish tiled stove. Under the roof a pure high banquet room was created. It can be optionally used as conference room, ball room, Ladies Lunch Location, just to mention a few of the options - it is beautiful and exquisite at all times. The Seehaus is surrounded by spacious terraces and the beer garden known for its Mediterranean flair. In the kitchen our Chef de Cuisine Christian Muller offers not only classic dishes with a modern touch, but also Mediterranean fish cuisine. Seasonal, regional, home-made.
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Seehaus is always worth a visit.

I ordered a roasted sole with buttered potatoes and spinach. This was great although it came not even close to what the menu stated, 400g, and in honesty, this course is overpriced. For dessert, I had the “Apple Strudel”, which is always recommendable.

The service was - as always - very focused.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Carlarsen, thank you very much for this kind feedback on your stay at our restaurant. Please be assured that we serve exactly what guests order. If we did make a mistake with your meat, we truly apologize! If you ever feel that something may not be as ordered, please be so kind as to ask our team for assistance. It is always a pleasure to help and to solve open questions. Thank you very much for your friendly recommendation! Best wishes from our team at the Seehaus im Englischen Garten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I was here on a Sunday evening with my friend and really love this place. A lovely sight to see big groups gathering at such a lovely place for some food and beer. Though the price may be a tad expensive, but the kitchen is fine and definitely worth the experience. Will bring friends here if I'm back again!

1  Thank Wilson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Wilson K, thank you very much for visiting and recommending us! We look forward to welcome you back with your friends - soon. Best wishes from our team at the Seehaus im Englischen Garten in Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

After a fine walk in the Englisher Garden, this is a great place to stop for a meal and a beer. Classic Bavarian cuisine. My wife had the fish cooked on a stick over a fire and loved it. I had an assortment of sausages and potatoes. All very good. It is really hard to beat on a nice day.

1  Thank TMBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Dear TMBOB, thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are glad that you like what we do. Only to stay fair, we must mention that the "Steckerlfisch" (fish on a stick) is from a munich based company that offers the fish on the grounds of our beergarden. But yes, we love it too :) Best wishes from our team at the Seehaus im Englischen Garten in Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Had to find someone to wait on us, when we finally got someone she wasn't mrs Friendly, felt like we were putting her out by waiting on us.

We ordered steaks and some wine, the steaks for the price were not good, the wine while she realized the glass I ordered wasn't what I thought it was, the attitude was tough its already poured.

The bill was $114 and while I will spend that for dinner it was way overpriced for the quality and service.

Place is in a great location and isn't hurting for business, I'd never go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SSHotelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Dear SSHotelman, thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry for the unprofessional behavior of the waitress that served you. We have a great team - this is why reading about this kind of unfriendliness ruins our day. We would have liked to read what was wrong with the steaks - people love our kitchen. If you ever do see us again, please ask for help if there is anything wrong. It will be our pleasure to sort things out fast and uncomplicated. Best wishes from our team at the Seehaus im Englischen Garten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Views are excellent, location on small lake is nice for dinner, just take the mosquitoes that go with it
Entering this place, as there are 3 entrances, is rather troubling, and ineffective communication from barstaff was not helping. Asked if I could go here or there, he answered, I guess so....
Wanted to eat a dish, but came back they ran out
Service was efficient and pro, food was ok
All in all enjoyable, but probably better when accompanied

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Deflumine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfram S, social media management at Seehaus, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear Deflumine, thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize for the unprofessional reaction of the bar staff. We hope that you may be willing to see us again one day. Best wishes from our garden staff at the Seehaus im Englischen Garten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seehaus also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Seehaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing