We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Hotel Site
US$94
View deal
Expedia.com
US$96
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Booking.comUS$94
Hotels.comUS$96
travelup.comUS$109
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,739)
Filter reviews
1,739 results
Traveller rating
806
732
141
35
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
806
732
141
35
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small kitchenette excellent location kettle stylish cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,739 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2021

While waiting in line to check in, a guest came down from the elevator, cut in front of us directly and proceeded to ask a 15-minute question. While the guest should not have behaved this way, reception should not have allowed this to happen. Found out later, that guest was staying in one of the suites, so clearly the reception had a bit of a classist attitude towards us, who arrive with trekking backpacks.

From that point on, the hotel was a disappointment. For what we paid - over $150 a night, this place was a true disappointment. We had specifically requested and paid for a king bed but were given a room with two twin beds. When we brought this to the attention of the staff, we were told, "this is how all our rooms are and you will be fine". But, we weren't. Like with all German hotels who do this (and really shouldn't be allowed to advertise a King room), the two twin beds that had been pushed together, slid apart as we slept, causing a chasm to arise between us, into which we nearly fell. The hotel staff did not care at all about this.

The location of the hotel is fine, though not really near any coffee shops or cafes as the Gendarm area doesn't really "open" before 10:00. Many nearby bars (and resulting loudness on the streets), though the room was quiet enough.

It is nice that the hotel, like many German hotels, partners with Save the Bees - i.e., you ask for no housekeeping to help conserve water for the bees/the planet.

Overall, for this money, there are nicer hotels in Berlin, far more worth your attention.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebekaho336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2021 via mobile

The staff, the cleanliness and location make this hotel perfect. Had a wonderful time enjoying the Festival of Lights . Wonderful city and this hotel exceeded all expectations. Breakfast was plentiful and rooms stylish, modern yet so comfortable. Definitely recommend it!!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank XantheHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

I’ve stayed at this hotel many times over the years for business and leisure and really love it. It always leaves me with big smile on my face and I feel well prepared to face the day ahead. I love the quirky furniture, the vibe of the place, the good size of the rooms and the central Mitte location. I also love all the little extras like the special toiletries, the free bottle of water etc. Huge windows let in plenty of natural light. A shower which is so big it’s almost a room in its own right.

There’s a slight John F Kennedy theme but it’s a tip of the hat (such as the throne-like armchairs in each room) rather than full on memorabilia. The only unusual thing this time was a small kitchenette in our room. Yes, there was a kettle for making a tea or coffee which was appreciated but why does one need a stove top and sink when there are no other pots, pans, cutlery etc? Strange but not disconcerting.

Although I have had breakfast at the hotel when I was on expenses, we find €22 a head too much so prefer to head to one of the multitude of cafes in the area for breakfast.

Foot creme! Just what my poor feet needed after three weeks of travel. And now the hotel is helping the bees out too. We passed on room cleaning in lieu of a donation to a bee protection agency. Bless you, John F! I’ll be back!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BaselLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2020

This is an excellent hotel, with a friendly reception and a good room.
We were very impressed with their covid-19 protocol. Well thought out and very strictly adhered to.
The breakfast is also very tasty and rich in choice.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank RobTheF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2020 via mobile

Very nice staff, excellent location in easy walking distance to a few beautiful spots and good price/value but interieur, room setup etc is not on a 4-star plus level, did not try breakfast. Also cleanliness could have been slightly better.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank bv511
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews