We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
6
8
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
8
4
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2015

Rasthof avus is a motorway "rasthof" or rest stop hosting decent rooms in a motorway exit near the ICC convention center in Berlin. In Germany it is termed a motel but dont't be deceived by it, the only thing it shares with romantic getaway spots is the short average length of stay, as there is little romanticism to it. :)
It is tricky to find when exiting the Westkreuz station. You arrive at Halensee strasse, but on the "wrong" side as far as the hotel is concerned; in order to find the hotel, exit the station to your right, to find a tunnel walkway to your right which is sloping upwards towards your left; this leads you to a juncture where you can cross over to the "correct" side of Halensee (If you see a statue of 2 military men in a motorcycle to your right, you're ok!) and you should then proceed for about 100m to then turn right at the stairs towards the service station. Just pay attention to these instructions and you'll be fine, it's probably a 10 min walk in total from the station to the hotel. Good place to stay overnight or to take part in the fair, but be warned that there is early light into the rooms as the curtains are not opaque enough. Breakfast was pretty rich though. Tourists will be better of staying somewhere closer to the centre, but this place is fine for an overnight stay in this area of town.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ip202659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very good motel compared to the price (55 eur/night) and very close to the Berlin Messe. Only short walking distance from the Messe, so this is very good choice if you're looking for budget lodging while visiting the fair.

Food is very greasy (kind of "truckers' food"), but low price and you don't walk out hungry. We ate both dinner and breakfast. Good and welcoming service and almost no waiting time to get the key. Motel's lounge has internet, but rooms don't. If you need to work in your room, get low cost prepaid from the Messe.

Although Autobahn is next to motel, I was not bothered by the noise. However I felt odd "breeze in the night and feeling that somebody was in my room" my first night and my door was locked and windows closed. This motel has very old history, so either it is my imagination or maybe the motel is actually haunted (and I'm not kidding!).

Anyway, good motel - just stay out of the room 206 that might be haunted.

Room Tip: Rooms in lower floors might have Internet access. Stay out from the room 206 that might be haunted.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuperSamuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I've been in Motel Avus for three nights. The good things are that this motel has a good price-quality ratio (I paid 55 euro per night), the breakfast is good (about 8 euros) and this motel is close to s-bahn (rail) and u-bahm(underground). The cons are, no airco (warm if hot), noisy (motel is at a freeway junction) and single room is quite small. Bathroom is acceptable, but cleaning could be improved. Because this motel is exactly between two freeways (junction) you have to cross by foot either a very busy road or a truckers parkplace. Bottomline: good for overnight stay, but I would not choose to stay here longer to visit Berlin. There are better alternatives for that.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spikey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

For a stay in Berlin I recomend Avus Motel, very close to rail station for frequent trips in and out of Berlin, good meals and very clean and tiday. On edge of Autoban means it is ideal for travelers to drive to the outskirts of Berlin and want to hang the keys up for their stay.

Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
Thank dnlmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews