We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel within walking distance of everything Berlin”
Review of Grand Hyatt Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Ranked #19 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2012

You'll love the location of this hotel, which is just slightly better than the large, sleek rooms. The service was crisp and the bedrooms and bathrooms could really be considered 5 star on par with several Ritz Carltons around the world.

I'd stay as high up as possible as some of the street noise can disturb you if you are a very light sleeper.

Besides all the history nearby, there is a full-on shopping mall next door as well as a number of fantastic restaurants.

Room Tip: Get as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flatheadpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,622 - 1,626 of 3,205 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

Modern hotel with some quirky architecture, excellent location 5 minutes walk from Potsdammerplatz, Sony Centre and adjacent to theatres, bars and restaurants. Taxi rank outside and U Bahn, S Bahn and mainline station only 5 minutes walk away. Rooms have big screen TV with pay movies, pay WIFI (fee moderate), good size bathroom with separate shower and bath, mini bar, comfortable bed. I was in an executive room with lounge access. Lounge includes complimentary soft and alcoholic drinks, snacks, continental breakfast, food nice but I have had more substantial in similar hotel lounges. Three restauraunts on site plus 24 hour room service. Food good, price moderate to high. I am a breakfast fan but as per most hotels in continental europe cooked breakfast is not the best. Pool tiny but substantial spa with the usual pricey treatments.
My only negative is I was facing the (pedestrian) street in front of the hotel, there was a lot of noise and music at about 1am from the theartres and casino.
This 5 star hotel is on a par with best hotels in Berlin (Adlon, Ritz Carlton etc), price moderate to high but deals available, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: some rooms face onto the street where there are noisy theatres and street music - ask for a courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed during the berlinale in feb. It's a first class hotel, friendly staff ,nice and clean rooms . Few steps away from a mall. Further down is the Sony center and subway. Restaurants are everywhere . A starbucks across the street. Dunkin donuts with wifi ( you have to pay for it) at the back of hotel . Not much excitement at night except for the casino nearby. There are two train stations . Each go a different route. Ask the concierge where you are going and what underground station to take. Don't forget to get tax rebate every time you buy something

Room Tip: Not much shopping in the area . Take the underground train to Kadewe . A huge department store with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Solotraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This was the seventh time we had stayed at the Hyatt, and we checked into room 505, a deluxe room, unfortunately overlooking the atrium: it was a lovely room, large with big comfy bed, separate sitting area, desk, fridge style minibar, plenty of storage space, kettle. The bathroom was quite big with two basins, bath and separate shower and wc.

The Grand Club Lounge was closed for refurbishment, which we were told in an e-mail just a week before we arrived, so we went down to Tizian Lounge where we were told a replacement service would be provided. We were given a small menu with four starters, four mains and four desserts, from which we ordered and they all arrived together. The bar was busy and we had to keep asking for service. We subsequently complained to the management as the experience was nothing like as good as the Grand Club Lounge has been on other stays here, and we wondered why they hadn't turned a function room into a temporary lounge. They didn't have an answer to that, although a Duty Manager subsequently made contact to discuss our concerns, and they gave us a small gift on leaving. The other problem was that we were there for three nights and the menu was the same every night, which got a bit boring.

Apart from the problem with the lounge, we enjoyed our stay, but having paid a lot of money to stay in a Club Room, the temporary service provided was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I spent 3 days and 3 nights at the Grand Hyatt Berlin over Christmas weekend. I would definitely recommend the hotel. Perfect service, spacious room, very spacious and relaxing bathroom. My problem was I barely wanted to leave the hotel to go see the city!
My husband also used the gym and said the facilities were very nice with a running track and beautiful pool as well.
We had a great breakfast a la carte at the Vox restaurant where the service was impeccable. The front desk staff is very helpful and eager to share advice on Berlin.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyjoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,798 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
1,596 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 634 in Berlin
2,036 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#14 of 634 in Berlin
3,659 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Berlin

Address: Marlene Dietrich Platz 2, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berlin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#9 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $219 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovative design, clean-cut lines, first-class natural materials and contemporary art are characteristical for Grand Hyatt Berlin located at Berlin Mitte, close to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. The 342 luxurious guestrooms and suites are equipped with B&O flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. Grand Hyatt Berlin features restaurants Vox, Tizian and mesa, Vox Bar and Club Olympus Spa & Fitness on the rooftop which offers a large pool, cutting-edge fitness equipment, a sauna and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hyatt Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Berlin
Berlin Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing