We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too cold for comfort”
Review of Hotel Fischzucht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fischzucht
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stopped off in Wuerzburg during a drive across Germany and picked the hotel based partly on previous reviews. The room was spacious and well furnished, and the breakfast was to a reasonable standard, but two issues marred my stay, which left me feeling the 65 euro price for B&B in a 3-star hotel was excessive. The first problem was that the room was quite cold, and the radiator controls inactive. August 2014 was exceptionally cold in Germany, and turning on the heating at the height of summer in S. Germany is, admittedly, needed only on rare occasions. However, this was one of them, and the hotel should have prepared accordingly, especially as the weather had already been cold for at least a week. When I complained on check-out, the lady at the desk feigned surprise. The other problem was that the hotel’s Italian restaurant, which itself seems to have a hearty reputation, was ‘closed for the holidays’. A restaurant in a touristic centre, that closes for the holidays during the holiday season, is surely not serious. There was no mention of this closure that I could find on the hotel website or that of the booking agency, I eventually found (possibly the one) decent restaurant in the area, after the hotel’s first recommendation turned out to be no more than a fast-food joint. On balance, I’d advise anyone to check out such details before booking here. My disappointment is reflected in the overall below-par score of 2.

Room Tip: Check opening times of restaurant and status of room heating before confirming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PeasmoldWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

The rooms we had were very modern and very well equipped - as has been said before, the showers are great! We found this to be quite an expensive stay for what is basically a bed and breakfast hotel (the restaurant is obviously a third party concern operating out of the hotel) and to be honest the breakfast was not all it could be for the price paid e.g. other than boiled eggs there was no other cooked options available.

The in-house (Italian) restaurant served very good food but on the first night the service was appallingly slow (too many customers and only 1 server); this did improve on the second night (perhaps because we did not tip the night before!).

Very convenient for the tram to the city centre (tickets available from the helpful front desk staff) but located opposite the church with very loud bells! Use the travel directions from the hotel's website and you will find it without too much bother.

All in all I would recommend this as a hotel for the business traveller but not for a family on vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This hotel is easily within ten minutes to the city center, and our experience here was first rate. The room we had was spacious and very modern, with a large bathroom and glass-walled shower with stone floor. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean. The entire staff we encountered was friendly, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast is a bit of an "Ibis Hotel" breakfast, but with everything you would want or need, and an exceptional selection of real teas along with coffee any way you like. We would very happily stay here again and would not hesitate to rebook on another trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarLay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Only one person mentions this below but it must be stressed because it has ruined our stay here: the church bells ring many times every day starting at 7am and go through until 10pm. They even ring for a short time every 15 min. It's summer, we have the window open, and we cannot sleep. I will not speak about the hotel itself (which is totally fine) because the experience with the church bells, a mere 100ft away, is a show stopper. Had I known I would never never have stayed here. I don't understand why only one person below mentions it. It's really torturous.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is a little difficult to find, but well worth it! The room was spacious, bright, and immaculately clean. And what a terrific shower! The breakfast is very comprehensive- everything you need to get you off to a good start in the morning - and beautifully presented in a lovely sunny room. We also ate dinner one night in the hotel restaurant and it was a great meal! The staff members are friendly and helpful.
The location is about 3 km away from old town Wurzburg, so you can take the tram just around the corner. (Driving is not recommended...parking in old town is extremely limited.)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank FoxT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
3.6 km away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
1,000 reviews
3.9 km away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
3.8 km away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#10 of 46 in Wurzburg
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
3.9 km away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
3.6 km away
Top Hotel Amberger
Top Hotel Amberger
#17 of 46 in Wurzburg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fischzucht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fischzucht

Address: Julius-Echter-Str. 15, 97084 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range: $163 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fischzucht 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Fischzucht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing