We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bang for your buck”
Review of Happy Go Lucky

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Happy Go Lucky
Ranked #72 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We chose this place because of it's central location, cheap rooms, and solid reviews. The building itself was painted over in pretty unique artwork and graffiti which could be seen by the S-Bahn station right across the street. We had essentially no issues with the rooms and lounge spaces for the single night we stayed. The luggage storage even saved us on the morning we checked out, so that we could explore more of the city without having to commute with our luggages.

Also, to echo what other reviewers are saying - the 50 EUR deposit for the room key and the meek wifi are just a bit concerning. However, this hostel should be recommended for budget travelers wanting to stay in the city in a great location for great prices.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2016

I chose this hostel because of the location - it is close to the ZOB and U Bahn station is just across the street. Staff was really nice and helpful. Rooms are fine, bathrooms are clean. And it is cheap. Can't complain.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank ania7ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Stayed in the twin room with shared bathroom for 2 nights because the hostel we normally stay at was overbooked.

The female receptionist was rude and talked down to us like all their rules and limitations are completely normal for the hostel (they are not). 50 EUR cash deposit for the old, unreliable looking key is weird. MasterCard 3 EUR fee is even weirder. Passive-aggressive messages all over the place with rules/fees/what’s forbidden made me think they usually provide accommodations for schoolchildren or mentally challenged people.

The room smelled so bad we had to sleep with the windows open. It’s either they washed the carpet, put it back wet and made it dry by itself for weeks or I don’t know what the source of that stench was.

There is one toilet per floor and two shower cabins that are in the same room (the floor has dorm rooms, too, mind you). So at times it’d take us literally hours to get in.

Also, the building’s old, so you can hear every board creaking and every step echoing all over the place.

There are better hostels in Berlin for the same price (private rooms with shared bathrooms which is my preferable option, at least). Do yourself a favour, look those up.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

My only reservation concerning this establishment is the €50 key deposit charged when checking in.

Aside from this one issue I can and I do thoroughly and wholeheartedly recommend this establishment for those who are seeking low-cost, medium quality accommodations in a Central location.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Dickie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Only stayed one night as Berlin was crazy busy and fully booked when I was there. It's a very big hostel with tonnes of rooms. But not great on the social side of things, which was a shame. It's not really a backpacker hostel. Was a huge mix of people staying here, from people on business trips to kids on school trips with their teachers which is quite cool but not if you're looking for people to go out partying with. It's also not quite happy go lucky, lots of strict rules and a massive €50 key deposit. The hostel itself is amazingly decorated with really cool artwork, worth seeing just for this.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank mad-m0nk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
#350 of 634 in Berlin
90 reviews
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Prenzlauer Berg
Lette'm Sleep
Lette'm Sleep
#205 of 358 in Berlin
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neukolln
2A Hostel
2A Hostel
#148 of 358 in Berlin
137 reviews
Moabit
Amstel House Hostel
Amstel House Hostel
#32 of 358 in Berlin
314 reviews
Friedrichshain
Sunflower Hostel
Sunflower Hostel
#26 of 358 in Berlin
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Go Lucky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Go Lucky

Address: Stuttgarter Platz 17, 10627 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 358 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $19 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Go Lucky 2*
Number of rooms: 74

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing