We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has the coolest cafe in town”
Review of Michelberger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Michelberger Hotel
Ranked #129 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 April 2017

I did not stay in the hotel but we have been in the amazing cafe twice and i loved the ambiance so much with the books and low light and comfortable seats and nice music. Can spend my hours chilling there, absoulatly one of my fav places in Berlin, plus i liked the coffees a lot!

Cool idea to make lamps with books by the way ;)

Room Tip: The xafe is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

35 - 39 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2017

We stayed here for a few days and thought the hotel was "cool" but without being pretentious or unfriendly.
From the hotel it's easy to walk into Friedrichshain or the S-Bahn/U-Bahn station is just over the road for travelling to other areas of the city.
The rooms are clean and well designed with lots of natural light. There is also a lively bar downstairs although this didn't disturb us in the room, and the breakfast was great with plenty of healthy choices.
Altogether a brilliant place to stay in Berlin.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
1  Thank telstarbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

My plane never left Paris because of the Orly terrorist attack Saturday March 25th. I was there, when it happens, it wasn't a funny moment.

I have called the hotel and explained them the situation. After lying to me and saying that BookingDatCom were the only ones who could decided if I could be refunded (which was not true, the Hotel could have done whatever they wanted to -if they wanted to) they just ended the discussion because I was "taking it personally".

The staff could have been supportive and offer, for example, to report the reservation. Hell no, I have been charged 90% of the booking price. They just decided to act like robots, which means if legally they don't have to refund me a part of my booking or report my reservation, they won't do it.

Can't wait to see the answer of one of the employee (I won't tell her name).

Lovely experience.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelberger, Owner at Michelberger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Dear guest,

your complaint does not reflect the facts. On March 14th, 9 days before the attack in Orly, you already tried to cancel the reservation. Since you were booking through Booking.com with a non refundable rate, we explained to you that only a 10% refund could apply. You reacted by insulting our staff already by phone.

On the 18.3 you called again, cancelling your reservation with us with no reason mentioned. We refunded 10% of your booking.

On the 25th you called in the morning, that you cannot come because of an attack at Orly and got again furious at our staff, not remembering the phone conversation you had 7 days before with the same member of our staff.

On the night of the 26th your girlfriend called and asked us to reactivate the booking, since you managed to get a later flight. Out of courtesy we put the entire booking live again.
In the morning you registered as a no show.

We are tolerant, easy and reliable to engage with and very well organised. We respect every guest. You crossed professional and personal borders and used the terrible event in Orly to your advantage.

Our colleague acted in full accordance with what we stand for. All the best for you,

Your Michelberger Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

in my experience Berlin hotels are functional and bland. they are a safe bet, reliable, but not very exciting. This place offers much more and was a genuine pleasure. Great customer service, convenient location, fantastic food, own-brand lager and I thought good value for money. The in-house restaurant competes with the very best that Berlin has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend in Berlin and stayed at the Michelberger hotel.

Though the bar area was lovely and the room clean, for a three day break the room was a little too cosy.

No storage / wardrobe space which meant we lived out of our cases. No great drama, all else in the "posh hostel" was lovely. However, because of the room size I would choose to stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adamwayne007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Holiday Inn Berlin - City East Side
nhow Berlin
nhow Berlin
#32 of 633 in Berlin
3,341 reviews
East Side Hotel
East Side Hotel
#490 of 633 in Berlin
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain
Klassik Hotel
Klassik Hotel
#365 of 633 in Berlin
281 reviews
25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelberger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelberger Hotel

Address: Warschauer Str. 39/40, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $116 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Michelberger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Michelbergerhotel is a budget hotel concept created by a group of friends, who had the idea to make the best hotel they could, the kind of hotel they'd like to stay in. A place that's individual, charismatic, stylish, fun, rebellious and inexpensive, a place where anything goes, just like Berlin itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Michelberger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing