We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice clean hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Berlin
Ranked #86 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Excellent bar, a bit pricey but very friendly with competent friendly staff. Good location, away from most hustle and bustle. Great cigar bear and overall an enjoyable weekend

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    281
    83
    20
    9
See reviews for
85
221
55
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We visited the Savoy Berlin in the last week of November primarily for the Christmas Markets. On the plus side this hotel is centrally located and about 5-10 minutes walk to the metro, bus station and high end department stores. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful when approached. My bed and mattress did wonders for my 15 year backache, truly! Even though freezing outside the hotel, bedroom and bathroom were very warm. Less than positive was the smell of cigar smoke from the attached cigar bar, the cost of the continental breakfast which at around £15 a day was very pricey. I recommend Cafe Swartz about 2 blocks away (turn right at theTchibo store and cross over) where we had a hearty and beautifully presented breakfast at half the price. The interior corridors of the hotel were reminiscent of the hotel in 'The Shining' and quite scary at night! My single room was at the end of a hallway adjacent to the staff stairwell. It had beautiful oriental tapestry artwork on the walls to cheer up an otherwise dark 1930's style room, an art deco floored shower room, a safe, TV, desk, chair etc and complementary mineral water each day. The curtains didn't hide the cracked plasterwork and the windows were quite drafty and for non-city dwellers the noise from a nearby metro bridge as well as the bar/restaurant across the way would be distruptive to a good night's sleep - I found it quite comforting in an otherwise too quiet hotel. Most annoying for a modern city was the lack of free WiFi with the exception of Starbucks. The hotel only offers a computer in Reception and charged daily for WiFi. The posh McDonald's showed off their iPads but did not offer WiFi to customers. As this was my first visit to Berlin I was initally disappointed by the greyness around me but the people were lovely and very helpful. I preferred East Berlin for its pre and post war history, what little remains of its jewish past, the architecture and its overall timelessness especially around Alexanderplatz, the Berlin Cathedral and Museum Island where there are magical Christmas Markets nearby. Checkout the huge circular aquarium at the Radisson Blu Hotel!
For the first time ever, I did not take one photo of my room or the hotel and I had my new Panasonic Lumix to hand at all times! I think that this hotel trades on its name and should like its older sister on the Strand in London have its interior gutted and refurbished for the 21st century traveller and include breakfast and WiFi as standard.

Room Tip: The higher floors had slightly larger modern style rooms and lighter decor. Also further away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmic_scene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

This hotel is in a great location but, the rooms are tired and outdated. I was shocked when i entered the room for the first time. The 80's look and feel... Sometimes i find old hotels charming but this hotel just felt tired. :-(

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalvatoreEsposito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samuelbraun, Leiter Front Office at Savoy Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your review of the Savoy Hotel Berlin.

The hotel has been undergoing a smooth renovation for a few months now. The Savoy is transformed to keep up with modern guest requirements but without compromising on the style and charm of this tradition-rich four star hotel.

In many rooms the upholstery, wooden furniture, curtains and carpets were reconditioned.
All bathrooms in the 2nd to 5th floor were completely renovated. The remaining bathrooms will be renovated in the next few months.

We have also equipped all rooms with high-quality LOEWE flat screen TV’s.

If you consider travelling to Berlin, we would very much like to accommodate you again and prove to you that Savoy Hotel Berlin is all but tired.

Best Regards
Your Savoy Hotel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend. Considering the generally great reviews on this site,the room was a bit disappointing, plus it was quite dusty in parts. I woke up the next morning,and all of my stuff (phone, wallet etc) on the bedside cabinet was covered in a film of dust.The obviously hadn't cleaned the room properly.One other thing I noticed is that even though the downstairs bar is closed off from the lobby, you still get the stale smell of smoke in other parts of the hotel.

However, the staff were quite friendly and the hotel is in a convenient location. If you're not looking for anything special, then this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SionLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ain, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and 4 year old daughter stayed here in mid Dec 2011. The hotel room was very big with plenty of room for an extra bed (no extra charge) and still loads of room. Nice corner area with sofa and chair so we could eat of our take out currywurst and ships. Bathroom was huge. We did not have breakfast at the hotel (a little expensive) and we found a little cafe on the right out of the hotel over the road that did breakfast and the 3 of us ate for the price of 1 at the hotel. Also on that road is a great Austrian restaurant called Ottenthal which even on a Sunday was packed so best to book.
Under the train arches was a nice italian restaurant. There is also a big supermarket between the hotel and the Zoo S Bahn that was open on Sundays too.
The hotel is near to the Zoologische Garten U and S Bahn and the Uhlandstrasse S Bahn. Our visit was mostly for the Xmas markets and there was one within walking distance of the hotel near to the Zoo.
Ask for the code for wifi at reception - access was free.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
#96 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Indigo Berlin - Ku'damm
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel OTTO
Hotel OTTO
#16 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Charlottenburg
Ibis Styles Berlin an der Oper
Ku' Damm 101
#93 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Berlin

Property: Savoy Hotel Berlin
Address: Fasanenstrasse 9-10, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#86 Business Hotel in Berlin
#106 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#132 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price range (per night): $108 - $277
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1929, the Savoy Hotel Berlin lies just a few minutes' walk from the busy Kurfürstendamm, Berlin’s famous elegant promenade. Celebrities like Maria Callas, Romy Schneider, Greta Garbo, Helmut Newton and the famous German writer Thomas Mann were regular guests. They all valued the hotel’s atmosphere and unobtrusive service. Today the Savoy is still synonymous with style, discretion and hospitality. The classical premises were refurbished in 2005 and its original features restored to their former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Savoy Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing