We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
34
91
52
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
91
52
15
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I chose this hostel because of the location - it is close to the ZOB and U Bahn station is just across the street. Staff was really nice and helpful. Rooms are fine, bathrooms are clean. And it is cheap. Can't complain.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank ania7ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Stayed in the twin room with shared bathroom for 2 nights because the hostel we normally stay at was overbooked.

The female receptionist was rude and talked down to us like all their rules and limitations are completely normal for the hostel (they are not). 50 EUR cash deposit for the old, unreliable looking key is weird. MasterCard 3 EUR fee is even weirder. Passive-aggressive messages all over the place with rules/fees/what’s forbidden made me think they usually provide accommodations for schoolchildren or mentally challenged people.

The room smelled so bad we had to sleep with the windows open. It’s either they washed the carpet, put it back wet and made it dry by itself for weeks or I don’t know what the source of that stench was.

There is one toilet per floor and two shower cabins that are in the same room (the floor has dorm rooms, too, mind you). So at times it’d take us literally hours to get in.

Also, the building’s old, so you can hear every board creaking and every step echoing all over the place.

There are better hostels in Berlin for the same price (private rooms with shared bathrooms which is my preferable option, at least). Do yourself a favour, look those up.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LenaS1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

My only reservation concerning this establishment is the €50 key deposit charged when checking in.

Aside from this one issue I can and I do thoroughly and wholeheartedly recommend this establishment for those who are seeking low-cost, medium quality accommodations in a Central location.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank DickieD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Only stayed one night as Berlin was crazy busy and fully booked when I was there. It's a very big hostel with tonnes of rooms. But not great on the social side of things, which was a shame. It's not really a backpacker hostel. Was a huge mix of people staying here, from people on business trips to kids on school trips with their teachers which is quite cool but not if you're looking for people to go out partying with. It's also not quite happy go lucky, lots of strict rules and a massive €50 key deposit. The hostel itself is amazingly decorated with really cool artwork, worth seeing just for this.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank mad-m0nk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Very poor service and rude staff. Rooms are small and it can get crowded, especially for electric plugs. Also, you need a deposit for pretty much everything you want to do. Bring your own locks. Location is mediocre, not a lot going around, if you want to experience Berlin you have to get away quite a bit from the hostel. Decently clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter55554454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews