We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to Alexanderplatz”
Review of Lux 11

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lux 11
Ranked #201 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We stayed in the Lux 11 for the Christmas markets in December. The hotel was centrally located and we walked to most places. And we really enjoyed the markets. Hotel reception staff are excellent –spoke very good English and were very helpful when our return flight was cancelled due to a few snowflakes at Heathrow and enabled us to stay another 2 nights. The room was a little quirky but overall I liked it. The design is urban chic with a tiled wall over the bed - and the bed was comfortable. The tiny kitchen was unnecessary for us although the fridge was useful to store wine. Our room overlooked the main road but it wasn’t too noisy although the sitting area was a bit cramped and wasn’t too comfortable to sit in with a glass of wine. The bathroom facilities were odd – you need to be very comfortable with your companion as the shower was divided off from the room by a glass partition and the wash basin was right in front of the shower – so you can see your partner showering. No privacy! The toilet is partitioned off so there is some privacy although if you go to the loo in the middle of the night, you are likely to wake your partner as the door makes a noise when opened. Housekeeping is very hit and miss. You have to leave a note on the door to ask for the room to be cleaned. One day only one set of towels was left when it was quite obvious that the room was occupied by two people. There was a Nespresso machine – which was good, but the cleaner did not always refill the coffee pods which was annoying.
We stayed there on a very cold weekend and the radiators were super efficient – to the point that we actually had to turn them off as the room became too hot. But we could dry our wet clothing.
I think that the room was not well designed to use the space efficiently - there was a lot of space in the middle of the room but the seating area in the window was cramped. The loo was disproportionately large but at least it was private – unlike the shower. The room could have been better laid out – with a proper, private bathroom and wardrobe – which was just a hanging area near the door – not great. But overall, it was a well located hotel in a convenient area – and at least we didn’t have to find somewhere else when we got stranded for 2 days. The Asian fusion restaurant was good on our first night and the coffee shop served good, strong coffee. Overall – a nice hotel but I wouldn’t rush to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wellwhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 556 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
101
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

About a 5/10 min walk from the TV tower, everything in Berlin is quite spread out so wouldn’t say anywhere is very central. Everything in walking distance though. Room was clean, bed was comfy, lots of comfy pillows. Shower is open plan, great, powerful shower, lovely tiles. Toilet is a separate room for privacy. Toiletries provided. Towels changed 2/3 days, one day room wasn’t cleaned but they were aware we had used from the mini bar that day so had been in. Quite a lot of noise heard from the streets but probably due to it being new year so we weren’t bothered. Nice hotel in all, used the bar it was nice and food seemed good our friends said it was as they tried it.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Good location! Close to station. Very small rooms, shower and wc. Nice decoration.Ok clean! Friendly and helpful staff. Slow and unstable WiFi .The breakfast was not something special. Great ginger tea though.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ioannis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

A good hotel and good bed. Nice shower.
The room have a small kitchen and you can have do some food if you like.
Close to the buss, underground and train to the Alexanderplatz.
So you easy can take the buss from the tegel airport and it's the last stoop on the buss.
Then you are at the Alexanderplatz.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elksab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. Took a cab from Berlin airport to hotel. Check in was quite ok, but we were the only ones though.
The room is rather spacious for two. There is a boiler, and fridge. No iron, there is a common ironing area at the basement. We requested for extra towels, we were asked to get the extras from the reception. Not an issue. As others have mentioned, the bathroom may be an issue to travellers who are not too close to each other. Not sure if all rooms have the same layout though. The room was a little too dim for our liking. Room service was good and prompt.
Convenient and walking distance to the train station, many eateries nearby. The cafe was also nice. We kept wanting to try but did not have the chance to. It’s closed on Sundays, may wish to take note.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank foryouforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Weinmeister
The Weinmeister
#231 of 635 in Berlin
517 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel AMANO
Hotel AMANO
#121 of 635 in Berlin
1,734 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux 11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux 11

Address: Rosa-Luxemburg-Str. 9-13 | 10178 Berlin, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $140 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lux 11 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Berlin's pulsating and hip central district of Mitte, amidst creative and chic fashion shops, galleries, trendy media agencies and a myriad of culinary locations, the 72-apartment Lux 11 opened on July 1st 2005. The renowned London-based architect team, Silvestrin/Salmaso, has elegantly fused this stylishly modern structure with its historic setting. With interiors oriented towards hospitality, spaciousness and comfort, the Lux 11's open-plan guest rooms and public spaces provide natural scenery in tones of Chinese green for the gleaming bleached wood furniture and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lux 11 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux 11 Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing