We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy spot”
Review of Kokoro

Kokoro
Ranked #56 of 1,251 Restaurants in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: KOKORO is the newest project from the HIRO SAKAO family. KOKORO means "heart" in Japanese and mirrors our philosophy. We care for highest quality, long-lived culinary traditions from Japan, with a great demand for freshest ingredients. If you seek to enjoy an evening with friends, family, or business partners, KOKORO offers you a modern, casual and elegant atmosphere for every occasion. Chef Atsuhiko Suzuko and the KOKORO Team are looking forward to your visit!
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Fresh, good sushi. Clever signature rolls. Trendy, young vibe. Mostly made up of friend groups and couples. Not the best place to bring a baby or child (we brought our three month old and wouldn't do again) due to the limited walkway space and space between tables. Service was good, not spectacular. That probably had to do with their high volume.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Great atmosphere. Delicious food. Friendly staff. The service was good despite it being a busy Friday night. We had no reservation but were offered a seat at the bar and the waiting time for the food (which is freshly made in front of your eyes and beautifully presented) wasn't too long. Overall we had a wonderful night out and thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

Thank nAndyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We went to celebrate a birthday with friends and the waitress was all the time pushing us to order very quickly saying that he need the table in 1 hour. he was not polite with us and the service was really bad, at the end he also said in a rude way that he needs the table and we have to leave now ! This was such a bad service experience in Kokoro ! We talked with the manager in the restaurant and told her about the situation, because the waitress was very rude with us since we arrived to the restaurant.

2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nga N, Inhaber at Kokoro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Mrs. Laura S,

first of all, we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time for writing this feedback. As the owner of the restaurant, I have to sincerely apologize for this unquestionable disrespectful behavior from our staff. Indeed, the table was reserved for 1,5 hour - yet we do absolutely understand that you were disappointed by service's manner, in particular because it was a birthday table. We know there's now excuse for it, but believe us that we discussed the problematic behavior of the staff with him directly right after you gave us your feedback. He also felt sorry, and would like to improve. He's a father of two kids, providing for his family, and certainly has some flaws. Just like us giving him another chance, we would be very happy when you give us another chance as well. For that what happened already, we would like to send you a little compensation for each of you that attended the dinner that evening. Please feel free to send us an email to hello@kokororestaurant.de with your postal addresses.

Sincerely,
Nga Nguyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Ordered my food, waited for 40 min. All my friends plates arrived, except mine. the waitress did not understand what i ordered! I ended up without food be because at 22:30h all cookers left home. On a Saturday. Nothing else was offered, and the waitress did not even apologized! No dinner for me! Terrible!

3  Thank Luciana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nga N, Inhaber at Kokoro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Mrs. Luciana L,

first of all many thanks for taking your precious time for a review of our restaurant.
We feel very sorry to hear that our service failed to take care of you properly. It's important for us that our guests feel well & we absolutely understand that a too long wait or miscommunication can be frustrating. We will discuss this with our service team immediately. However, we really do hope that you grant us another chance. Please feel free to drop us a brief email to hello@kokororestaurant.de - we'd be more than happy to send you a coupon for a next visit in return.

Sincerely,
Nga Nguyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We went to kokoro with friends from overseas and were equally as impressed as them. Never had better sushi in Nuremberg (I've tried them all) - and the love and effort they put into every detail of the food, the drinks, the service, even the design of the plates and the menu and the interior - is just outstanding.
I'm not sure about vegetarian options but the way they made our stay special, I'm convinced they would find a way for vegetarians/vegans to have a delicious meal too.
Chapeau kokoro, we'll be back asap! Keep holding that bar up high!

Thank neensipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kokoro also viewed

Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
Nuremberg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Kokoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing