We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
343
115
13
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
115
13
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews herr hocher the owner huge platter free parking bread no elevator charming b b hearty breakfast the inn keeper old town quiet side street the main square off street parking inside the walled city small hotel top floor fairy tale
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

What a fun place Rothenberg is to visit and the Hotel Spitzweg is right at the edge of the walled city. Easy walk into the main square with lots of shopping and a tower you can go up in. The Night Watchman tour is fun. The hotel had very nice accommodations for our family group of 16. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

this hotel is really fantastic, the receptionist is the owner of the hotel as well,and he is really so kind and gentle, he makes the breakfast him self and he made us the best omlette ever, the hotel is clean and has a parking as well, the position of hotel is very good, and we will return here again for sure .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sebastiano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located inside the walled city of Rothenburg. The rooms are large and the bathroom is extra large - all recently updated. The breakfast was plentiful. There is a private parking lot behind the guest hotel. We only stayed one night, but was well worth a two night stay. Make sure you take the night watchman tour, most entertaining tour ever taken!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

A characterful hotel in the old town - lots of exposed beams and white plaster. Five stars doesn't mean quality, it mans the experience. Everything you want to see is on the doorstep. No lift (elevator) so steps involved. Room size was OK but those on the top floor (like ours) have a slightly sloping roof. No wifi in the room but free wifi is offered by the city - just not in room. Our host spoke good English and was happy to point us in the right direction. Free parking to the rear of the hotel. Breakfast was good but very continental however our host offered to cook us eggs. If you want a modern hotel, go elsewhere but if you want a memorable hotel in the right place then go here.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phils_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Hotel Spitzweg in our 3 week drive through Bavaria & Austria. It's a very nice hotel in an old historical building right in the middle of the core of medieval Rothenburg. Room was well appointed, clean, comfortable, quite. There is an ample breakfast served in the morning. Owner was very friendly, helpful and spoke fluent English. He even gave us a couple of bottles of excellent local wine because apparently we did not get his best room. There is no lift or air conditioning, typical for an old building like this one, may want to request a lower floor if that's a problem. There was a big fan in our room which help keep it cool at night. This is an excellent hotel for the price point, not the Ritz but that's part of the charm. Rothenburg is a great place with a lot of history, good food etc. can get overrun when the tour busses show up, good reason to spend the night and enjoy in the PM, early AM.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews